Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Mercury SmartCraft SC1000 installation

Old 05-18-2008, 01:41 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cayman Islands
Posts: 43
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mercury SmartCraft SC1000 installation

Need some help installing a new set of SmartCraft sc1000 gauges. Recently re-powered with a pair of 2002 Mercury Opti's and am now trying to install a new set of gauges to go with the engines. Having read the 4-page installation manual that came with the gauges and browsing the Mercury website to no end, I can't figure out how to intace the engines to the gauges. The main engine harnesses (new) have a 5-pin round connector labeled "tach" which I thought would just plug into the Smartcraft junction box (has 4 ports, each sqaure with 8 or so pins)but it does not. I have the gauges (2 tachs and 1 speedo) connected to 3 ports of the 4 port junction box. Now what? My guess at this stage is that I'm missing cables that probably has to run back to the engines (nb: engines were previously connected with older analog tachs wired into engines harness) or maybe there is some sort of adapter that uses the 5-pin round connector on my new engines harnesses and plugs into the junction box. Will the 4 port junction box work in my dual engine set-up or do I need to replace with a 6-port box? I'd be grateful to have any help that can be offered. Thanks
Old 05-18-2008, 02:57 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,462
Received 605 Likes on 337 Posts
Default Re: Mercury SmartCraft SC1000 installation

Parchy,
Call or email Merc via their standard support protocol listed on their web site (be sur eyo have you engine serial numbers ready and include them) and Merc support should be able to help you get everything hooked up correctly. They were very helpful to me.

You probably need the gauge connection from the key/choke harness connecting to the 4-way junction box, and the SC gauges also hooked into the 4-way. You cannot have any open connection on the junction box and may need a weather cap or terminator to cap an open port on the junction box.
Old 05-18-2008, 06:26 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location:
Posts: 403
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Re: Mercury SmartCraft SC1000 installation

Coming off the engine should be an open connecter that you will need to connect a cable from there to your junction box. You have to order the cable to the length you need, ebay is a great place for that. You might have to have more than one junction box since you have so many gauges and two engines. I think the cable from the engine is a 10 pin connector. It should have a weather proof cap on it. Mine was tucked under the starboard side of the engine block. If you buy a service manual from Mercury it will show you a wiring diagram of how it all plugs together. It really is simple once you get the right cables. It's as easy as plugging a telephone into a wall.

Mark

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.