Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

GPS Sensor Location garmin 3210

Old 05-08-2008, 08:50 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Southeast Louisiana
Posts: 425
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GPS Sensor Location garmin 3210

I just bought a used 31 contender and it has a Garmin 3210 with radar dome..he GPS sensor is currently mounted on a fiberglass antenna base and it is mounted @ 12" off the base of the t-top. It folds down out of the way but I am afraid that I will eventually forget it in the up position and hit the roof of my boat shed ( boat is kept in a hoist). I don't like where it is now and I would like to move it. Does the gps sensor have to be mounted above the top of the radar dome ?? Will the radar mess up the gps signal or vise versa ?? Thanks !!!!
Old 05-10-2008, 08:35 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Annapolis
Posts: 1,929
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: GPS Sensor Location garmin 3210

It can be lower than the radar beam which is typically 25 degrees top to bottom. GPS antennas don't have to be high, but they do need to see a lot of sky. They can see thru glass or plastic windows, cloth awnings, and even thinner fiberglass, and can work fairly well when tilted fifteen or twenty degrees. Radar radiates a good bit of energy, and if you sit close enough for long enough, it can screw up your eyesight and other semi-valuable bodily functions, and it will screw up electronics in the path of the beam. That includes all your receivers; cell phone, stereo, VHF, satellite, TV, GPS, etc. Consider raising the radar a few inches, or moving your GPS antenna off the top and down to the dash, or someplace else. The GPS antenna is strictly a receiver and doesn't radiate much of anything.
Old 05-10-2008, 05:19 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mobile, Al.
Posts: 1,246
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: GPS Sensor Location garmin 3210

Have the 3010 and 4kw dome and my antennas are on the dash with no signal reception problems at all




Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.