Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

adding sound to my video camera

Old 05-04-2008, 06:22 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 517
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default adding sound to my video camera

Just got a pair of speco cameras, one for the engine room and one to mount on the flybridge to catch the fishing action. I plan to run my video cable through a dvd recorder so I can "capture the moment" on video for my friends and I to view later. I'd like to figure a way to add sound. Any suggestions?
Old 05-04-2008, 06:25 AM
  #2  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saint Cloud, Fl
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: adding sound to my video camera

you would have to add some sort of microphone ..... which DVR do you have ...... would need to check the specs on it ....... check to see if it has inputs for the microphone
Most DVR's that I have seen never had audio
Old 05-04-2008, 06:42 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 517
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: adding sound to my video camera

don't have the DVR yet, I saw a thread here about someone running it that way so they had a permanent record. I'm not locked into any type of recording device. Ideally, something that would have several hours of recording time or "loops" after several hours so I can get several fights recorded before worring about changing the media.
As far as the audio. I figure there has to be a cost effective small directional mic that I could mount with the camera.
As you can tell, I have no experiance with this at all so any and all help would be appreciated!
Tom
Old 05-04-2008, 11:20 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Encino California
Posts: 1,145
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: adding sound to my video camera

Get a hold of a home security outfit they will set you up with a hard disk recorder /w sound
and dvd burner this is the way to go!

Bogii
Old 05-04-2008, 12:29 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 517
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: adding sound to my video camera

Thanks Bogii, I'll check into that!
Old 05-04-2008, 12:40 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ft. Pierce City Marina
Posts: 300
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: adding sound to my video camera

I bought a couple of mini-mics off of eBay. They operate on 12 volts, added some 'liquid tape" to the shrink connections. They are still working after 2 years. I do believe the mics were about $14.99 ea.
Old 05-04-2008, 07:30 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 517
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: adding sound to my video camera

Thank you Captn Hank! any idea the brand? Did you attach them along side your cameras?
Old 05-08-2008, 04:49 PM
  #8  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saint Cloud, Fl
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: adding sound to my video camera

Dedicated Micros, Samsung ........... are just a few manufactures of DVR's. I do know Dedicated Micros has a papriatary player you have to install to playback the video you burn off of there unit.
I do know the ones that the Police use in there cars run off of 12V's but those are very expensive.
I would stay away from a Time Lapse VCR and stay with a DVR since it records to a Hard Drive instead of tape. If you go with one that has a Burner attached to it you can copy the video off faster that way instead of networking your PC and trying to copy the video off with a laptop.
Depending on how many frames per second you record will depend on how much video you will record before it over writes itself.
When looking at the specs of te DVR you will want to make sure it has an RJ45 (Networking), Audio Inputs and depending on how many cameras you plan to hook up and consider an upgraded model if you decide to upgrade. You will also need to consider 110V if you run a generator on the water or a 12Vdc Model if you dont run a generator. Hope some the info helps
Old 05-08-2008, 05:46 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Annapolis
Posts: 1,929
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: adding sound to my video camera

Since everyone will be facing aft most of the time, I'm guessing you'll need a fairly directional mic at the transom to pick up everything said but minimize engine noise. You're not after production quality video, but it would be great if you had a camera back there too, maybe a very wide angle lens flush mounted in the transom.
Old 05-17-2008, 07:26 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brooklyn, N.Y. USA
Posts: 299
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: adding sound to my video camera

You might want to watch this video and read through the comments. I added some links to the equipment used for my boat.

http://www.noreast.com/multimedia/uservideo.cfm?v=232

Old 05-17-2008, 07:55 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,513
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: adding sound to my video camera

Bubbabert, I am doing an install of exactly what you want. 35' Cabo with 2 tuna tower cameras and one engine room. The cameras, kvh, and cable all route through a Sony DVD burner as well also to a Northstar and Garmin 5212. Should be finishing early this week and I will let you know how it is setup. I am also using the Speco cameras. They work great in and outdoors with low light also.
Old 05-18-2008, 08:05 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 432
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: adding sound to my video camera

Hi. I just did my house up with IR (infra red) color 1/3" color CCD (charged coupled device) cameras. They switch to black and white at night, but you can pretty much see in the dark. I also bought a DVR (digital video recorder)that has a 250GB hard drive and will record 4 cameras for 32 days before needing to be backed up (via USB connection to an external HD or just written over). I also made sure my DVR had audio inputs and a CD burner, so if I ever had to output a small section of the recording ( a few minutes or so) to bring to the police. I hope that never happens.

My cameras are obviously plugged in to transformers, so I can plug them in to 110 wall outlets, but they have 12V or 24V (depending on the camera) power transformers, so you could obviously hook them up to your boats 12V system. The DVD burner only has a 110V power cord, so you would have to get a power inverter OR plug it in to 110V if you have a big boat and plan on running a gas generator (probably not the best option).

I did LOTS of internet research before making my purchase and ended up buying my equipment from: Surveillance-video.com.
I found the salesman/phone tech. support people to be very helpful. They make systems for 1 to something like 64 cameras.

Now, I realize that I did a land (home) install, and you would be using it on a boat, so things like salt, vibration, power, etc. come in to play. You could probably look in to a "marine camera system" at West Marine or Boaters world, but like anything else "marine"......you'll probably pay a premium.

Back to your original question, you would need to buy a microphone from Radioshack (low end...that's the way I went) or another electronics supplier and run a cable to your DVR's audio input (make sure you buy a DVR that's audio capable). I asked the sales guy at surveillance-video.com if they could sell me a microphone or two, but they told me while they could legally sell me a video surveillence system, they were NOT allowed to sell microphones. I never looked into the legallity of that, so i'm unsure if it's a State or Federal Law.....or BS for that matter, i just went and bought the mics elsewhere.

Good luck with your project. -Tom

Old 05-18-2008, 08:25 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ft. Pierce City Marina
Posts: 300
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: adding sound to my video camera

Sorry for the late reply.... here is the link from ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/CCTV-High-gain-m...742.m153.l1262

I do have them mounted next to the cockpit camera.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.