Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Garmin Product Support Sends Me for a Loop

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin Product Support Sends Me for a Loop

Old 04-28-2008, 10:56 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Narragansett Bay, Mass
Posts: 78
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Garmin Product Support Sends Me for a Loop

I had a question concerning the power connections for a Garmin 4208 with Radar and sounder. I figured that Id call the Garmin Product Support phone line. The product support specialist told me Garmin recommends that the radar be connected to a separate battery. Nowhere in the installation instructions does it say that.

I have already pulled a pair of #8 marine grade wires back to the accessory battery and installed a pair of buss bars up under the dash. My plan was to make all my connections at the buss bars. I really just wanted to know if a 30 amp fuse installed at the battery post would be adequate, because I cant find an in-line fuse thats rated over 30 amps.

My boat already has three batteries, one for each motor and one accessory. The last thing I want to do is find room for a fourth battery.

What do you guys think?
Old 04-28-2008, 11:05 AM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 41
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Garmin Product Support Sends Me for a Loop

You don't need a dedicated battery for your Garmin Radar. The power cable on the Garmin Radar comes with a inline fuse.
Good luck
Old 04-28-2008, 12:22 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 29 Likes on 29 Posts
Default Re: Garmin Product Support Sends Me for a Loop

You'll be fine connecting your radar to what you call your " accessory battery". Connecting radars, chart plotters, etc. to a starting battery often causes problems when the voltage drops as the engines are started. This is probably what the tech support person was trying to tell you.

You pulled a pair of # 8 wires from the battery to the dash? One positive and one negative ?

The fuse should be sized to protect the wire. The wire should be sized to the expected load.
Old 04-28-2008, 05:18 PM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Narragansett Bay, Mass
Posts: 78
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Garmin Product Support Sends Me for a Loop

Yes, I pulled one positive and one negative. The total run is about 40 feet, so I wanted to oversize the wire to reduce line loss. Im using a 30 amp in-line fuse because I cant find a 40 amp in line unit.
Old 04-28-2008, 05:23 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Port St. Lucie
Posts: 1,289
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: Garmin Product Support Sends Me for a Loop

How about a resettable breaker?

Old 04-28-2008, 05:36 PM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Narragansett Bay, Mass
Posts: 78
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Garmin Product Support Sends Me for a Loop

Thanks. I'll look for on-line suppliers.
Old 04-28-2008, 05:47 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Port St. Lucie
Posts: 1,289
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: Garmin Product Support Sends Me for a Loop

http://www.go2marine.com/product.do?no=115471F
http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/st...cmCat=10003604

I got mine at Lewis Marine in Stuart FL. Your local Marine parts store should be able to get.
Old 04-28-2008, 05:53 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 29 Likes on 29 Posts
Default Re: Garmin Product Support Sends Me for a Loop

cindys diamond - 4/28/2008 8:36 PM

Thanks. I'll look for on-line suppliers.
If you can use a surface mounted fuse and holder you can get a 40 amp fuse.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.