Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

XM radio volume problem with Garmin 4212

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

XM radio volume problem with Garmin 4212

Old 05-01-2008, 08:08 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 4,396
Received 129 Likes on 81 Posts
Default XM radio volume problem with Garmin 4212

I have activated my XM radio and weather. I also have Sirius radio running through the same Clarion CMD 5.

My problem is that when playing the XM, the volume level is only about 1/3 (lower) of that when playing Sirius.

The Sirius is connected directly to the Clarion from the Sirius Cnet receiver. The XM is plugged into two PCA jacts from the Garmin 30A.

Why is the volume level affected?
Old 05-01-2008, 08:55 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 6,188
Received 692 Likes on 429 Posts
Default Re: XM radio volume problem with Garmin 4212

the audio output from the gdl30a is lower. there is no way to adjust it w/the 3xxx series plotters...and i believe i heard someone say the 4xxx series and 5xxx series can't adjust it either, but am not 100% sure.

one solution is to add a pre-amp to headphone level adapter w/volume control in between the gdl30a and the stereo.

the other option is to live with it.

this isn't a new problem, people have been complaining about it for a while...it has nothing to do with your setup or non-garmin stuff.
Old 05-01-2008, 09:13 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 4,396
Received 129 Likes on 81 Posts
Default Re: XM radio volume problem with Garmin 4212

I am not looking to adjust the volume on the Garmin unit itself; it is the output volume (db) that decreases when changing from Sirius to XM. All the other inputs CD, radio, Ipod, all play as loud as the Sirius.

The volume db is different (for the XM and Sirius) I am able to change with the push of a button the input from satelitte (Sirius) to auxilary (XM) and there is a signifficant drop in db. The volume on the Clarion head unit is not modified.

Old 05-01-2008, 09:36 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 6,188
Received 692 Likes on 429 Posts
Default Re: XM radio volume problem with Garmin 4212

i know...i got it...the problem is that the garmin gdl30a puts the audio signal out at a lower level than everything else, which is why the volume is lower when you go to XM.

some of the garmin units are able to control this output level (which will correspond to controlling the volume)...the gdl30a (which is what you have) does not have this ability as far as i know...
Old 05-01-2008, 01:28 PM
  #5  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: XM radio volume problem with Garmin 4212

http://www.discountcarstereo.com/detail.aspx?ID=317
Old 05-02-2008, 05:58 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 4,396
Received 129 Likes on 81 Posts
Default Re: XM radio volume problem with Garmin 4212

thanks
Old 05-02-2008, 10:48 AM
  #7  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: XM radio volume problem with Garmin 4212

posted in wrong thread oops

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.