Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

fishfinder power output?

Old 04-23-2008, 08:55 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 95
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fishfinder power output?

does higher power output meen better fishfinder. dont know much about but i know more power the deeper. but better readings?
Old 04-24-2008, 05:34 AM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: A Fjord of Norway
Posts: 50
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: fishfinder power output?

Generally: yes it does. But if you have a 600w transom mount it could not be fed with 1kw of power. This power will destroy the transducer. Power output must be in relation to your transducer in use.

If you purchase a larger transducer, say a 1kw transducer and if you where using a 600w earlier you will then have approx. a 20 times better transducer for your sonar. But its only possible if the sonar has the capability to change the power output (from 600W to 1kW).

Your reading will be less noisy. your useful depth will be at least tripled and you will receive much more details in the picture (of bottom/type of bottoms, fish-tracking. shoals of fishes/baitfish, wreck findings, Thermoclines etc..)

Old 04-24-2008, 05:02 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Winston Salem, N.C.
Posts: 372
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: fishfinder power output?

papacoolbreeze - 4/23/2008 8:55 PM

does higher power output meen better fishfinder. dont know much about but i know more power the deeper. but better readings?
Depends on if you're fishing deep or shallow. Hi power units are great but if you fish mostly shallow water, lakes etc. You're better off with a lower powered unit.
Old 04-24-2008, 07:03 PM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 95
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: fishfinder power output?

im fishing shallower water, but will a lower power unit be able to make as clear pictures as the higher power units (clear as in more fish, bait, bottom,structure,ect)?
Old 04-25-2008, 07:12 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Winston Salem, N.C.
Posts: 372
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: fishfinder power output?

papacoolbreeze - 4/24/2008 7:03 PM

im fishing shallower water, but will a lower power unit be able to make as clear pictures as the higher power units (clear as in more fish, bait, bottom,structure,ect)?
Yes and more than likely it will show bottom better meaning you won't loose it when you're in 3-4' feet of water. Hi power units don't like to read real shallow waters, below 3'. At least the ones I've had were that way.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.