Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Furuno 600l question??

Old 02-22-2004, 02:09 PM
  #1  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: anderson, sc
Posts: 18,996
Received 1,329 Likes on 767 Posts
Default Furuno 600l question??

I have a Furuno 600l and it works great, however I hear a lot of folks talking about reading while at cruise speed.
Have i done something wrong. I can read mine great while slow trolling, idling, etc but when I am at faster speed I get a lot of clutter on the screen. I can still read depth and and bottom contour pretty well but i do get a lot of vertical lines. Could this have something to do with the way my transducer is mounted(transom mount). In other words could it be too low or too high???

When you talk about reading at speed how clear is your screen???
tprice is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 02:03 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Broadway/Snead's Ferry,NC
Posts: 4,431
Received 68 Likes on 40 Posts
Default Furuno 600l question??

I have a through hull and above a certain speed..say 20mph...I have a lot of screen clutter...still reads bottom fine just not fish
Greg Manning is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 08:07 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 137
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Furuno 600l question??

The 600L has the capability to display a clear detailed view at almost any speed.

If you are not happy with what you are getting on the display your problem is most likey with your transducer mounting.
Done_Deal is offline  
Old 02-24-2004, 06:36 PM
  #4  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: anderson, sc
Posts: 18,996
Received 1,329 Likes on 767 Posts
Default Furuno 600l question??

That was kind of what I was thinking.
Would it be to low or to high on the transom???
tprice is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 04:36 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Furuno 600l question??

How far down does it sit below the hull surface?
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 06:17 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: West Palm Beach,FL,USA
Posts: 1,299
Received 35 Likes on 21 Posts
Default Furuno 600l question??

Another thing you could check is electrical interferance at higher RPM's. In neutral bring your engines up to a higher RPM. If you get that clutter then try adjusting the noise limiter.
cravenMH is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 11:46 PM
  #7  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 600l question??

What kind of transducer do you have? I'm curious because I'm looking at buying the same model sounder but I would like to get a top of the line ducer. I would imagine the type or quality of the transducer could affect this as well.
buxtales is offline  
Old 03-03-2004, 05:10 PM
  #8  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: anderson, sc
Posts: 18,996
Received 1,329 Likes on 767 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 600l question??

I think it is the Airmark transom mount transducer, I bought from Three Rivers Marine when I
ordered the unit. Seems like it was around $80.oo

I do not think it is the transducer and I have mounted many of them before so I think the location
is ok but I may try and raise/lower and see what happens

I do not think anyother electronics interfere with it. I works great except when I am running
down the lake and even then it reads bottom depth and all just a lot of other clutter on
the screen, I take that this is turbulance from the boat.
tprice is offline  
Old 03-03-2004, 05:11 PM
  #9  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: anderson, sc
Posts: 18,996
Received 1,329 Likes on 767 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 600l question??

I think it is the Airmark transom mount transducer, I bought from Three Rivers Marine when I
ordered the unit. Seems like it was around $80.oo

I do not think it is the transducer and I have mounted many of them before so I think the location
is ok but I may try and raise/lower and see what happens

I do not think anyother electronics interfere with it. I works great except when I am running
down the lake and even then it reads bottom depth and all just a lot of other clutter on
the screen, I take that this is turbulance from the boat.
tprice is offline  
Old 03-03-2004, 06:29 PM
  #10  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Spring Hill, Fl. USA
Posts: 84
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 600l question??

Try wiring the unit directly to the battery.
Flhooker is offline  
Old 03-03-2004, 08:01 PM
  #11  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: anderson, sc
Posts: 18,996
Received 1,329 Likes on 767 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 600l question??

It is wired directly to the battery.
tprice is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 02:20 AM
  #12  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: HI
Posts: 50
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 600l question??

try setting it a little lower.
addecus is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 10:24 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Newburyport MA
Posts: 3,118
Received 35 Likes on 25 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 600l question??

If you want a good performance underway, you may have to go to a thru hull or shoot through the hull ducer. I've never had great luck with a transom mount.
Harpoon is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 11:36 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location:
Posts: 453
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Furuno 600l question??

I had a 600L and it hardly ever read right on the auto mode. If you haven't already, try using hte manual mode, with range adjusted and gain adjusted. I rememer having to adjust gain way down to read well in real shallow water (under 4'--you could get it to read down to about 2 1/2'), and put the gain up to 4 or 6 for it to read at a fast cruise. I had a thru-hull. I have a GP 1850 DF now, and have to do the same thing.
John F. is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.