Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

what to do, how do i interpurt this on my finder?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

what to do, how do i interpurt this on my finder?

Old 04-28-2008, 05:08 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 523
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default what to do, how do i interpurt this on my finder?

I have this furno fish finder and i dont know if my crazy or not, but at the top of the screen the disply is showing dark clouds and then clears when i get tward the bottom where i see white and then what is the bottom. I have had other fish finders and never saw this before. it seems to fluctuate in the top 10 % of the screen. I dont think its fish because then i was all over them every where i went and didnt catch anything. All my settings are sett to normal gain =0 etc. I supplied a link which shows what my display is showing.

http://www.gotyatackle.com/store/images/FishMark480.jpg
Old 04-28-2008, 05:10 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Danvers, Ma
Posts: 345
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: what to do, how do i interpurt this on my finder?

Looks like fish. Is it possible its in simulator mode?..Artie
Old 04-28-2008, 05:14 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 523
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: what to do, how do i interpurt this on my finder?

no it is not in simulator mode
Old 04-28-2008, 05:34 PM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: what to do, how do i interpurt this on my finder?

Just looks like surface clutter.
Old 04-28-2008, 05:35 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 3,390
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: what to do, how do i interpurt this on my finder?

Its not a furuno either.
Old 04-28-2008, 05:59 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 16,428
Received 991 Likes on 766 Posts
Default Re: what to do, how do i interpurt this on my finder?

I'm a little concerned that I actually clicked on a link that says gotyatackle.com . It may be a good time to run an A/V scan. The question just seems a little trolling suspicious, especially in light of the mis-I.D of his own F/F. My apologies if wrong.

Old 04-28-2008, 06:27 PM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: what to do, how do i interpurt this on my finder?

TTaxi - 4/28/2008 8:59 PM

I'm a little concerned that I actually clicked on a link that says gotyatackle.com . It may be a good time to run an A/V scan. The question just seems a little trolling suspicious, especially in light of the mis-I.D of his own F/F. My apologies if wrong.
http://www.alexa.com/data/details/main/gotyatackle.com

Old 04-29-2008, 04:24 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,140
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: what to do, how do i interpurt this on my finder?

It's surface clutter for sure. Try playing with your gain to see if it goes away.
Old 04-29-2008, 06:29 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 523
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: what to do, how do i interpurt this on my finder?

Im sorry about any concerns with regards to the link and not knowing my own equipment, I just bought the boat and it was late last night and didn't feel like going to the basement to actually get the FF and look up the name and model. I'm more concerned about the actually display, the gain is set to 0 and when I played with it and made it -5 i saw nothing i slowly increased it to see if i could resolve what looks like noise but to no avail. Once again I apologize for my ignorance with regards to the link, being a SQL programmer I am fully aware of the hazards of message boards and malicious links.....sorry
Old 04-29-2008, 11:40 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 761
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default Re: what to do, how do i interpurt this on my finder?

The fishfinder is just a demo picture of the unit with a simulated echo. Look at the photo itself: perfect edges with no background, no lighting or focus issues, perfectly straight.

If that isn't enough, check out this link, which is to the gotyatackle website:
http://www.gotyatackle.com/store/product.asp?ID=1130

Funny that the owner of Boater's World and many other websites are having the exact same problem:
http://www.boatersworld.com/product/319392569.htm
http://www.marine-electronics-unlimi...hMark+480.html
Old 04-29-2008, 11:52 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,720
Received 489 Likes on 323 Posts
Default Re: what to do, how do i interpurt this on my finder?

Here you go Furuno 620 in action underway.

1st video settings full Manual Control ......notice the lack of surface clutter

http://www.bluewaterpirate.phanfare....ageID=30822400

2nd video setting full Auto Modenotice the surface clutter

http://www.bluewaterpirate.phanfare....ageID=19246344

http://www.bluewaterpirate.phanfare....ageID=19246342
Old 04-29-2008, 01:03 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 523
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: what to do, how do i interpurt this on my finder?

bluewaterpirate - 4/29/2008 11:52 AM



Here you go Furuno 620 in action underway.

1st video settings full Manual Control ......notice the lack of surface clutter

http://www.bluewaterpirate.phanfare....ageID=30822400

2nd video setting full Auto Mode notice the surface clutter

http://www.bluewaterpirate.phanfare....ageID=19246344

http://www.bluewaterpirate.phanfare....ageID=19246342

so what settings did you play with? I tried playing with the gain to no avail? My depth is set to auto?
Old 04-29-2008, 01:26 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,720
Received 489 Likes on 323 Posts
Default Re: what to do, how do i interpurt this on my finder?

What Furuno unit do you have?
Old 04-29-2008, 08:32 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 16,428
Received 991 Likes on 766 Posts
Default Re: what to do, how do i interpurt this on my finder?

Go into the menu and find sonar setup then look for surface clutter control. You should be able to set the value to reduce or eliminate most of that surface clutter displayed but you also won't see any near-surface fish (or weed,etc) returns in that upper sector. Many not-high-end transducers have what Airmar calls a high "Q" factor which is undesirable residual "ringing" after each intentional ping. That ringing interferes with the returning signal near the transducer and shows as unwanted surface clutter on the display. Surface clutter will be most evident when the boat is in shallow water or the F/F is set on shallow range and should be less-annoying as you get deeper and that cluttered upper water column sector becomes a smaller percentage of the range displayed.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.