Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Furuno 1622 Has anyone installed one lately? Did you put it one a raised mount?

Notices

Furuno 1622 Has anyone installed one lately? Did you put it one a raised mount?

Old 01-11-2003, 12:04 PM
  #1  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pt. Pleasant,NJ 2002 23
Posts: 85
Default Furuno 1622 Has anyone installed one lately? Did you put it one a raised mount?

Trying to decide if I should mount it on a raised mount or right to the hard top.
GOTOKEYS is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 01:15 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: 2004 32 Topaz
Posts: 360
Default Furuno 1622 Has anyone installed one lately? Did you put it one a raised mount?

What type of boat is it ?
flounder1979 is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 02:00 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member PLEDGER
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CAPE COD MA.
Posts: 529
Default Furuno 1622 Has anyone installed one lately? Did you put it one a raised mount?

I mounted mine on a couple of strips of mahogony right to the roof of the pilothouse. Be sure to mount it so the rubber drain can function.
Tom
2ndCurse is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 06:25 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Bruno, CA , USA
Posts: 167
Default Furuno 1622 Has anyone installed one lately? Did you put it one a raised mount?

I ran through the same thing early last year on my hardtop and decided to use a piece of starboard instead of mounting it directly to the hardtop.

For my mounting location the forward two bolts on the Furuno 1622 would be too far in front beyond my electronics box. So the only option was to mount it on something and then screw that board on to the hard top.

If you decide to mount it on a board, you can buy nylon standoff spacers at your local OSH store. Also don't forget to add rubber washers on the standoffs to act as a gasket to prevent rain or spray from seeping in. Here a picture of the starboard and the final outcome.


ivansfo is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 07:52 PM
  #5  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pt. Pleasant,NJ 2002 23
Posts: 85
Default Furuno 1622 Has anyone installed one lately? Did you put it one a raised mount?

I have a 23WA Hydra-Sports. Thanks for the pictures. I might go that way. I'm also loooking into a 5" raised mount. I like your idea Ivansfo. Does it interfear with your gps? They look like there at the same level. What kink of boat do you have?

Thanks

gotokeys
GOTOKEYS is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 08:02 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,033
Default Furuno 1622 Has anyone installed one lately? Did you put it one a raised mount?

Ivansfo- I hope that you through bolted that starboard, I had a guy docked next to me once that mounted his radar using 2, 1/4" 20 bolts...he went out one afternoon hit a couple of wakes and came back with the dome hanging by the cable from his arch. The funniest part of it was that he used locktite on the bolts that went up into the radome and the nut-certs inside of the radome began to strip when he went to dis-assemble it. There is a lot of stress on the mount when you riding around in rough conditions.

Joe
[img]http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0UwDqBEgb0a0aOnQNNMwsj1ekHClIQXvw1!FFpWaQ57mCur09U dOC*uRpDsQDPU3DPrKnFvmjOAL*!RlIQh5NnRpJ00RLBbstVoM *Vu6jCM9HOZvtcN4QAKVhZdNBKuPj/henriques_thmb.jpg?dc=4675359742587480607[/img]
joe2nyc is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 11:49 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Furuno 1622 Has anyone installed one lately? Did you put it one a raised mount?

Ivansfo,
The radom install looks great, nice job. But (you knew that was coming ), you aught to raise that GPS. They sell a stainless 12" extension at marine stores, that would raise the GPS above the radar beam.

Birdman, Capt of
Birdman is offline  
Old 01-12-2003, 12:36 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Bruno, CA , USA
Posts: 167
Default Furuno 1622 Has anyone installed one lately? Did you put it one a raised mount?

Funny all you mentioned that it could interfere with the GPS. I never found out if it would interfere or not because every one on this board said it would and so did Furuno tech support. This picture is about 10 months old and I did end up remounting the GPS antenna to an antenna ratchet style mount and added a 12" extension like you recommended. I think it's prettier on this lower profile mount but now I have peace of mind that the radar isn't killing the GPS antenna.

Joe, yes all the fastners are through bolted on the starboard and on to the hard top. I had no idea locktite was that strong!!

Gotokeys, this is a Whaler Conquest. I thought about using those nice raised mounts too but decided not to because I put a tarp over the boat when it's not in use. The raised mounts would make it hard for me to put the tarp on and probably lots of stress on it too.

Good luck.

Ivan
ivansfo is offline  
Old 01-12-2003, 06:39 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,033
Default Furuno 1622 Has anyone installed one lately? Did you put it one a raised mount?

The threaded inserts on the inside of the radome that fell down were only molded into the plastic, it was a Ratheyon R-20, I think. When the whole thing fell down and they went to disassemble it the threaded inserts just broke free from the plastic and spun inside the dome. I think he ended up grinding off the heads of the bolts to get them out, a real pain.
On your installation, from the photo you posted, it looks as though you have the dome mounted on the horiziontal, did you tilt it forward as the installation instruction recommends? This is not a great shot but shows what I mean.
[img]http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0SgDiAnIX*4ETf1jsa1a3ZForLbFYbDwIdMrMnG!nqV*b6qkNF IANjUKRqSEHkQYYl2Hl5OsZ6pYSzFTeOa08S0tCNW!rXiwOsHS HPvlfdbeYAiUCewDi4A/radar.bmp?dc=4675405091556027988[/img]
When you tilt the dome forward a little it makes up for the angle that your boat runs at when up on plane, makes it easier for the unit to see those little plastic buoys and other thing at close range.

Joe
[img]http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0UwDqBEgb0a0aOnQNNMwsj1ekHClIQXvw1!FFpWaQ57mCur09U dOC*uRpDsQDPU3DPrKnFvmjOAL*!RlIQh5NnRpJ00RLBbstVoM *Vu6jCM9HOZvtcN4QAKVhZdNBKuPj/henriques_thmb.jpg?dc=4675359742587480607[/img]
joe2nyc is offline  
Old 01-12-2003, 04:39 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Bruno, CA , USA
Posts: 167
Default Furuno 1622 Has anyone installed one lately? Did you put it one a raised mount?

Joe,

Yes, the radome is slanted down about 5-10 degrees. The hardtop has a slant to it so it worked out okay. Probably not perfectly level but it's close.


Thanks,

Ivan
ivansfo is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread