Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

New Platinum + chart with Fish 'N Chip- E Series

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

New Platinum + chart with Fish 'N Chip- E Series

Old 05-06-2008, 02:39 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Port Richey, Florida
Posts: 2,478
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default New Platinum + chart with Fish 'N Chip- E Series

I just received the Platinum + cards (yes-cards. I thought it was only one for Florida/Bahamas but it comes on two 8GB chips). The Fish 'N Chips bathymetric data is supposed to be on the same chip (no longer on a different chip) but it doesn't display and can't figure out how to get it to show. I found one selection for Fish/Nav , set it to Fish and it has no effect.
Anyone figure this out yet?
Old 05-06-2008, 05:20 PM
  #2  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hilton head ,sc
Posts: 67
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Platinum + chart with Fish 'N Chip- E Series

I have the new chip the second is a special Bahamas chip I assume has alot more information then the standard chip that covers everything. I assume you downloaded version 4.29 when you place your cursor over water switch to fish and a overwhelming amount of data will cover your screen hense while navigating you need to switch to nav.I just got the chip so still playing with it but I find the bathymetric data invaluable.
Old 05-07-2008, 08:04 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gulf of Maine
Posts: 2,942
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: New Platinum + chart with Fish 'N Chip- E Series

darren gordon - 5/6/2008 5:20 PM

when you place your cursor over water switch to fish and a overwhelming amount of data will cover your screen hense while navigating you need to switch to nav.I just got the chip so still playing with it but I find the bathymetric data invaluable.
Does "Fish" appear as a sub menu when you place the cursor over water?
Any on line doucumentation about the Fish feature?
Old 05-08-2008, 09:15 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Port Richey, Florida
Posts: 2,478
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: New Platinum + chart with Fish 'N Chip- E Series

I called both Navionics and Raymarine about the problem.
First tech at RM asked if had done a master reset after upgrading to 4.29. I told him I had not, he said it would solve the problem. So I backed up my wpts and did the master reset- and it did not help. When I toggle between the "Fish" and "Nav" charts there is no difference in the data displayed (just the normal chart data, no bathymetric data). I even re-installed the 4.29 update and tried again, no luck.
Called RM back, this tech was not even aware that the Fish 'N Chip data is now on the SAME chip with the Platinum +, not a second ship as it is on the Platinum. He even questioned if I knew what I was talking about... I asked him to send me up the line, he told me to call another tech whom I left a VM for and haven't heard back.

Navionics wants me to send them the card to verify the data's even on it

Navionics points to RM, RM points to Navionics. Is there anyone out there with an E-Series- and a new Platinum + chip- that is having success in getting the data to display?
Old 05-08-2008, 09:41 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 368
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: New Platinum + chart with Fish 'N Chip- E Series

I have an E120 but don't have the new card yet. However, I have read on several other sites of people who are all praising it and lovin' it.
Old 05-08-2008, 11:43 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sandwich, MA
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: New Platinum + chart with Fish 'N Chip- E Series

TOBNPR

Thanks for your business!

Email me if you have a chance. I'll try to help.

jbrodeur at navionics dot com

Old 05-08-2008, 01:10 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Port Richey, Florida
Posts: 2,478
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: New Platinum + chart with Fish 'N Chip- E Series

Here's the "HULL TRUTH":

Earlier today I received a CB from the tech at RM support- he informed me that RM had not fully tested the new Platinum + with the now integrated Fish 'N Chip data, and it may not be supported, even by the new 4.29 update. They have ordered additional charts from Navionics and expect to release a firmware update in the future to address the problem.

I just got off the phone with Jeff Brodeur from Navionics (see post above). He was extremely helpful, and noted that there may be some charts where this problem occurs and they are in the process of getting the "bugs" out. My 906 Florida chart is one of those with the problem, others may work properly.

It is kind of frustrating, but both Navionics and Raymarine are aware of the problem and hopefully it will be resolved in short order. The 3D feature and overlay is impressive- if you ain't got one, you need to...

I also feel a lot better about NOT getting Furuno's Navnet 3D- but that's another thread.

Old 05-08-2008, 02:38 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Christiansted, St. Croix
Posts: 119
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: New Platinum + chart with Fish 'N Chip- E Series

tobnr

I have the E120 updated with 4.29 and the 906PP SE Florida Platinum Plus cartridge. Testing today actually, I had no problem when playing with the bathymetric vs nav data to get the screen to update as advertised. Pressing the softkeys [Presentation[ [Chart Layers] [ Nav / Fish] worked like a charm.

I do not use the 3D, but I agree that the aerial land and sea overlays look much better.

I did find that screen refreshes when changing scales takes noticably longer now... it takes about twice as long to change scales and refresh the screen compared to the previous 2GB card version.


Old 05-08-2008, 04:33 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Port Richey, Florida
Posts: 2,478
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: New Platinum + chart with Fish 'N Chip- E Series

wbarrett - 5/8/2008 5:38 PM

tobnr

I have the E120 updated with 4.29 and the 906PP SE Florida Platinum Plus cartridge. Testing today actually, I had no problem when playing with the bathymetric vs nav data to get the screen to update as advertised. Pressing the softkeys [Presentation[ [Chart Layers] [ Nav / Fish] worked like a charm.

I do not use the 3D, but I agree that the aerial land and sea overlays look much better.

I did find that screen refreshes when changing scales takes noticably longer now... it takes about twice as long to change scales and refresh the screen compared to the previous 2GB card version.

Wow, same chart- works for you, not for me. I can't begin to figure that one out.
Old 05-08-2008, 04:41 PM
  #10  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hilton head ,sc
Posts: 67
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Platinum + chart with Fish 'N Chip- E Series

I also have the 906p chip and having no problems viewing fish or nav data .I noticed the same delay in redraw as your seeing must be the amount of info hope they have another update to speed it back up.
Old 05-08-2008, 04:55 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Christiansted, St. Croix
Posts: 119
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: New Platinum + chart with Fish 'N Chip- E Series

tobnpr ... Sure got to wonder if the new production process at Navionics allowed the data from the 906P chip to be written instead of using the 906PP data on the chip you ended up with? Being in a similar business, I know these kinds of process errors can be the cause especially when starting up a new product.

Occam's razor (All things being equal the simpliest explanation is usually right) sure seems to apply. We have the same software on the E120's and what is supposed to be the same source data. Hard to believe the 4.29 software would work with one chip and not another.

Before I got the Platinum Plus chip I was wondering why Raymarine didn't give the option of showing the nav AND the bathymetric data at the same time but after seeing how long the screen refreshes take with the new nav data alone, I guess I see why it is not an option.

Old 05-08-2008, 05:25 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Christiansted, St. Croix
Posts: 119
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: New Platinum + chart with Fish 'N Chip- E Series

Just had another thought tobnpr... does the bathymetric data show up on your E120 when you put in the Bahamas chip? That would isolate the problem to the SE Florida Navionics data if Nav / Fish works on the Bahamas chip but not the SE Florida one. If it doesn't work on both, then the 4.29 software would be suspect.




Old 05-09-2008, 05:12 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gulf of Maine
Posts: 2,942
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: New Platinum + chart with Fish 'N Chip- E Series

Is there online documentation covering the new features in V4.29 or the Platinum + card?
Old 05-09-2008, 08:36 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Christiansted, St. Croix
Posts: 119
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: New Platinum + chart with Fish 'N Chip- E Series

I found the new manuals and Navionics card at http://www.raymarine.com/default.asp...on=3&page=1046



Old 05-09-2008, 11:48 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Port Richey, Florida
Posts: 2,478
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: New Platinum + chart with Fish 'N Chip- E Series

wbarrett - 5/8/2008 8:25 PM

Just had another thought tobnpr... does the bathymetric data show up on your E120 when you put in the Bahamas chip? That would isolate the problem to the SE Florida Navionics data if Nav / Fish works on the Bahamas chip but not the SE Florida one. If it doesn't work on both, then the 4.29 software would be suspect.
That's a great idea- I did not know that the Bahamas chip also had the bathy data; I'm going to try it.
Like you guys have said, there would be no explanation as to why the 906PP chip would work on some machines and not others, unless either the chart were defective or the firmware had a problem. I tried to rule out the firmware problem by reinstalling the update...
IF the bahamas chip also does not show the data, I guess that would tell me it's the firmware- in which case I'll download the update from scratch off the website again and reinstall. I have no indications that any part of the 4.29 update did not install correctly, but who knows...
IF the bahamas chip does show the data, then I'll know that the Navionics chip is defective as suggested above (and by Navionics). I was just reluctant to send the chip off without knowing for sure that's the problem.
Hopefully with the suggestions I've been given I can troubleshoot this beast. Thanks again for the suggestions; if I get it figured out I'll update.
Old 05-11-2008, 07:07 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Christiansted, St. Croix
Posts: 119
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: New Platinum + chart with Fish 'N Chip- E Series

tobnpr, I verified and can confirm for you that the Bahamas chip definitely has the same bathymeric data as the SE Florida if you look at least specifically in the area from St Lucie Inlet down to West Palm Beach and across the channel to the Bahamas.

One thing I noted in a day of fishing that may have an impact on your situation:

When you select FISH it takes quite a few seconds for the bathymetric data to be shown on the screen. I found that if I hit [Presentation] [Chart Layers] [Nav / Fish] and hit OK and moved on to another screen like Sonar or Radar *before* the bathymetric data displayed on the Map page, the bathymetric data would NOT display. The Navigation data remained on the Map screen even though when I went back through [Presentation] [Chart Layers] [Nav / Fish] the "Fish" part of the soft key was highlighted and no "Fish N Chip" data was displayed. Not sure this is a bug as much as my impatience getting in the way of the E120 having enough time to read the chip thoroughly enough.

So one other thing to test is to wait a good 10 or 15 seconds after selecting the "Fish" soft key before deciding the data aren't there.

Old 05-12-2008, 07:29 PM
  #17  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location:
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: New Platinum + chart with Fish 'N Chip- E Series

tobnpr, you're not alone. I have the same issue with the 904P (northeast) chip. I haven't got around to calling RM or the guy that sold me the chip, but I'm going to try Bill's idea tomorrow since I know I get impatient at times...

Have you made progress in the last couple days?
Did you say it shows 3D bottom contours correctly? Mine does too (I think). I believe I heard (somewhere) that 3D uses Fish bathy data; so that means it must be on the chip?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.