Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

sea talk fail

Old 05-19-2008, 04:26 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 113
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default sea talk fail

hi guys ,
while recently doing some rewiring on my osprey26 i accidently shorted something where my electronics are connected .
so now my raymarine auto pliot st6001 s1g has a message "seatalk fail" on the display " and my rl70 crc plotter has no potiion fix.
so i guess ive buggered up the seatalk bus .has anyone here had a similar issue or could someone please make a suggestion
as to where i might begin to look . the raystar 120 perhaps?
also by going into the plotters hidden diagnostic mode i have checked the seatalk signal going to the plotter and as suspected its not there.
any help you gurus can provide would be greatly accepted
thanks in advance
mike
Old 05-19-2008, 04:36 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: sea talk fail

first thing to try is seperate the pilot (the st6001 and its couse computer) from the rest of the seatalk network. If isolated the SeaTalk fail goes away (and the pilot seems to work) start adding things one at a time to see what give you the seatalk fail message. If you have the seatalk fail on the pilot by itself, either the 6001 , the course computer, or the cable connecting the two has the problem. Ohm out the cable, and if it checks ok, then send the 6001 and the course computer into rm.
Old 05-20-2008, 01:23 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 113
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: sea talk fail

hi thanks for the reply,
i was at the boat this mornin and i disconnected the pilot from the circuit, so that only the rl70 was connected to the raystar 120.
still no "gps fix".so next step was to enter the plotters hidden mode to check the seatalk traffic ,with the cable connected to the plotter
i get no hexadecimel traffic codes either incoming or outgoing,however with the cable removed i have full transmit traffic with no received traffic
i hope im making myself clear .
so is it a safe assumption that my raystar antenna is toast.
and if so is it a big job to take a nmea feed from my trusty old garmin gps map 235 and supply to the nmea connections on the pilot / rl70
thanks guys
i hope you folks can understand my ramblings
regards
mike
Old 05-20-2008, 02:52 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Christiansted, St. Croix
Posts: 119
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: sea talk fail

Check the fuses on the Course Computer. They are under the lid.




Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.