Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

Old 05-24-2008, 10:20 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Big Pine Key
Posts: 506
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

I have 2 E120 displays, that both share the same problem :


For nighttime use, I don't switch to Palette NIGHT, but reduce the DAY back light to the lowest level. That's better readable for me. Perhaps the screen saverI use, makes it difficult to read the NIGHT screen properly.
Now the annoyance starts:
Every 1 to 2 minutes at least, the display goes black for 1/2 second and lights up immediately to full brightness for about 2 seconds and then dims down to the pre adjusted low back light. This sequence (black-bright-to normal) kills your night vision. The only thing I can do, is close the eyes for about 3 seconds when I realize the "going black". But as this is a very short time, you permanently have to be alert not to miss the black sequence. Otherwise you get blinded by the full bright screen.
I don't know whether the "flashing" screen occurs at redraw. But I would like to get rid of this flaw.
Any ideas ?

Ialso have the impression, that if switched to NIGHT, the screen is totally intolerant to viewing angles.
BTW, I don't wear polarized glasses at night.
Old 05-25-2008, 07:32 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,611
Likes: 0
Received 203 Likes on 136 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

I don't use the night mode either as I find the dimmest setting on day mode to be better. My unit does what you describe when the battery is low or I have too many things on - stereo, sounder, e120, radar, etc. I can fix it by putting my battery switch to "both".
Old 05-25-2008, 08:36 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Big Pine Key
Posts: 506
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

yachtjim - 5/25/2008 10:32 AM I don't use the night mode either as I find the dimmest setting on day mode to be better. My unit does what you describe when the battery is low or I have too many things on - stereo, sounder, e120, radar, etc. I can fix it by putting my battery switch to "both".
Hmm, you might be right.

But at night I run the radar on the 2nd E120 display and the 1KW sounder was on. I had the battery switch on both and the batteries seem to be o.k.( they are almost 3 years old, but were cared of very well). I was traveling at 1500 RPM , so the charging voltage of the F150s should help too.

My power wires to the E120 units are 2 ft of 10 gauge , that should be good enough.

I will test next time without the sounder and switch off one screen. We will see.

Did you already address this issue to Ray marine ? What AGM batteries have the highest voltage under some load (not for cranking motor)? I suppose, there are some differences noticeable from brand to brand.
Old 05-25-2008, 03:20 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,454
Likes: 0
Received 1,130 Likes on 920 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

I assume you have connected the two E120 displays to a breaker panel since you only have 2' of additional wire. If my assumption is correct, you may have a problem with voltage drop in the wires from the battery to the breaker panel.

What's the wire gauge and length for this run?

What else are powered from the same breaker panel?

Old 05-26-2008, 08:55 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 761
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default Re: Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

I don't believe it's a power problem. I had a similar problem with a set of E-120s on a prior boat and bringing the dimmer setting up on level higher seemed to fix teh problem. I remember a thread on this from maybe a year or two back as others had the same problem too. If I can find it, I'll post the link here.

Update: this I not the thread I was thinking of, but it's on-topic:
http://www.thehulltruth.com/forums/t...earch#M2020136
Old 05-26-2008, 11:37 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cape May NJ - Palm Beach Gardens FL
Posts: 249
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

I also have two E120’s and have the same problem. Both E120’s were purchased new in March and both are now running 4.29 software. Friday was my first night run and the problem occurred almost as soon as I turned down the brightness.

It is not immediately obvious to me that this is a low voltage issue since the problem does not occur on full brightness. I run my electronics off two group 31 house batteries wired in parallel and charged off an F350 while underway. I also have a short run of 10ga wire to the breaker box with the E120 connections.

I was using one of the 120’s to display video from a FLIR camera and wanted to dim the screen to help protect my night vision. I ended up changing the FLIR output to night/red and adjusting the E120 brightness to the highest setting.

The other E120 was displaying chart and radar data and could not be dimmed without the problem occurring.

I plan to spend this week testing voltage levels etc.
Old 05-26-2008, 01:35 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 4,511
Received 626 Likes on 329 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

I have 2 E-80s that do the exact same thing...................Everything works perfect, 4kw open array, dsm, autopilot, the works.......then I dim down the displays when we leave at 4 in the morning and the displays go black fore a split second every once in a while.... Turn the brightness up and they never skip a beat......tried the latest software....same sh*t...........They are now on their third season and did it from day one.......................Everything else has been flawless.........I have learned to just deal with it..............
Old 05-26-2008, 07:16 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,069
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

My single E120 does it when the display is dimmed also.

