Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Two depth transducers on same boat.

Old 05-09-2008, 03:17 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location:
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Two depth transducers on same boat.

Hello i'm new on this area. Maybe my question is stupid but i want to ask you if i can have two depth transducers on the same boat. In the ship is already istalled the depth system ST60+ of raymarine. I just bought the Garmin 520s with transom transducer. Can i operate them at the same time? Is there gone be any problem. Im thinking of putting the transom transducer as a shoot thru transducer with epoxy. Thank you all in advance
Old 05-09-2008, 10:51 AM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: A Fjord of Norway
Posts: 50
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Two depth transducers on same boat.

No it would normally not work together. They will interfere with each other and you will get a lot of noise/disturbance on the echoes and it would be impossible to display it properly. There is a possibility if setting the sounders at different frequency e.g. the Ray at 50 kHz and the Gar at 200 kHz (or similar if there is an option for it). Then it could be a possibility. But normally, no. Best option would be to operate the "best" sonar as a sonar and the other instrument as a chart plotter or something else.
Old 05-09-2008, 12:51 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Re: Two depth transducers on same boat.

There are two on my boat and if they are both turned on, neither works correctly.
Old 05-09-2008, 04:38 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Carrabelle, Fla
Posts: 1,673
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 12 Posts
Default RE: Two depth transducers on same boat.

They will work together, if, they ping at different frequencies.
Old 05-11-2008, 07:28 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Annapolis
Posts: 1,929
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Two depth transducers on same boat.

I haven't found any way to alter the frequecy of the ST50, 60, or 60+ transducers, but you can put a switch on the power to the ducer, and turn it off when you're using the FF.
Old 05-11-2008, 07:32 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 704
Likes: 0
Received 47 Likes on 25 Posts
Default Re: Two depth transducers on same boat.

only if you run them on different frequencies
Old 05-11-2008, 08:47 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,741
Likes: 0
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default Re: Two depth transducers on same boat.

Yep. Different frequiencies is the key. I use two, one for deeper water and one for shallow water. I'll never own another boat without both of them.

JB
Old 05-12-2008, 05:53 AM
  #8  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location:
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Two depth transducers on same boat.

Thank you all. May the fish be with you
Old 05-12-2008, 03:06 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North NJ & Barnegat Bay
Posts: 6,314
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: Two depth transducers on same boat.

How come bass boat with a ducer on the trolling motor and one on the transom both at 200 dont interfere? Thats my current set up now on my bay boat and i dont have any interference!!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.