Notices

Garmin Memory Chip Size

Old 01-11-2003, 04:19 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Raleigh & Wrightsville,NC
Posts: 727
Default Garmin Memory Chip Size

Just about ready to pull the trigger on a new 182 or 2006 chartplotter. Will get the Mapsource or other CD based software for charting. My question is - what size chip (how many MB) should I get? I see many of the handhelds with 1 or 2 MB, so is that adequate? I want to get enough the first time around.
FishinWuf is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 05:36 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Garmin Memory Chip Size

When you buy the map chip for either of those machines you're going to be looking for one of the preprogrammed chips for the areas in which you fish. So the size of the chip is of little importance to you, only the area of coverage.

You have to understand that Garmin does their mapping two different ways. With one way you buy a CD and then proceed to load data off of it either directly into the memory of the GPS or in some models onto a blank data chip which will later be used in the machine. The other way is that they sell the chips with the mapping already on them. The 2006 and the 182 fall into this later catagory. So, what you care about is the area of coverage of the chip you buy, its size is unimportant. I will warn you of this though, its not at all a bad idea to give Garmin a call once you have decided on a chip and give them the model number so they can tell you the bounds (Lat and Lon) of its area of coverage. The map at their site which gives this information can be a bit hard to make a good call from, particularly if you usually operate near the limits of coverage.



Thom

"For every complex question, there's a simple answer. And it's wrong."
(--H. L. Mencken)
Thom is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 05:44 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,414
Default Garmin Memory Chip Size

Thom...I think there's some confusion on your part. All of the bluechart capable garmin units can be used with either the preprogrammed chips or the CD created ones. With the recent rebate, it was a wash as to whether you bought the preprogrammed chip or the CD with USB writer and 16mb chip. I am told that the 16MB chip will hold any of the unlocked areas.

The main difference between preprogrammed and CD chips is that the preprogrammed are "unlocked"...that is, they will run on any bluechart compatible GPS. The CD created one's are specific to a single GPS. However, the CD gives you the capability to plan routes or set waypoints on your Computer and then download them to the GPS.
Think Tweiss is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 05:59 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Garmin Memory Chip Size

Well, you're right of course. I tend to not give much thought to the preplanning thing, but I have both systems here (the CD and the preprogrammed chip) so that's probably why I don't think about it much. Want to know something, I might fire up the CD about 3 times a year. About all I really use it for is to save waypoints, but the ones I enter are taken from my little green book a lot more often than they are taken directly from one of the GPS's that are around here.

But that's not important, your question asked for size, and I think the answer is pretty straight forward, get all you can get. What do they go up to 64K or something like that? If that is the largest (maybe 128 is but that seems a little like overkill to me) then its what I'd get.

Thom

"For every complex question, there's a simple answer. And it's wrong."
(--H. L. Mencken)
Thom is offline  
Old 01-13-2003, 05:24 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Charleston, SC, USA!
Posts: 2,192
Default Garmin Memory Chip Size

I've got the 182 grey and regularly fish a boat with the 2006 grey. If you have the room and $$$, get the 2006. Its easier to read and a LOT easier to enter #'s. You have to "scroll" to enter #'s on the 182 and you use the keypad on the 2006. I bought the big bluechart for mine...that is more of a personal issue with WHERE you plan on fishing.
Reelescape1 is offline  
Old 01-13-2003, 07:21 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Raleigh & Wrightsville,NC
Posts: 727
Default Garmin Memory Chip Size

Thanks for the responses fella's. Ive been doing a little more reading myself and had seen the deluxe kit mentioned above.

Hey reelescape - what are your thoughts on using the 2006 gray vs. color? I use an old GPSMAP 210 which is gray and really not that bad. The color idea is very intriguing though, and really looks good (on the shelf anyway). I do like the larger display and the numerical keypad on the 2006.

Anyone heard any more rumblings about a price drop from Garmin any time soon?
FishinWuf is offline  
Old 01-13-2003, 07:26 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Raleigh & Wrightsville,NC
Posts: 727
Default Garmin Memory Chip Size

Say I purchase the Bluechart CD version and download my area onto the chip to use in whatever fixed mount unit I end up with. Can I use the same CD to download data for the same area (same unlock code as I understand it) onto another unit, say a handheld like the GPSMAP76? Or do I have to purchase a second CD?
FishinWuf is offline  
Old 01-13-2003, 08:36 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Charleston, SC, USA!
Posts: 2,192
Default Garmin Memory Chip Size

I dont have any experience with the color...they look good in the store though!!
Reelescape1 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread