Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

Old 05-17-2008, 06:04 PM
  #1  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,772
Likes: 0
Received 31 Likes on 23 Posts
Default What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

I'm about to get the new Garmin 15" touchscreen unit. What software are you guys with the new garmin stuff using at home for planning and transferring waypoints back and forth via the CF memory card?

Currently I use a Raymarine plotter, with Cmaps NT planner software. Does garmin have something similar for the PC?
Old 05-17-2008, 10:09 PM
  #2  
gsniffen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

Mapsource.
Old 05-18-2008, 05:07 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,534
Likes: 0
Received 35 Likes on 26 Posts
Default Re: What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

Mapsource.
Old 05-18-2008, 05:15 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Re: What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

I use Mapsource for my 182c. I don't believe there's anything else compatible.

Question for those already doing this with the 42XX or 52XX series - do you have to unlock the areas to see the detailed maps on Mapsource ?
Old 05-18-2008, 06:22 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Annapolis
Posts: 1,929
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

Mapsource is available on the BlueChart CDs and you must unlock a region to use it with the 4k/5k and 3xx/4xx machines.

I feel like there's some double jeopardy here; it would be fairer if we could use the whole CD chart content for planning from the outset, and unlock regions if we need to download them. Otherwise, we're buying the cartography twice.
Old 05-18-2008, 08:53 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Re: What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

sandyda - 5/18/2008 9:22 AM

Mapsource is available on the BlueChart CDs and you must unlock a region to use it with the 4k/5k and 3xx/4xx machines.

I feel like there's some double jeopardy here; it would be fairer if we could use the whole CD chart content for planning from the outset, and unlock regions if we need to download them. Otherwise, we're buying the cartography twice.
I agree with you, we would be paying twice. You can save $100.00 by buying the 40XX instead of the 42XX and then upload your unlocked regions (I believe that's how it works) but that doesn't seem like a great deal.

I really like to plan detailed routes on my PC and upload them to the plotter. Some folks would view that as a "crutch", but it's a good way to avoid getting lost and a help in staying off the bottom. I often anchor just off a point on the ICW where the river takes a sharp bend but the ICW continues straight through a narrow man made cut. I can't count how many times I've watched a boat follow the river, only to return an hour or so later and take the correct route.

I need to replace the 182c which belongs on my old boat and which I'm carrying back and forth between my upper and lower helms with a system of two plotters and networked depth sounder and possibly radar. I'm looking at close to $5K for two 4208s. I have unlocked the Chesapeake Bay and the Charleston to Jacksonville areas already. If I want to use my PC to plan routes from Charleston to MD or from Charleston down the St Johns River in FL, I will have to unlock two more regions. And I may have to repurchase codes for the areas I already have because I'll have two new plotters and I've already used one of the allowable plotters. An additional $200 or $400 for unlock codes seems unreasonable after you spend $5K with them for the system.
Old 05-18-2008, 10:33 AM
  #7  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,772
Likes: 0
Received 31 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Re: What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

Thanks for the reponses.... I have to do some more research.

I'm getting a 5215. So I have to first purchase the "Mapsource" software, then I have to purchase a "region" of data for my area for use with Mapsource, is that correct?? And all of that is completely separate from the 5215 and anything that comes with it, correct?

If that is true, I would be planning using mapsource at home, then savign the Routes and WP's onto a CF card, bringing down to the boat and loading the CF card. Is that also correct?

Sorry for the "dumbness", I could tell you anything you want to know about the older Raymarine stuff and Cmap software, but I'm new to the Garmin game.

Old 05-18-2008, 10:46 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Re: What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

Birdman - 5/18/2008 1:33 PM

Thanks for the reponses.... I have to do some more research.

I'm getting a 5215. So I have to first purchase the "Mapsource" software, then I have to purchase a "region" of data for my area for use with Mapsource, is that correct?? And all of that is completely separate from the 5215 and anything that comes with it, correct?

If that is true, I would be planning using mapsource at home, then savign the Routes and WP's onto a CF card, bringing down to the boat and loading the CF card. Is that also correct?

