Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Furuno 1623 Radar question

Old 05-25-2008, 04:11 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Under the Radar Tower
Posts: 273
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Furuno 1623 Radar question

Greetings. I have a 15 meter cable (49.2 feet) between the display and the array which is about 42 feet too long. currently I have the excess coiled up in the top of the t-top in an 18" coil. Will the coil have any effect on the unit ? Should I get the 10 meter cable and run it around the t-top instead of having it coiled ? Unit seems to be working ok but not 100% sure. Having an electronics background and being a Licensed Ham Radio operator I know that coiled wire can have an effect on tuning.

Could somebody please clarify this for me. Thanks in advance.
Old 05-25-2008, 04:21 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Darwin NT, Australia
Posts: 1,003
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Furuno 1623 Radar question

I had the same unit on my last boat. I had much more cable coiled than you do and never had a problem.

Old 05-25-2008, 04:51 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Under the Radar Tower
Posts: 273
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Furuno 1623 Radar question

FWIW, it turned out to be the 10M cable. I unraveled it and straightened it out then with wire ties I tied it around the perimeter of the t-top underneath and out of the way. Upon reconnection I immediately noticed a lot less noise on the radar screen. I guess its one of those things that seems to be ok but you really don't know if it's actually working 100% since there really isn't anything to check it against. Something was telling me to get rid of that coil and I'm glad I did.

Best regards.
Old 05-26-2008, 05:34 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Furuno 1623 Radar question

the coil shouldn't effect the radar. Although the cable can be shortened (you would have to talk with Furuno about their minimum length, probably 5 meters/16ft), you will then need to go into the 1623's advanced settings and reset the display timing and the course tune adjustment. If it already installed and working fine, leave well enough alone.
Old 05-26-2008, 07:29 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Avenue, MD
Posts: 551
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Furuno 1623 Radar question

I beleive 10 meters is the shortest Furuno cable you can buy, you are o-k. You wouldn't want to cut that cable, there is a small video coax in there..that would be a pita to put back together. If you stress the cable too much you could break that connection.
Old 05-30-2008, 07:04 PM
  #6  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location:
Posts: 45
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Furuno 1623 Radar question

I've got that same unit. I also have the excess cable coiled up in the e-box in the T-top. I haven't noticed any performance degradation at all. I actually picked up a small bird sitting on a floating stick about 500 yards in front of me.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.