Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

TR-1 Autopilot changes to fix problems

Old 05-20-2008, 04:21 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 172
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default TR-1 Autopilot changes to fix problems

I discovered another error in the installation of the TR-1 Gladiator Autopilot today that probably kept the unit from performing properly. Here are the following errors that the installer made:

1. A Tee connection was installed between the helm and the Shadow Drive.
The manual specifically indicates that NO Tee connections should be installed between the Shadow Drive and the helm.

2. The Shadow Drive was installed below the Autopilot pump
The manual specifically indicates that the Shadow Drive be mounted above the Autopilot pump but beneath the helm.

3. The Shadow Drive was installed 4 inches away from the Autopilot pump. The manual specifically indicates that the Shadow Drive be installed at lease 12 inches away from speakers or the Autopilot pump in order to avoid magnetic interference.

4. The installer did not have enough oil in the system and some of the hose connections were loose.



We finally got the autopilot to perform like it should but the system was still dropping out. The system would start to go to a waypoint but the GPS track light would blink and I would get an error beep. That is when I discovered that the autopilot Shadow Drive was supposed to be mounted at least 12 inches away from the Autopilot pump. The magnetic interference from the pump probably made the unit think that I was taking over the helm. We will mount the Shadow Drive away from the Autopilot pump in the morning to see if it performs the way that it should.

The Garmin support service was absolutely right. They suggested that there must be problems with the hardware installation and/or there was air in the hydraulic line. They were correct with both suggestions. Thanks Garmin!

Old 05-20-2008, 05:51 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,412
Likes: 0
Received 35 Likes on 29 Posts
Default Re: TR-1 Autopilot changes to fix problems

now go use it and tell us how you like it....you'll be amazed...

try this - it's my favorite move - say you're facing north drifting and want to go south...

1. set the WP behind you 10 miles or so and hit goto

2. throw the throttles in FWD and go straight to cruise...

watch the AP sense the rpms and execute a perfect safe nice wide 180 and come back on pefect track to the waypoint....no matter what the sea state....

it's nice programming to watch work.....
Old 05-20-2008, 06:20 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 172
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: TR-1 Autopilot changes to fix problems

Thanks Glen.

I have heard that you can hold the boat in a location, (i.e. over a reef, at an oil rig) by putting the autopilot in reverse and track to a waypoint set close to the place that you want your boat to hold.

How does it react once you reach the waypoint?
Old 05-20-2008, 07:29 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,412
Likes: 0
Received 35 Likes on 29 Posts
Default Re: TR-1 Autopilot changes to fix problems

STxFisherman - 5/20/2008 9:20 PM

Thanks Glen.

I have heard that you can hold the boat in a location, (i.e. over a reef, at an oil rig) by putting the autopilot in reverse and track to a waypoint set close to the place that you want your boat to hold.

How does it react once you reach the waypoint?
it will start to circle the waypoint if it is the last waypoint, if part of a route it will start the next leg...
Old 05-20-2008, 08:18 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SE FL
Posts: 811
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: TR-1 Autopilot changes to fix problems

STxFisherman - 5/20/2008 9:20 PM Thanks Glen. I have heard that you can hold the boat in a location, (i.e. over a reef, at an oil rig) by putting the autopilot in reverse and track to a waypoint set close to the place that you want your boat to hold. How does it react once you reach the waypoint?
For the "virtual anchor" your best choice is to put your stern directly into the driving force whether that be wind or current or a combination. Once that is done put the TR-1 in auto (heading hold without a waypoint) and adjust the throttle(s) so that you stay in one spot. Depending on how much wind/current you have this may be both engines in gear and above idle to as slow as one engine at idle.

Anything slower than that like bumping the engine in and out of gear and you may have issues. The AP will try to move the boat without any propulsion to actually do the moving so you'd be better off just slow drifting over the spot.

You can also do it with the bow into the force, which is what I have to do since I don't have a center console. It would be a PITA for me in reverse since my lines would end up under your bow...

Not sure if that makes sense but good luck. Had mine for about 2 years and won't own another boat without one.
Old 05-21-2008, 11:38 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 172
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: TR-1 Autopilot changes to fix problems

SUCCESS !!!

We repositioned the Shadow Drive and re-plumbed the autopilot and it is working like a charm. Can't wait to get her out there to try the various functions of the TR-1.
The unit does make a little noise when turning a sharp turn....so I put it on standby whenever I need to make a turn. Other than the little noise that the unit made when turning I was VERY pleased with the performance. Very cool!!
Old 05-21-2008, 12:44 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Topsail Beach, NC
Posts: 183
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Re: TR-1 Autopilot changes to fix problems

What type of boat do you have STx?
Old 05-21-2008, 01:30 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SE FL
Posts: 811
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: TR-1 Autopilot changes to fix problems

STxFisherman - 5/21/2008 2:38 PM The unit does make a little noise when turning a sharp turn....so I put it on standby whenever I need to make a turn.
The noise is made when you manually turn the wheel or when the AP turns the wheel? If it's when you manually turn the wheel then adjustCode #368 down to about 8 and see if that helps. If it's when the AP turns then where and how do you have the pump and Shadow Drive units mounted?
Old 05-21-2008, 02:59 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 172
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: TR-1 Autopilot changes to fix problems

I have a Cape Horn 31

If I remember correctly, I had set a waypoint behind me and the motors turned all the way to the left to make the turn and the noise started. The mechanic told me that the pump will make noise because of the strain on such hard turns. The pump is mounted on the inside wall of the console and I suppose that the thin fiberglass there amplifies the vibrating noise. The Shadow drive is mounted away on a wall a little higher than the pump. I need to change out the shadow drive hose because it is just too long.
Old 05-21-2008, 03:02 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,412
Likes: 0
Received 35 Likes on 29 Posts
Default Re: TR-1 Autopilot changes to fix problems

STxFisherman - 5/21/2008 5:59 PM

I have a Cape Horn 31

The mechanic told me that the pump will make noise because of the strain on such hard turns.
not true when calibrated correctly - stay with Jim Z or "hot to trot" on this....
Old 05-21-2008, 10:06 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SE FL
Posts: 811
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: TR-1 Autopilot changes to fix problems

Sounds like a mounting issue which is easily resolved. There are ways to isolate the vibration such as additional rubber mounts and you may want to move it to a more solid area that's not directly behind the console. Maybe the floor right below where it's at now? Who knows, just suggestions and you may need to get creative but it is something that can be fixed.

I bolted my pump to small sections of a rubber floor mat and then bolted the mat to starboard stand-offs which were bolted to the deck. That way it's kind of floating on the rubber which isolates the vibration. I can hear the pump at idle but it's far from annoying.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.