Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine C120 "FIX" question

Old 05-15-2008, 03:28 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Orleans MA
Posts: 411
Received 57 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Raymarine C120 "FIX" question

This season when I am powering up my C120 I am not getting a fix on the GPS. Usually it takes a few minutes to find the satalite- but I left it on for over an hour and still got no fix.
Does anyone have any recommendations for me?

Thanks in advance
Old 05-15-2008, 04:08 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,018
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Raymarine C120 "FIX" question

Possibly a bad Seatalk connection? Corrosion over winter? Carefully clean the ports inside the rubber socket & check the connection at the 125 antenna as well. My C80 acquires sats in about 30 seconds. Got to be something simple.
Old 05-15-2008, 04:59 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent Narrows, MD
Posts: 7,146
Received 775 Likes on 367 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine C120 "FIX" question

Check the LED on the top of the RS125 antenna

Flashing Green = OK

Flashing Orange = No Fix

Flashing Red = Unable to boot


If antenna is good, follow the SeaTalk cable from the antenna to the display & locate the problem



Old 05-15-2008, 05:21 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Orleans MA
Posts: 411
Received 57 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine C120 "FIX" question

thanks- i will check the LED tomorrow- I did not realize there was a LED on top of the antenna.

Following the cable- easier said then done! I will try cleaning the ports- I checked them right away- looked ok.

Old 05-16-2008, 08:49 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marco Island, FL
Posts: 3,511
Received 199 Likes on 139 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine C120 "FIX" question

If you don't have a LED on your GPS antenna you may have the older Raystar 120 series. These exhibit a buffer overflow problem when left on for extended periods. If you remove the power from the Seatalk circuit they will reset and get a fix. If you have an antenna with a LED then, nevermind.
Old 05-16-2008, 08:58 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location:
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine C120 "FIX" question

Aside from a bad antenna or connection, there is an outside chance it is a software issue with the C80. I did have one customer exhibit a problem with his E120 not locking on a fix after the last satellite switch. I upgraded his unit and the problem was solved. As far as the Seatalk Connections are concerned, do you have any other Seatalk Instruments installed? If so, an easy way to check the integrity of the network is to adjust the backlight level on the instruments. Adjusting on one should result in the same lighting level being implemented on the others. If it is indeed an antenna that need replaced, If the unit is still under warranty I can put you in touch with a good Repair center in your area, if it is not, send me an e-mail for more options.
Old 05-17-2008, 03:58 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Raymarine C120 "FIX" question

assuming that it is a rs125 wired in seatalk mode, or a rs120/seatalk, have you tried the gps sensor reset?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.