Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Need help connecting Garmin 4212 to Icom IC-M502A VHF/

Notices

Need help connecting Garmin 4212 to Icom IC-M502A VHF/

Old 06-27-2008, 06:05 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Posts: 96
Default Need help connecting Garmin 4212 to Icom IC-M502A VHF/

I'm installing a new Garmin 4212 bundle and GMR 18HD radar on my boat and need help connecting the VHF/DSC On my Icom M502A. The problem is the hook up for the DSC coming from the radio is two RCA jacks Red is NMEA in and the white is NMEA out. The hook up from the 4212 is a bunch of small wires. How do I connect the two together. I called Garmin and after waiting half an hour I talked to some yahoo who keep putting me on hold to go ask some tech. for the answers, Conclusion they didn't know how to do it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Larry
obow is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 06:48 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Newport, RI, USA
Posts: 350
Default Re: Need help connecting Garmin 4212 to Icom IC-M502A VHF/

Look on page 9. It shows the cable breakout.

http://www8.garmin.com/manuals/1675_...structions.pdf
JGKIII is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 06:59 PM
  #3  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Gloucester, VA
Posts: 38
Default RE: Need help connecting Garmin 4212 to Icom IC-M502A VHF/

Your installation instructions have the information for the transmit and receive wires for the NMEA 0183 cable, you connetc your two wires from the radio to the appropriate send or receive wire in the Garmin harness (the same bundle you use to connect the GPS antenna. The information should be on page 15 and 16 of the installation instructions, also found here:

http://www8.garmin.com/manuals/1675_...structions.pdf
coast2coast is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 07:52 PM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Posts: 96
Default Re: Need help connecting Garmin 4212 to Icom IC-M502A VHF/

Thanks, I understand the wiring, but would you cut the RCA jacks off and connect the wires or connect the garmin wires to an RCA jack ?
obow is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 08:22 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Newport, RI, USA
Posts: 350
Default Re: Need help connecting Garmin 4212 to Icom IC-M502A VHF/

I would typically cut the RCA connectors off and splice them together with crimp/heat shrink connectors.
JGKIII is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 12:46 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,902
Default Re: Need help connecting Garmin 4212 to Icom IC-M502A VHF/

Or you can do this way.The purplr/blue wire are from a Garmin 2210.

bluewaterpirate is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 06:42 AM
  #7  
bj
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: N. C.
Posts: 1,243
Default RE: Need help connecting Garmin 4212 to Icom IC-M502A VHF/

I will be trying to do the same from a M502 to a Garmin 498. My 502 seems to only have one female RCA plug. I called Garmin and the tech said to buy one male RCA to hook to the two garmin wires (forgot the color). He was very helpful and even looked up the 502 instructions online to tell me how. I hope to find out soon if it works.
bj is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 11:45 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 3,516
Default Re: Need help connecting Garmin 4212 to Icom IC-M502A VHF/

I was looking at this last night as I was trying to hook my Icom 504 to my Garmin 3206. My Icom 504 has 2 NMEA leads about 7" long with no plug, jack, or anything. Just has a black insulation with strands beneath which is around another insulated wire. Very stupid way of doing things. Couldn't they just put in a stand alone black wire to go to ground? Instead I have to find a way to get the outter strands stripped out and bundled so I can splice it to something long enough to get to the NMEA stuff from my Garmin.
RingLeader is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 12:26 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,902
Default Re: Need help connecting Garmin 4212 to Icom IC-M502A VHF/

Take a look at my picture above that's why it's easier to splice from the Garminsiderather thanthe ICOM side. Get a sharp set of wire cutters use the 22 awg fitting strip back about 3 inckes on the ICOM red/white shield wire. Once stripped solder the shield wires then you can connect them using a method of your choice.
bluewaterpirate is offline  
Old 02-05-2012, 12:44 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Groton CT
Posts: 268
Default

Tom,

Fisrt thanks for posting the picture above it does make more sense know. Are the outside sheathing of the white and red wires on the ICOM 504 grounds? Can they be bought to a common ground bus or do they have to go back to the grounds on the Garmin 4208?

I have my two radios over head and the GPS rae in the console, so I need to know how many wires do I need to run between the two locations?
Hemi78 is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 04:36 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by obow View Post
Thanks, I understand the wiring, but would you cut the RCA jacks off and connect the wires or connect the garmin wires to an RCA jack ?
Even though I am quite capable of soldering wires to RCA type jacks, I would either cut, strip, and crimp or use a terminal block as the posts below yours suggest. Those RCA plugs and jacks were never intended to be exposed to the weather.
rwidman is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 05:52 AM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Groton CT
Posts: 268
Default

Tom,

Can you please verify my connections, I am not sure what the two black wires are that are connected to the two sheild Icom NMEA Outer conductor leads?

Icom Red - Garmin Blue
Icom Shielded Red - Garmin Blue/White? (or Ground)

Icom White - Garmin Violet
Icom sheilded White - Garmin Violet/White? (or Ground)

Thanks for your help! Todd
Hemi78 is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 06:20 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,902
Default

Those black wires from the ICOM are connected to a common ground source.
bluewaterpirate is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 06:29 AM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Groton CT
Posts: 268
Default

Tom,

Thanks for the reply, since I am mounting this in my overhead electronic box I can bring these two ground cables from the ICOM to a ground bus above and I don't have to fish it down to the helm concole where the Garmin are? Correct?

Sorry for the dumb question but I just want to amke sure I am correct i what you are telling me?

Thanks again for the help!
Hemi78 is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 06:34 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,902
Default

You are correct use the one in the box.
bluewaterpirate is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 06:40 AM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Delaware
Posts: 279
Default

Originally Posted by bluewaterpirate View Post
Or you can do this way.The purplr/blue wire are from a Garmin 2210.

where did you find that connector. It makes a great looking installation.
gtcuppels is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 06:49 AM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,902
Default

Radio Shack .....

Here you go ... these are great you can add subtract or just move stuff around with ease.

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2103231
bluewaterpirate is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 06:54 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,902
Default

Radio Shack .......

European connectors .....

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2103231


I use them all the time. They work.



bluewaterpirate is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 06:13 AM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 556
Default



Another option that I use is to use Molex connectors. This is a 4-pin square connector that works perfectly for the Icom radio's and allows quick disconnect. These connectors can be purchased at a variety of Internet web sites like this one.

The shield of the NMEA input on the Icom's is NOT connected internally to ground however it is ok to connect it to the garmin ground as garmin does not use balanced NMEA output as it should. Manufacturers simply do not comply with NMEA electrical protocol recommendations.

Eric
fairbank56 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread