Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine losing position?

Old 04-28-2008, 09:58 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,069
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Raymarine losing position?

New E-120 system that was installed in October of 2007.

Coming back in from offshore in heavy seas. The Ray system on the E120 sounds a beeping alarm and a meggage on the screen comes up and says something like "position lost"?

My Simrad auto pilot gave me no alarm and stay the course. (We were running on the Simrad pilot.)

I was running on a GOTO waypoint on the Ray system and my autopilot was in control.

The reading on the Ray screen as far as boats position goes to a undetermined position: --h -- m --s but it still shows the "distance to destination" as so many miles. ....Like 13.2 Nm to destination and a bearing.

The two times this happened, I came off plane and restarted the GOTO (my waypoint) on the Ray unit and no more alarms or nothing for many miles. ?????

I'm assuming that I may have a developing issue with my Ray GPS antenna. Otherwise, I'm assuming that the military aircraft were jamming my GPS position as a part of their control over GPS satelites signals.

I'm not at all sure that this is a military jamming thing becase my Garmin 478 that sits as a backup GPS on my console never lost my fixed position.

What might be going on with my Ray E 120 system and the GPS sensor?

Never in 100 previous hours have I had this happen.



Old 04-28-2008, 11:00 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 900
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine losing position?

Sounds like your connector on the back of the E120 from the GPS antenna may be loose. You did not state if it is hooked up via Seatalk or NMEA. I would remove the connector and reinstall to make sure it is tight.

Nick
Old 04-28-2008, 01:29 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 1,640
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Raymarine losing position?

Since you stated it lost the signal in "heavy seas" I would suspect a loose conection somewhere.
Old 04-28-2008, 04:30 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Edgewater, NJ
Posts: 4,759
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: Raymarine losing position?

My C-70 seatlka nd seatalk2 come loose once in a while.

I wish they made it like the NMEA connectors.
Old 04-28-2008, 04:49 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 432
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine losing position?

I get "lost DSM (depth sounder module) communication"....or something to that effect on my 2006 purchased C80 screen every so often. Reseating the connectors (with power off of course) seems to help. I plan on putting a small amount of dielectric grease on each to the connector pins, but haven't gotten around to it yet.

BTW, have any of you guys used 2 gig Compact Flash (CF) cards to upgrade the firmware on your Raymarine C or E series displays. I went to Radioshack and spent like $60 bucks on a 2 gig CF card and a USB reader/burner, only to get home and find out the Raymarine site suggests using a 32 or 64 MB card. Are they kidding me? ........I ended up ordering a 64MB card on Ebay for around $15 bucks, as they only seem to sell 1gig, 2gig or larger CF cards at electronics stores i've gone to. My wife can use the 2 gig card for her digital camera, so it's not a total loss, but it's frustrating. Sorry for the rant. -Tom

________________________________________________
05 Albemarle 248XF
Old 04-28-2008, 05:10 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plantation
Posts: 163
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine losing position?

DogTired I had the same issue on my A65. It was happening because I was going under a certain voltage. I resolved that by seperating electronics to it's own battery.
Old 04-29-2008, 08:07 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,069
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Raymarine losing position?

The GPS communicates via seatalk. I'll check and re-seat the connector.

All of the electronics are powered from a dedicated AGM house battery that is hooked to both OB engines via dual VSR's so this is likely not a voltage retated issue. Also, all batteries (that are six monts old) were charged via on board three stage charger before leaving the dock that morning.

(I really don't think voltage is an issue here because of the above and that all of the other functions including the finder continued to function OK.)

Old 04-29-2008, 08:17 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 761
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default Re: Raymarine losing position?

Goin' Deep -

I've foud that the brand of card is more important than the size. San Disk cards seem to work best, and if you do a search in this forum, you'll find a few threads of people discussing which cards have worked for them.
Old 04-30-2008, 01:01 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,640
Received 92 Likes on 68 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine losing position?

Otherwise, I'm assuming that the military aircraft were jamming my GPS position as a part of their control over GPS satelites signals.

I'm not at all sure that this is a military jamming thing becase my Garmin 478 that sits as a backup GPS on my console never lost my fixed position.
Military aircraft jamming GPS!!!!!!!!! Come get over the excuses, what an absolute load of garbage.
Old 04-30-2008, 02:20 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine losing position?

I'd recommend you do a Google on "GPS Jamming" or "military GPS jamming" and see what's out there. I can neither confirm nor deny the statement that some of our military ships and aircraft have the capability to jam GPS signals over an area of unspecified size.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.