Notices

Icom ICM 100

Old 02-01-2003, 06:19 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Diego, CA. USA
Posts: 118
Default Icom ICM 100

I have a ICOM ICM-100 VHF radio and the lithium back up battery ( memory ) has went south has anyone ever had to change one out?
I have the opperating manual but it does not have a schematic. Any help would be appreciated.

John.M.

[This message was edited by johnm on 02-01-03 at 09:47 AM.]

[This message was edited by johnm on 02-01-03 at 07:53 PM.]
johnm is offline  
Old 02-01-2003, 07:31 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Southern California,USA
Posts: 420
Default Icom ICM 100

Id open it up and look around in there,might have to solder, but you might not have to ,either way it cant be to hard to do.JMO
reel hungry is offline  
Old 02-01-2003, 08:35 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Diego, CA. USA
Posts: 118
Default Icom ICM 100

ReelHungry,
That was my next step, just wanted to get some feedback before cracking the egg.

John.M.
johnm is offline  
Old 02-02-2003, 06:16 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Icom ICM 100

I don't know where inside the case it will be but let me caution you this. Be very fast and use as little heat as possible (meaning get the iron real hot) when you solder in the new battery. Also, if you can see the vent make sure you don't solder it shut.

Thom

"For every complex question, there's a simple answer. And it's wrong."
(--H. L. Mencken)
Thom is offline  
Old 02-02-2003, 07:16 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Diego, CA. USA
Posts: 118
Default Icom ICM 100

Good advice Thom, never new there was a vent.
Thanks.

John.M.
johnm is offline  
Old 02-02-2003, 08:23 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,026
Default Icom ICM 100

You'll see the battery in the upper left hand corner of the main unit board when you slide the cover off. It appears from the photo in the service manual that you will be able to replace it without further unit dissassembly. Icom # is BR2032-1T2 which also happens to be the Panasonic #. The manual otherwise does not mention any replacement procedure but it looks like the battery sits on two solder pins that can be accessed from the top.

28' Maxcat w/twin Honda 225's

[This message was edited by Chaps on 02-02-03 at 11:31 AM.]
Chaps is offline  
Old 02-02-2003, 08:50 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Diego, CA. USA
Posts: 118
Default Icom ICM 100

Chaps,
Do I have to remove the knobs to slide the chassie out?

John.M.
johnm is offline  
Old 02-02-2003, 09:14 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Icom ICM 100

John,

No, the case slides off the back leaving the faceplate intact. There should be about a half a dozen screws comming in from the back of the case holding it in place. They are all you have to removed to get it off. Look out for the large rubber sealing ring, like a large O-Ring but of small diameter. Be careful to get it in its groove when you button it back up.

Thom

"For every complex question, there's a simple answer. And it's wrong."
(--H. L. Mencken)
Thom is offline  
Old 02-02-2003, 10:35 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Southern California,USA
Posts: 420
Default Icom ICM 100

That model radio is kind of unique,theres a small switch on the underside,if you flip this switch it will give you the expansion channels.You will find them in scan mode I believe or tag mode ,its been along time since Ive seen this radio so my memory is fadeing.That radio must be 15 years old by now.The icom M80 you could only program 10 expansion channels,but with yours I believe you get most.JMO


Tim,25'Skipjack FB Diesel
Reel Hungry
reel hungry is offline  
Old 02-02-2003, 11:26 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,026
Default Icom ICM 100

On the IC-M100 the method to program exp channels is covered in the service manual. If anybody needs I'll retype & post.

28' Maxcat w/twin Honda 225's
Chaps is offline  
Old 02-02-2003, 12:01 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Icom ICM 100

Chaps,

I'd be real interested in seeing that, in the high hopes that it would carry over into the M-127

Thom

"For every complex question, there's a simple answer. And it's wrong."
(--H. L. Mencken)
Thom is offline  
Old 02-02-2003, 12:02 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: West Boylston,Ma.,USA.
Posts: 614
Default Icom ICM 100

Have M-100 i would like to play around with.Please post method,Chap's.Thanks
tuna1 is offline  
Old 02-02-2003, 02:15 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Diego, CA. USA
Posts: 118
Default Icom ICM 100

Thanks guys for the info.
Changed the batt. today and all is back to normal
Chaps I did see that dip switch in there and really would be interested in getting that info on programing those expansion channels, my operators manual does not cover that section.

Thanks again
John

John.M.
johnm is offline  
Old 02-02-2003, 02:20 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,026
Default Icom ICM 100

On the M100 there is a small slider switch on the top of the main pc board. The letters "PRV" are printed next to this switch. When this switch is slid to the left hand position you are in Normal mode, if slid to the right you are in PRV (private) mode. With the housing off and the radio powered up:

1. Place the PRV switch in the PRV mode
2. Push and release the FUNCTION button on the front panel
3. Immediately push and hold the MR button on the front panel for more than 2 seconds. "MEMO" and memory channel appear on the display and "MEMO" blinks
4. Select the desired memory channel you wish to program using the rotary channel selector
5. Push the FUNCTION button. The channel number blinks
6. Select the desired private channel number using the rotary channel selector
7. Push the FUNCTION button. Blinking of the channel number stops
8. Return the PRV switch to the Normal position. The programmed private channel can now be used when the memory mode is selected.

Thats it. I haven't tried it yet on my own radio but I will in the near future. Would be interested in hearing results from all who implement it. The radio also has the following capabilities:
* program low power output on a channel
* inhibit operation on a channel
* change a duplex channel to simplex and program channel to memory
* reverse the frequencies between transmit & receive on a duplex channel and program to memory

Not sure what you would do with those mods but they are there for the radioheads - Bob

28' Maxcat w/twin Honda 225's
Chaps is offline  
Old 02-02-2003, 05:07 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: West Boylston,Ma.,USA.
Posts: 614
Default Icom ICM 100

Will take a try at it.Thanks Again
tuna1 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread