Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

LMF-400 and Yamaha and NMEA2000 Oil pres/temp

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

LMF-400 and Yamaha and NMEA2000 Oil pres/temp

Old 04-29-2008, 05:08 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,604
Likes: 0
Received 200 Likes on 134 Posts
Default LMF-400 and Yamaha and NMEA2000 Oil pres/temp

Got a customer that specifically wants to see water temp and oil pressure from his F250 Yamaha, any of you guys able to comfirm the EP-20 will get this data from a Yamaha?
Old 04-30-2008, 08:16 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 2,624
Received 21 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Re: LMF-400 and Yamaha and NMEA2000 Oil pres/temp

The only engine I *know* you can get that data from is the Suzuki 300. I have no experience with the Yamaha, but have never heard of this data coming from other engines. Also, I have never been able to find a Lowrance pressure sensor.

Ken
Old 04-30-2008, 04:30 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,604
Likes: 0
Received 200 Likes on 134 Posts
Default Re: LMF-400 and Yamaha and NMEA2000 Oil pres/temp

The pressure would come from the engine's sensors through the n2k interface, then onto the network. The customer said he found the info elsewhere and that it would work, and that he would report back to me to confirm once he gets it going.
Old 04-30-2008, 05:43 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fort Myers Beach, FL, USA
Posts: 3,434
Received 510 Likes on 326 Posts
Default RE: LMF-400 and Yamaha and NMEA2000 Oil pres/temp

The engine data is definitely on the NMEA2K network. I can display engine temp, oil pressure, boost pressure, RPM, fuel rate and engine hours on the LCX-112C.

Have not tried to configure the LMF-400 to display the parameters you indicate, as it can only display for one engine at a time, and not worth having to switch back and forth. It does a great job as a synchronizer, as well as other vessel parameters.

Brian
Old 04-30-2008, 06:49 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location:
Posts: 120
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: LMF-400 and Yamaha and NMEA2000 Oil pres/temp

Yes it will. I have a page set up for just those two readings. My motor is a 2006 F225.
Old 05-01-2008, 09:07 AM
  #6  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SC
Posts: 17,250
Received 1,349 Likes on 758 Posts
Default Re: LMF-400 and Yamaha and NMEA2000 Oil pres/temp

Defiant--Are you getting actual degrees and psi readings?
Old 05-01-2008, 04:45 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location:
Posts: 120
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: LMF-400 and Yamaha and NMEA2000 Oil pres/temp

Yes I am, it's a huge improvement over the analog gauges I used to have.
Old 05-01-2008, 06:10 PM
  #8  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SC
Posts: 17,250
Received 1,349 Likes on 758 Posts
Default Re: LMF-400 and Yamaha and NMEA2000 Oil pres/temp

My comand link gauges only give this info as bars on a graph..not very useful as the bars don't show a scale.

I wish Garmin would start offering this on the new 4xxx units.
Old 05-07-2008, 08:12 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,027
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: LMF-400 and Yamaha and NMEA2000 Oil pres/temp

my f150 gives oil press, fuel flow, Alt output, tach, hours, and temp via nmea on lmf-200. I assume the temp is water. Interestingly, the tach is usually 50-100 rpms higher than yami gauge. Hours are 1.5 higher on lmf than yami. I assume this is a little "dealer" time before delivery.
Old 05-08-2008, 12:03 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birch Bay / Sekiu
Posts: 1,098
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: LMF-400 and Yamaha and NMEA2000 Oil pres/temp

Sorry to highjack but, Can you have both the yamaha tach and the nmea connections at the same time or does it go through the same plug?
Old 05-08-2008, 06:17 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,027
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: LMF-400 and Yamaha and NMEA2000 Oil pres/temp

I have the yamaha non-nmea gauges (I forget the terminology) so the nmea cable to the lmf in no way affects the standard yamaha output. I think the command link gauges use the nmea out-put so a direct engine to nmea 2k link isn't possible, but I think the command link can output data to a nmea 2k network. If i'm wrong, i'm sure yacht jim will set me straight.
Old 11-03-2008, 06:53 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fort Myers Beach, FL, USA
Posts: 3,434
Received 510 Likes on 326 Posts
Default Re: LMF-400 and Yamaha and NMEA2000 Oil pres/temp

Rod@Serengeti - 11/3/2008 8:14 PM I've recently purchased the EP-20, and would like to get a hint where this cable plugs in on the F150 engine.
Look for a capped connector in the very bottom of the engine at the front. It is clipped into a bracket to hold it in place. It will fit the connector plug on the EP-20.

You will have to run the EP-20 cable through your rigging tube, or remove the rigging tube to do it. I cut the Lowrance connector off the inboard end, snaked the cable through therigging tube, then used the Maretron Field-Attachable Connector. Did it on both engines.

Brian

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.