Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 2010c / Icom M-402S Interface

Old 05-20-2008, 02:25 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 4,437
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Garmin 2010c / Icom M-402S Interface

Is it possible to interface the Icom radio with the Garmin 2010c to get GPS coordinates for transmitting a distress call? Thanks in advance for any replies.
Old 05-21-2008, 05:56 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,494
Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 2010c / Icom M-402S Interface

Yes, you can. The 2010 has the NMEA output you will need. In looking at the Icom 402S manual, I would get an RCA plug and solder it on at the radio end and just plug it in.
Old 05-24-2008, 02:01 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 4,437
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 2010c / Icom M-402S Interface

I got it done. Just in case someone was wondering the blue and brown wires need to be connected. The RCA cable I used had one red wire and one bare wire in it when stripped. Red on Icom went to blue on Garmin, bare wire went to brown.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.