Obviously a common issue.

Raymarine, are you listening??
Old 05-27-2008, 01:50 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 400
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Re: Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

Two E80's here and they also do it. I think it is a problem in the dimmer control. At least that is the only time I have a problem.

TT
Old 05-27-2008, 02:55 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 4,511
Received 626 Likes on 329 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

How could all of us have the same problem and God only knows how many others have it yet Raymarine tech support knows nothing??????????????? I mean it is not that big of a problem but a flaw none the less????????????
Old 05-27-2008, 04:06 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 900
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

Has anyone addressed Raymarine on the issue? or seen a response on their website? Just curious


I have 2 E80's and have not realized this, but I do not run at night that much at all. I will scrutinize over the weekend.

Nick
Old 05-27-2008, 04:47 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 400
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Re: Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

I sent a link to this thread to tech support. I will let you know if I get a response.
Old 05-27-2008, 06:49 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Big Pine Key
Posts: 506
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

offshorebri - 5/27/2008 5:55 PM How could all of us have the same problem and God only knows how many others have it yet Raymarine tech support knows nothing??????????????? I mean it is not that big of a problem but a flaw none the less????????????
Ahead of posting this issue here on THT, I contacted Raymarine Tech Service on 05.24.by email. I had no response until now, but it's only 1 working day since. So perhaps I get the explanation or better a solution within the next days. I wanted to hear from other Raymarine E-Series users, whether I am the only one with the flaw --- obviously not.
Old 05-28-2008, 02:09 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 400
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Re: Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

They responded to me saying to check all connections, and to ensure proper DC Voltage. If the DC Voltage is proper, then remove the units and send in for repair.

TT
Old 05-28-2008, 06:14 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 4,511
Received 626 Likes on 329 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

Tower Todd - 5/28/2008 2:09 PM

They responded to me saying to check all connections, and to ensure proper DC Voltage. If the DC Voltage is proper, then remove the units and send in for repair.

TT
That is the same BS answer they gave me......................I told them it was hapening to both of my units and several other people I spoke to......My voltage is fine. They told me to send them in.......I HAVE NOT........I just deal with it...........
Old 05-29-2008, 08:04 PM
  #16  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location:
Posts: 24
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

We have the same problem. 2 e-120'. Sent one of the units back for repair. Got it back and there is no change. Still the same problem. WTF
Hope someone can figure this out. We do alot of night running
Old 05-30-2008, 05:08 AM
  #17  
JR1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location:
Posts: 66
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

I had a similar issue on a pair of E120's that I istalled on my 32 century WA in early 2007. I found it to be a low voltage issue. ran thick wires from the batteries to the units. never blinked again. I also have an onboard charger which is always connected even when on the trailer at home. They seem to be power hungry.
Old 05-30-2008, 08:39 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Big Pine Key
Posts: 506
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

Tower Todd - 5/28/2008 5:09 PM They responded to me saying to check all connections, and to ensure proper DC Voltage. If the DC Voltage is proper, then remove the units and send in for repair. TT
How did you manage Raymarine to respond? Or did you call them(phone) ? My emails, that I've sent through the Ray system remained unanswered.

Perhaps they read THT, andI get punished for writing about an issue in a public forum.

If indeed it is a voltage problem, it would be nice, if Raymarine would state a Voltage #that ensures the proper function of the E-series units.

Obviously an update of the software never solves the voltage problem . This supposed voltage sensitiveness is a real PITA.
Old 06-11-2008, 09:12 PM
  #19  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location:
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

Same problem here on twin E120's (also having the DSM300 locking up problem from another thread). I had the voltage checked and am running three house and three engine batts that are always kept on a charger. Guy next to me at my marina is also having the blackout problem at night when dimmed.
Old 06-12-2008, 05:50 AM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Smyrna Beach
Posts: 8,735
Received 364 Likes on 247 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E-Seies experts wanted

If you have a generator you can install an inverter to power the 2 - E120's. Basically I have 120v coming into the inverter and 12v going out to the E120 units. Power never fluctuates so don't have this problem. Still doesn't fix the problem operating E120's off of batteries.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.