Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Garmin 4212, 4208, & 3205 Network Question

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 4212, 4208, & 3205 Network Question

Old 05-15-2008, 11:05 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Destin FL
Posts: 799
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Garmin 4212, 4208, & 3205 Network Question

I have a boat being built and I am having a Garmin 4212 and 4208 at the helm. I bought a 3205 to go in the tower. My question is will the 3205 be able to network off the 4212 and 4208. I have a Gamin open array radar, GSD22 with 2KW in hull transducer, and the sattilite stuff.
Old 05-15-2008, 11:10 AM
  #2  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Garmin 4212, 4208, & 3205 Network Question

Yes. The 32** series is network capable.
Old 05-15-2008, 11:16 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Garmin 4212, 4208, & 3205 Network Question

Yes, and no. It will share the radar, sounder, and xm satellite weather, so basically anything that comes into the network via a network plug, yes. It won't share any of the G2-Vision cards 3-D views, photos, etc., and it won't share any of the normal nav data between the different generation products (3000 to 4/5000 series), so if you want to share gps, active waypoint, etc., you will need to do a nmea to nmea interface between the 3205 and whichever 42xx unit you think will always be on.
Old 05-15-2008, 11:24 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,723
Received 491 Likes on 324 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4212, 4208, & 3205 Network Question

You can wire your GPS17 antenna and additional NMEA devices to either your 3205 or the 4000/5000.The existing 3205 can share NMEA 0183 data and Garman Marine newtork data, but they cannot share cartography.
Old 05-16-2008, 10:45 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Annapolis
Posts: 1,929
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4212, 4208, & 3205 Network Question

Since they use different physical card formats, you may end up buying extra cartography, and the different user interfaces will make you crazy for a while. Get a screen protector for the 3205.
Old 05-16-2008, 05:21 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: marblehead
Posts: 2,398
Received 65 Likes on 52 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4212, 4208, & 3205 Network Question

I have the exact same system, plus AIS. I love it. Enjoy.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.