Sorry for the "dumbness", I could tell you anything you want to know about the older Raymarine stuff and Cmap software, but I'm new to the Garmin game.
I believe so, but you might want to wait for other responses. Mapsource does not come with the plotter.
Old 05-18-2008, 11:01 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,723
Received 491 Likes on 324 Posts
Default Re: What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

Here you go birdman ...... mapsource videos.

http://bluewaterpirate.phanfare.com/...ageID=20899645

Here's what's in the box. There is a good possiblity that the NMEA 2000 stuff will be in the box too.

https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?cID=148&pID=9158
Old 05-18-2008, 11:38 AM
  #10  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,772
Likes: 0
Received 31 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Re: What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

Nice video Tom..... I've enjoyed a few of your vids, nice job.

So now the only question left is, what do I need to buy from Garmin. I think I need to first buy the Mapsource software, and then buy the detailed Map data for my region.

I'll tell ya, the manufactures are RETARDED!!!! How hard would it be for them to spend 1 F'in day, to put together some informative videos, pdf's .... on WHAT product is needed to accomplish WHAT. Their websites are full of marketing bullship about how their "digital high definition bla bla" is better than everyone elses, but NONE of them tell you what you actually need to buy to accomplish a particular task. IF you call tech support, they say, "Call your nearest dealer, they have all the information you need". Call your nearest dealer, they say something as stupid as, "Ahh duhhh, is Garmin still in bidness? Wow, I didn't know they made Marine chartplotters??""

Except Jim from BYE of coarse, he does know the products but you can't expet the dealers selling 100's of brands to know each and every product. BUT, I DO expect the F'in manufactures to knwo their product, and before I give them $15 G's of my hard earned money, they had better be prepared to answer some simple questions.

Should I tell them how I REALLY feal??

Old 05-18-2008, 05:34 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gainesville, Florida
Posts: 619
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

Our experience with the garmin CD was that it CAME with 1 unlock code. You may have to go through an intermediate step to transfer that code via garmins' website, but it was pretty simple for us and we had an entire region unlocked.

Then, we had to figure out WHICH maps out of the large region we wanted. We were loading a much smaller gps unit, so we just picked the ones we wanted, but they were only about maybe 100kbyte each, so you can actually load quite a few of them!

If you want a SECOND unlock code, then you have to pay another fee.

hope that helps,
gordon
Old 05-18-2008, 06:05 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
ufg8rmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 1,692
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

edit
Old 05-18-2008, 07:21 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: S. Pasadena, FL
Posts: 293
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

Birdman - 5/18/2008 2:38 PM

So now the only question left is, what do I need to buy from Garmin. I think I need to first buy the Mapsource software, and then buy the detailed Map data for my region.

You don't need to buy anything from Garmin. You can call Jim at BOE or go to your local marine store and buy Mapsource.

You will not buy mapsource AND your region. You will buy Mapsource FOR your region.

You can load Mapsource to as many PC's as you want and you don't use your "unlock" code to do it. You just can't transfer any of that data to a Garmin unit, unless you unlock the unit.

You only have to use the "unlock" feature if you want your Garmin GPS unit to send and receive the data (waypoints, routes, etc.,) that you added to the Mapsource (Bluechart) software on your PC. You get to load it to 2 units, with the 2 unlock opportunities.

If you want to "unlock" more machines, then you need to buy more codes.

Clear as mud?

Old 05-18-2008, 08:02 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Darwin NT, Australia
Posts: 1,003
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

I'm having problems locating the correct program. I just visited a local Garmin dealer who phoned the distributor. They have not convinced me as to the correct program.

Can some help me with a link to the Mapsource for me area. I am in Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia. I have a GPSMAP 5012 with G2 Vision card (P/N VPC021R).

Grateful for any help.

Old 05-18-2008, 09:29 PM
  #15  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,772
Likes: 0
Received 31 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Re: What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

TheOtherLine - 5/18/2008 10:21 PM

You don't need to buy anything from Garmin. You can call Jim at BOE or go to your local marine store and buy Mapsource.
Yes, will of coarse buy from Jim. BUT, don't forget, Jim bought it from GARMIN! So no moatter how you slice it, your buying it from "Garmin".

You will not buy mapsource AND your region. You will buy Mapsource FOR your region.
Gotcha, that makes sense. I thought the mapsource software was separate from the data.

You can load Mapsource to as many PC's as you want and you don't use your "unlock" code to do it. You just can't transfer any of that data to a Garmin unit, unless you unlock the unit.

