Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance Radar questions

Old 05-15-2008, 06:17 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 2,005
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Lowrance Radar questions

Just got my LRA2000 installed last week. I went through the install and set up process step by step. The center spot on the screen(10.4 inch) is almost as big as a quater at the 1/8 mile setting. Seams to be to big. Has anyone else had this on theirs?
Old 05-15-2008, 06:58 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 2,005
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Radar questions

what did you set the Gain Stc and Ftc to?
Thanks for your help.
Old 05-15-2008, 07:00 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 2,005
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Radar questions

Do you have a screen shot of your unit running? I know the gain,stc and ftc will be adjusted for different times but they give you settings to go through for set-up.
Old 05-16-2008, 03:38 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 2,005
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Radar questions

Looking at your shots I have mine out of whack. The center circle on mine at 1/8 of a mile is as big as a quater. Making boats within 50 yards actually in the circle out of view. Not what I would call good for colision avoidance. Will play with the settings tomorrow AM
Old 05-20-2008, 09:01 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Radar questions

Can you tell me which flexgate compass your are using to attain the overlay data? Is it NEMA2000 model? I have the 4000 open aray and want to add this fuction.
Thanks
Swimmer
Old 05-21-2008, 06:46 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,055
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default Re: Lowrance Radar questions

Man, Ive been following this thread and have come to a conclusion, I am very happy I have A Raymarine C80 system with a Radar. I never have to mess with anything and the returned video is sharp, clear, and does not require any setup. Right outta the box!

Keeping with the spirit of the thread, I too have the KVH1000 and have found it to be flawless. Very easy install too.
Old 05-21-2008, 03:12 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 2,005
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Radar questions

Hewes,
The radar is new to me, never had and the book everyone recommended has not come in yet. The Lowrance radar was used by a friend before I got it and he had it set up, I started playing with all the settings and couldnt get it back to where it was.
Old 05-22-2008, 05:12 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,055
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default Re: Lowrance Radar questions

"I started playing with all the settings and couldnt get it back to where it was."----That's why I was agreeing with you. The setup ain't easy!


Steelhead130-

I'm glad you didn't take my post wrong. I just installed the new Lowrance 2kw 18" HD unit last week. I guess they're made by Si-Tex. There a good system. Again, I was just dumbfounded at how much setup was required. When my customer arrived, I offered to setup (tune) his radar for addition 1-
2hrs. He opted to do it himself. I didn't talk him out of it either! I felt a guy should know how to make adjustments if HE needs to. Doing it for him might not be the best long-term solution. Taking his boat to the open ocean, launching, tuning, and back to the shop seemed like more money than he wanted to spend for. Again, I have to say, Ray's units are far easier to operate outta the box.....and man, they do perform too!

Have a great Memorial Day weekend.
Old 05-30-2008, 05:01 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: marysville wa
Posts: 1,033
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Radar questions

do these setting numbers apply to the non hd little older lra 2000 koden radar ?
Old 06-02-2008, 10:55 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: marysville wa
Posts: 1,033
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Lowrance Radar questions

I have the older 07 model witch I think is koden and i want to thank you for your numbers .

I set them . have not fined tuned yet but it works sweeter than ever just with your numbers ,

Thanks a bunch It was so nice haveing that thing work so sweet , it was foggey this weeked in the mornings Thanks again

lowrance needs to change their recomended numbers to yours . Its a pain to get it set right .

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.