Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

boat freezer won't work on shorepower but ok on generator

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

boat freezer won't work on shorepower but ok on generator

Old 05-11-2008, 01:26 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Smyrna Beach
Posts: 8,734
Received 363 Likes on 247 Posts
Default boat freezer won't work on shorepower but ok on generator

Need ideas why boat freezer doesn't work on shorepower although it runs under generator power.
Old 05-11-2008, 04:13 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Re: boat freezer won't work on shorepower but ok on generator

Is this something new or has it always been this way?

Has anything changed or been rewired?

Are there any blown fuses or tripped circuit breakers?

It cannot be the freezer, there should be no difference between power from the electric utility and power from the generator so it has to be a wiring problem on the boat.

Assuming of course that other 120 volt appliances or devices work correctly on shore power.
Old 05-11-2008, 04:31 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Smyrna Beach
Posts: 8,734
Received 363 Likes on 247 Posts
Default Re: boat freezer won't work on shorepower but ok on generator

rwidman - 5/11/2008 4:13 PM

Is this something new or has it always been this way?

Has anything changed or been rewired?

Are there any blown fuses or tripped circuit breakers?

It cannot be the freezer, there should be no difference between power from the electric utility and power from the generator so it has to be a wiring problem on the boat.

Assuming of course that other 120 volt appliances or devices work correctly on shore power.
Quit working about a month ago. Changed the freezer control and it started working. Had the boat pulled for bottom job and when I put it back in it didn't work. When I was in boat today it was working. No fuses and breaker is fine.
Old 05-12-2008, 09:25 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 704
Likes: 0
Received 47 Likes on 25 Posts
Default Re: boat freezer won't work on shorepower but ok on generator

I'll bet that you have a low amp problem with you shore power feed. My boxes would never start on shore power at the last marina I was at. This year they fire right up. I would have that checked first.
Old 05-12-2008, 03:58 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Re: boat freezer won't work on shorepower but ok on generator

termite - 5/12/2008 12:25 PM

I'll bet that you have a low amp problem with you shore power feed. My boxes would never start on shore power at the last marina I was at. This year they fire right up. I would have that checked first.
You can't have a "low amp" problem but you could have low voltage at the pedestal or a problem with the shore power cord or boat wiring before the transfer switch. It's easily checked with a digital volt meter but be sure to have a load on the circuit while testing.
Old 05-12-2008, 04:18 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Smyrna Beach
Posts: 8,734
Received 363 Likes on 247 Posts
Default Re: boat freezer won't work on shorepower but ok on generator

Thanks guys will check out the power pedestal with a load on.
Old 05-12-2008, 05:05 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Re: boat freezer won't work on shorepower but ok on generator

skiphughes - 5/12/2008 7:18 PM

Thanks guys will check out the power pedestal with a load on.
If that checks out OK, check inside your boat (an AC outlet, for example). You could have a bad connection on your shorepower cord, inlet, or electrical panel. If you do, that's a fire hazzard so find it and fix it ASAP.
Old 05-13-2008, 01:47 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Warrenton, Virginia
Posts: 202
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: boat freezer won't work on shorepower but ok on generator

I agree with what was said ealier, the amp draw could be drawing the voltage of the shore power down enough to keep the unit from working. It wouldn't do this on the genset because the length of wiring from the source would be much shorter. If it does this for long enough without tripping a fuse, the heat in the wiring could cause the insulation to melt. To check this you are going to have to put a meter across it while it is loaded.
Old 05-15-2008, 04:43 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 4,299
Received 309 Likes on 261 Posts
Default Re: boat freezer won't work on shorepower but ok on generator

When you say shorepower do you mean only one location, or have you tried more than one shore power location. If it doesn't work at more than one shorepower location problem it is in the boat wiring or drop cable, if it only has this problem at one shore power location problem is with shore power most likely.

Do you have a 120 VAC or 240 VAC shore power setup?? As has been described above a simple voltmeter is the best way to solve this issue. Just start taking readings starting at the shorepower connection. The start up current on the AC compressor is very high, so if you get a large voltage drop when the compressor tries to start up it will kick off. Do you hear the compressor try to start up and than drop out?

Jim
Old 05-15-2008, 05:13 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Re: boat freezer won't work on shorepower but ok on generator

jfwireless - 5/15/2008 7:43 AM

When you say shorepower do you mean only one location, or have you tried more than one shore power location. If it doesn't work at more than one shorepower location problem it is in the boat wiring or drop cable, if it only has this problem at one shore power location problem is with shore power most likely.
That's another logical trouble shooting step.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.