Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 4208

Old 05-01-2008, 11:54 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 3,355
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Garmin 4208

can anyone give me pros and cons of the 4208? I need a color gps plotter and a sounder. I want to get a Garmin. I am looking at the 3210c and the 4212 as well.
Old 05-01-2008, 12:34 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pensacola Florida
Posts: 213
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4208

I have the 3210 with the GSD22 sounder, and Radar (GMR-18)
The entire system works very well for both inshore and off.
Old 05-01-2008, 01:23 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 523
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Garmin 4208

I have the 4208, it looses signals some times and I dont feel it to be as accurate as i was hoping it to be
Old 05-01-2008, 01:38 PM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location:
Posts: 94
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4208

I have a 4208 and have NEVER had it loose a signal yet. with the WAAS it is within 5' most of the time.
I have had several Garmin GPS over the years and I am completely satisfied with my 4208.

I would have your antenna or coax checked.
Old 05-01-2008, 01:51 PM
  #5  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 95
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4208

Long Point - 5/1/2008 3:38 PM

I have a 4208 and have NEVER had it loose a signal yet. with the WAAS it is within 5' most of the time.
I have had several Garmin GPS over the years and I am completely satisfied with my 4208.

I would have your antenna or coax checked.
I have a4208 as well and I agree with you 100% and I to have had several Garmin units.
Old 05-01-2008, 03:20 PM
  #6  
dmh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Westport, CT
Posts: 124
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4208

i had the 3210 for 2 months on an exchange for the 5212 when it was released last summer. I would 100% get the new 4000 or 5000 series. The touch screens have the easiest learning curve, but if price is important than the 4000 series will do just fine. I have mine hooked up to radar, xm, etc, just see my signiture. I could not be happier.
Old 05-02-2008, 08:05 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 458
Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4208

I have mine networked together and have never lost signal as well. Very happy with the units so far.

BTW: I believe Garmin is giving a $200 rebate on the vision card when purchased with a chartplotter until May 31st. Pretty good deal.
Old 05-02-2008, 08:19 AM
  #8  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4208

I am looking at the 4208 as well, and had some questions . . .

Can I use Mapsource to plan routes at home then upload them to the unit via an SD card?

Do the routes actually get uploaded to the unit, or does the unit only read the routes off of the inserted SD card? If the latter is the case, how do you handle it if you are already using the card slot for the G2 Vision card?

Can you download marked waypoints or routes FROM the chartplotter to the SD card, and then transfer these to your home PC?

Thanks in advance. I'm brand new to this forum, and I have to say that the wealth of good info is terrific!
Old 05-02-2008, 08:21 AM
  #9  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4208

cheapboxer - 5/2/2008 11:05 AM
BTW: I believe Garmin is giving a $200 rebate on the vision card when purchased with a chartplotter until May 31st. Pretty good deal.
I looked into that as well, but unfortunately, the offer is only good for the 400 and 500 series units, not the 4000 or 5000 series. I was bummed!
Old 05-02-2008, 03:16 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 458
Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4208

Your right! I missed a 0 in the title bar. Sorry for the confusion.
Old 05-04-2008, 08:21 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Annapolis
Posts: 1,929
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4208

I have a 4208 inside and a networked 3010C at the helm. I'm used to the older user interface, but I'm getting to like the features of the 4208, which is very heavily build, and keeps getting more and more capable with every firmware update. Having experienced both of them I now think I should have just bought new.
Old 05-04-2008, 06:11 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: S. Pasadena, FL
Posts: 293
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4208

Partner Ship - 5/2/2008 11:19 AM

I am looking at the 4208 as well, and had some questions . . .

Can I use Mapsource to plan routes at home then upload them to the unit via an SD card?

Do the routes actually get uploaded to the unit, or does the unit only read the routes off of the inserted SD card? If the latter is the case, how do you handle it if you are already using the card slot for the G2 Vision card?

Can you download marked waypoints or routes FROM the chartplotter to the SD card, and then transfer these to your home PC?

Thanks in advance. I'm brand new to this forum, and I have to say that the wealth of good info is terrific!
Let's see if I can help you out here....

1)Yes.
2)They are downloaded to the unit, via the transfer/merge from card feature. Simply remove the Vision card. Insert the SD card with the downloaded info, transfer to the unit. When done, replace the SD card with the Vision card.
3) Yes. Exactly the opposite of the info in #2, except you would transfer FROM unit.

Good Luck.
Old 05-05-2008, 07:34 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 29 Likes on 29 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4208

tommymo - 5/1/2008 4:23 PM

I have the 4208, it looses signals some times and I dont feel it to be as accurate as i was hoping it to be
I think you need to have someone look at your installation. It should not loose the signals and it should be accurate to within about ten feet.

Old 05-05-2008, 03:50 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Northeast
Posts: 474
Received 37 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4208

I just put the 4212 on my boat and love it. The xm radio and weather is great offshore. Haven't put that much time on the boat yet but no problems yet. The screen clarity is top notch.
Old 05-06-2008, 12:25 PM
  #15  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4208

if you've got a the 3210 C with the gmr 18 HD Radar, are you capable of pining an object and getting the lat. lon. ?
Old 05-07-2008, 03:29 PM
  #16  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4208

I just received my new 4208 today. Looking over the instruction manual, it advises keeping the GPS antenna 3 feet away from a VHF antenna. Is this really a problem? I was hoping to mount the GPS antenna right next to the base of my existing VHF antenna because of easy access for cabling. Will there be interference if i mount these close to eachother?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.