Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

airmar b60 or b164

Old 05-17-2008, 04:11 PM
  #1  
M L
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 39
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default airmar b60 or b164

I am adding the Garmin 4212 bundle. Got it from Jim at BOE - great prices. I am trying to decide on what transducer I need. I have a Pursuit 2870. I like the Airmar products but can't decide if I really need the b164. I bottom fish in 400 foot or less water. But really prefer trolling and going tuna fishing around 1000 ft or greater water in the North GOM. Do I need to come up with the extra $400 for the b164? I really don't know if I need that extra power. Please give me your thoughts.
Mike
Old 05-17-2008, 05:43 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 2,005
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: airmar b60 or b164

I wouldnt spend the extra coin on a ducer for that set-up. Dont think you will see a marked improvement.
Old 05-17-2008, 07:01 PM
  #3  
M L
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 39
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: airmar b60 or b164

Is that because you don't think much of the Garmin sounder or because not much differences b/w the transducers?
Old 05-17-2008, 07:05 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 2,005
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: airmar b60 or b164

I didnt want to say that, but no the Garmin sounder does not get good reviews. I know how well the GPS is thought of, and dont get me wrong they have several great features. The sounder just isnt one of them.
Old 05-17-2008, 07:27 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,300
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: airmar b60 or b164

I'd like to give a great review on my GSD 22 and Garmin in general. I have the M260 but rely on its 1kw capabilities for super deep bottom fishing. Improvements are noticed at mid range depths and shallower depths also. The only thing my 1kw ducer does not do good at, or at all, is when I am leaving or entering the inlet I loose bottom completely. The Garmin reads 0.9 and I need to power off/ on the units to get back a depth reading (sometimes scary). I usually turn my gain all the way up and I at least get a depth reading. I think this is more an issue with the ducer and not Garmin.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.