Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Ever get no satellites on your bar graph? A GPS question?

Notices

Ever get no satellites on your bar graph? A GPS question?

Closed Thread

Old 03-12-2004, 08:18 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CLEVELAND, OHIO, USA
Posts: 973
Default Ever get no satellites on your bar graph? A GPS question?

I can recall a few times that on the satellite bar graph page of my Magellan 315 gps that never locked on to any satellites? It would look like the signals would rise about half way or less on mult satellites but never get a strong enough signal to lock on. This is a rare occurance but it does happen. It also has happened on the garmin plotter I have. Anyone ever have similar experiences? Paul
SEASWIRL PAUL is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 08:22 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pompano Beach, FL, USA
Posts: 4,767
Default RE: Ever get no satellites on your bar graph? A GPS question?

my garmin used to do this when it had to relocate. ie. If I moved more than 150miles since last turning it on. Eventually it would aquire all the satelites, but it seemed like forever. Really it takes only about 15 mins.

ndb8fxe is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 10:07 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default RE: Ever get no satellites on your bar graph? A GPS question?

Once to my garmin 12 something. but I suspect the preamp fizzed out cause it's been dead in the desk for years.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 05:45 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tampa FL US
Posts: 582
Default RE: Ever get no satellites on your bar graph? A GPS question?

I only got 8 the other day. It was wierd I had 8 at near full bars but no more.
Dave M is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 05:19 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,356
Default RE: Ever get no satellites on your bar graph? A GPS question?

Dave M - 2004-03-13 5:45 AM

I only got 8 the other day. It was wierd I had 8 at near full bars but no more.
Possibilities, Only 8 satellites in view or maybe only an 8 channel receiver.

But then just because it might be a 12 channel receiver that doesn't mean there will always be anywhere near 12 satellites all the time. The average number of satellites in view is between about 6 & 9 but also expect as low as 5 (even 4 at times).

No satellites indicated either indicates bad interference, bad obstructions or a GPS receiver with problems.

Cheers, Kerry.
Kerry is offline  
Old 03-14-2004, 09:51 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 408
Default RE: Ever get no satellites on your bar graph? A GPS question?

every time I go under a bridge
ave8er is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 08:09 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: 22 Riddick Bay
Posts: 1,934
Default RE: Ever get no satellites on your bar graph? A GPS question?

I have had that happen a few times when I am in the Camp Lejune (sp) Marine base. The ICW cuts through there and I wonder if they sometimes are jamming the GPS signal. It has only happened two or three times.

Kirk
Tsunami is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: