Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 540

Old 05-05-2008, 10:17 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 434
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garmin 540

Can someone please explain to me how to add new waypoints in this unit. I'm apparently missing something in the owners manual. ;?
Old 05-06-2008, 05:59 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,732
Received 492 Likes on 325 Posts
Default RE: Garmin 540

Ensure you've done all the software updates to your unit. One of the changes gives you the capability to use name schemes of more than 10 letters/characters/numbers.

Old 05-06-2008, 06:55 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saint Cloud, FL
Posts: 972
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Garmin 540

Tom (BWP) -

I'm getting set for negotiations with my CFO (better known as my wife) over the issue of purchasing a g2 chip for my new 540s. Since you are the resident "Garmin Guru", I hope you don't mind me picking your brain.

In your opinion, what would be the two most compelling arguments I should use? ;?

While most of our boating is on inland lakes, we do plan to make occasional forays over toward the Atlantic coast (roughly Cape Canaveral down to Vero Beach) and possibly along the Gulf around Naples/Ft Myers. (You paying attention, Ludicrous?)

Old 05-06-2008, 07:57 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 434
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Garmin 540

Thanks Tom. I'm still cofused though. It doesn't appear as if I can add waypoints at random. I know I've got to be wroung! ;?
Old 05-06-2008, 08:05 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,732
Received 492 Likes on 325 Posts
Default RE: Garmin 540

You can add them at any point and at anytime.
Old 05-06-2008, 08:09 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,732
Received 492 Likes on 325 Posts
Default RE: Garmin 540

Post ...... your 540's G2 Charts are more than sufficient to provide the guidance you'll need to safely navigate anywhere you go. The G2 Vision will add 3-D views, auto guidance, offshore bathy detail. Save your money unless you just have to have it. For what you'd be using it the functionality for there is really no compelling reason to spend $200.
Old 05-06-2008, 08:14 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saint Cloud, FL
Posts: 972
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Garmin 540

My wife thanks you.

Seriously, I kinda thought that the built-in stuff might be sufficient, but just wasn't sure. Always nice to get a second opinion.

Hmmmm... $200..... I might even be able to fill the gas tank!

Thanks, Tom!

Old 05-06-2008, 09:04 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 3,914
Likes: 0
Received 14 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 540

PostOpus - 5/6/2008 11:14 AM

Hmmmm... $200..... I might even be able to fill the gas tank!

That $200 will likely go to Andy (aka SIM) for your fuel filters. Have you talked to him yet?






Old 05-06-2008, 09:43 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stuart, Florida
Posts: 3,972
Received 515 Likes on 238 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 540

I have the Garmin 545s and picked up their Trip & Waypoint Manager software that allows me to input/edit way-points, routes and tracks on my PC then transfer them between the computer and unit or vice-versa. Sure beats trying to enter all of your WPs on your unit...

http://www8.garmin.com/cartography/m...ndwaypoint.jsp


Albury Brothers 20 w 175 Suzuki
Old 05-06-2008, 10:08 AM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location:
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 540

hello i have the 440s when i chose a destination and hit the route to why dose it show a streight line to the destination and not the proper navagational route ?
Old 05-06-2008, 10:38 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hilton Head Island, SC
Posts: 135
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 540

SWING - 5/6/2008 10:08 AM

hello i have the 440s when i chose a destination and hit the route to why dose it show a streight line to the destination and not the proper navagational route ?
Same here. I have the 545S w/ the latest updates & the G2 card.
Old 05-06-2008, 10:49 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saint Cloud, FL
Posts: 972
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Garmin 540

Ludicrous - 5/6/2008 12:04 PM

PostOpus - 5/6/2008 11:14 AM

Hmmmm... $200..... I might even be able to fill the gas tank!

That $200 will likely go to Andy (aka SIM) for your fuel filters. Have you talked to him yet?




I thought you were buying them for me.
Old 05-06-2008, 10:50 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,732
Received 492 Likes on 325 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 540

To use auto guidance you don't use the Route To you us Guide To. Here's all you want to know about Auto Guidance Functionality. Do the software updates to your units first!

http://www.bluewaterpirate.phanfare....ageID=36189489
Old 05-06-2008, 11:41 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hilton Head Island, SC
Posts: 135
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 540

That was the mistake I made.
Question: Can you use auto guidance to select a route to a waypoint?
Old 05-06-2008, 12:57 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,732
Received 492 Likes on 325 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 540

Yes ... as long as it meets the criteria laid by the auto guidance depth settings. Now if you mean an already built route no. It will route you independently from any existing routes/tracks.
Old 05-06-2008, 01:37 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hilton Head Island, SC
Posts: 135
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 540

Cool.
BTW, I met & with to a Garmin rep a couple weeks ago.
I bitched about only being able to acess the closest waypoints & not having the compass page.
He said they are all well aware of both of those problems & that they will be corrected in a (near) future update.
Old 05-06-2008, 02:16 PM
  #17  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saint Cloud, Fl
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 540

I have a 540s just like Ed has (PostOpus) ..... it is preloaded with the Offshore maps ..... I noticed it doesnt have the lakes on it unless you have the Inland lakes G2 Card. I priced it out with the inland lakes built in and buying the offshore card and vice a versa it was cheaper to buy the offshore maps and add the inland lakes card.
Old 05-06-2008, 02:23 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 4,070
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 540

Tom,

How will I know if my brand new Garmin 540 has its updates?
Old 05-06-2008, 02:58 PM
  #19  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saint Cloud, Fl
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 540

it should have version 3.10 for the 540 .........
From the home screen - Select Configure - System - then System information ... that will give you the Software Version
if you do not have that version it is very easy to update ...... Download it from the Garmin Website then copy the file to a SD Memory card, put the card in the unit and power the unit up and do the update ..... if you have any Waypoints it might be a good idea to save them before doing the update.
Old 05-06-2008, 09:02 PM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,732
Received 492 Likes on 325 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 540

Adding waypoints video .....

http://bluewaterpirate.phanfare.com/...ageID=39588299

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.