You only have to use the "unlock" feature if you want your Garmin GPS unit to send and receive the data (waypoints, routes, etc.,) that you added to the Mapsource (Bluechart) software on your PC. You get to load it to 2 units, with the 2 unlock opportunities.

If you want to "unlock" more machines, then you need to buy more codes.
ok. I will only have one Garmin unit (5215), and one or 2 PC's (desktop and laptop) that I would like to see the same data on (data = detailed area charts, WP's, Marks, Routes...).

Clear as mud?

Yep!! Clear as MUD!!!
Old 05-19-2008, 05:48 AM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Re: What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

You will not buy mapsource AND your region. You will buy Mapsource FOR your region.
When you buy Mapsource, you are entitled to unlock one region. All the data is on the CD, but you unlock one region. If you need more regions (because you are travelling), you will have to purchase an additional unlock certificate and code. About $90.00.



You can load Mapsource to as many PC's as you want and you don't use your "unlock" code to do it. You just can't transfer any of that data to a Garmin unit, unless you unlock the unit.
You won't see detail such as water depths in the regions you have not unlocked. The exception is oceans.


You only have to use the "unlock" feature if you want your Garmin GPS unit to send and receive the data (waypoints, routes, etc.,) that you added to the Mapsource (Bluechart) software on your PC. You get to load it to 2 units, with the 2 unlock opportunities.

If you want to "unlock" more machines, then you need to buy more codes.
Or more than one region.
Old 05-20-2008, 03:21 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: S. Pasadena, FL
Posts: 293
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

Here you go:

Garmin offers its cartography in two forms — MapSource® CD-ROMS or pre-programmed data cards. While MapSource CDs contain detailed maps that can be downloaded to blank data cards or directly to some units, pre-programmed data cards — both Garmin data cards and microSD cards — come conveniently ready to plug into compatible products.

http://www8.garmin.com/cartography/b...RegionPK=24585


Just make sure you get the one that fits your s/d slot!!!!

Good Luck
Old 05-20-2008, 03:22 PM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: S. Pasadena, FL
Posts: 293
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

rwidman - 5/19/2008 8:48 AM

You will not buy mapsource AND your region. You will buy Mapsource FOR your region.
When you buy Mapsource, you are entitled to unlock one region. All the data is on the CD, but you unlock one region. If you need more regions (because you are travelling), you will have to purchase an additional unlock certificate and code. About $90.00.



You can load Mapsource to as many PC's as you want and you don't use your "unlock" code to do it. You just can't transfer any of that data to a Garmin unit, unless you unlock the unit.

You won't see detail such as water depths in the regions you have not unlocked. The exception is oceans.




You only have to use the "unlock" feature if you want your Garmin GPS unit to send and receive the data (waypoints, routes, etc.,) that you added to the Mapsource (Bluechart) software on your PC. You get to load it to 2 units, with the 2 unlock opportunities.

If you want to "unlock" more machines, then you need to buy more codes.
Or more than one region.

RWIDMAN: Thanks for the edits. Sometimes I know what I'm thinking but I don't write it out correctly ;?

I think he is basically trying to plan routes and transfer waypoints back and forth between his 5012 and his pc, for ONE region. That's why I focused on getting him to understand that there is only ONE cd (or sd card) to purchase, he can load mapsource on as many pc's as he wants at no additional costs, and if he wants to unlock that same region on more than 2 machines, (5012 and a backup handheld), he can do so at additional cost. I have read some posts that said you can only unlock to one machine for free, but I unlocked my mapsource on my 4212 and 76csx, no additional costs.
Old 05-21-2008, 02:24 AM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Darwin NT, Australia
Posts: 1,003
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: What software to use at home for WP mngmt for Garmin?

TheOtherLine - 5/21/2008 9:21 AM

Here you go:

Garmin offers its cartography in two forms — MapSource® CD-ROMS or pre-programmed data cards. While MapSource CDs contain detailed maps that can be downloaded to blank data cards or directly to some units, pre-programmed data cards — both Garmin data cards and microSD cards — come conveniently ready to plug into compatible products.

http://www8.garmin.com/cartography/b...RegionPK=24585


Just make sure you get the one that fits your s/d slot!!!!

Good Luck
Thanks, that's just what I have been searching for.


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.