Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

C120 questions

Old 05-27-2008, 07:46 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location:
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C120 questions

I currently display GPS provided SOG for speed info. How do I display the thru-hull transducer's speed wheel info? Also, I see one of the data screen options show a trip log for mileage but I can't seem to get it reset. Any ideas?
Thanks,
John
Old 05-28-2008, 04:52 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: C120 questions

There are a couple of ways and places you can display the paddle-wheel speed.

First off, that data element is called "speed" (how intuitive ). You can put that data up in the data bar at the top (or the side) of the screen.

You can also put it in one of the data boxes that you can configure for full-screen (a waste IMHO), 1/2 screen (another waste), or 1/4 screen (which is what I have on mine). Once you put up that screen, you can modify it to show the speed data just about anywhere in there.

If you have a Raymarine autopilot, you can show the speed data on the control head. I've had it display correctly with my ST6001 control head, as well as my SmartPilot remote, and my ST600 wired remote.

Hope this helps,

Joe
Old 05-28-2008, 05:52 AM
  #3  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
John_Madison CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Old Saybrook, CT
Posts: 14,483
Received 745 Likes on 404 Posts
Default Re: C120 questions

Just curious, but why would you want to show paddle-wheel speed when it's known to be very inaccurate?
Old 05-28-2008, 08:09 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: C120 questions

John, for me it's not THAT bad (you can calibrate it against your GPS SOG). I use it primarily for gauging my speed when trolling. Speed through the water vice speed over ground to me is more useful when slow trolling - especially for stripers.

Joe
Old 05-28-2008, 08:19 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location:
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: C120 questions

Thanks Joe, I'll give that a try this weekend and yes, I do have the ST6001 AP control head as well. It's good to know speed through the water / current speed. Doesn't matter to me if it's really that accurate as long as it's consistent. Just want to be able to re-create my speed through the water as current speed changes. Any ideas on the trip log.
John
Old 05-29-2008, 02:37 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: C120 questions

You reset the trip log in the menu page for the fishfinder as I recal.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.