Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

garmin 4208 + GSD22, will it output depth on N2K?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

garmin 4208 + GSD22, will it output depth on N2K?

Old 04-27-2008, 08:16 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location:
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default garmin 4208 + GSD22, will it output depth on N2K?

Hi all. I have a lowrance digital display lmf-200 for fuel flow monitoring. If I get the 4208 + GSD22 and hook the 4208 to my n2k network, can I get depth data to display on the lmf-200?

Also is the GPS that comes with the 4208 N2k or NMEA 0183?

THANKS!
Old 04-28-2008, 04:47 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,611
Likes: 0
Received 203 Likes on 136 Posts
Default Re: garmin 4208 + GSD22, will it output depth on N2K?

I don't think it puts depth on the network.
Old 04-28-2008, 06:24 AM
  #3  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Libertalia
Posts: 17,432
Received 1,409 Likes on 796 Posts
Default Re: garmin 4208 + GSD22, will it output depth on N2K?

I understand the 4208 will xmit and recieve NMEA2k and 0183 data.

My 3010c will output depth time and water temp temp via 0183;the 4208won't transmit that?
Old 04-28-2008, 08:56 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: garmin 4208 + GSD22, will it output depth on N2K?

I just got a gmi-10 for a numeric repeater, and in its n2k guide it looks like the 4/5000's will now do more on their n2k once the 3.10 update has been done to the unit as the depth pgn is listed (doesn't delineate whether it is transmit, receive, or both). I'll be intsalling this week and using next weekend and I will report back.
Old 04-28-2008, 11:46 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,611
Likes: 0
Received 203 Likes on 136 Posts
Default Re: garmin 4208 + GSD22, will it output depth on N2K?

I have a GMI10, 5215 and Maretron DSM250 connected via N2K and depth from the Garmin unit won't go to the others, but it is in simulator mode.
Old 04-28-2008, 12:05 PM
  #6  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Libertalia
Posts: 17,432
Received 1,409 Likes on 796 Posts
Default Re: garmin 4208 + GSD22, will it output depth on N2K?

Is there a nmea 2k setup (like there is for nmea 0183) that might turn on (or off) sentences that would broadcast that info?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.