Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine E120 Problem

Old 04-21-2008, 02:42 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 507
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Raymarine E120 Problem

I have an E120 on my boat and have really liked it. The last time I went offshore, and again yesterday the temperature gauge showed 200 degree farenheidt. The temperature guage seems to be working as it will change and register a differing temp in celsius or farenheidt.

Any Raymarine experts got any idea what might cause this/fix it. Do I need to reset the unit or is there a calibration screen that I don't see, bad transducer?? Speed and other things seem to be fine.
Old 04-22-2008, 02:33 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E120 Problem

Your sensor is fried. I've recently had to replace mine. Any voltage spikes can kill one of them pretty quickly. Contact Raymarine Tech support/warranty and see if they'll replace it for you.
Old 04-22-2008, 05:49 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Waterford,CT
Posts: 926
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E120 Problem

What model ducer/temp sensor is it?
Old 04-22-2008, 06:37 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 507
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E120 Problem

tpp517 - 4/22/2008 5:49 AM

What model ducer/temp sensor is it?
I'm not sure. Will have to check at lunch. Boat is 06' so gear is 06.
Old 04-22-2008, 06:44 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 507
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E120 Problem

marinerjoe - 4/22/2008 2:33 AM

Your sensor is fried. I've recently had to replace mine. Any voltage spikes can kill one of them pretty quickly. Contact Raymarine Tech support/warranty and see if they'll replace it for you.
Joe, any idea what the sensor may run if not covered?? Thanks
Old 04-22-2008, 06:26 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 1,338
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Raymarine E120 Problem

What kind of transducer do you have?
Old 04-23-2008, 02:27 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E120 Problem

Lil 2 Sleepy,
Looking around, it appears that the plastic transducer can be had for about $200, and the bronze one at around $240. I'd check Jim at BOE Marine (a THT sponsor) to see what he can do. That's for the ST800 speed/temp thru-hull transducer.
Joe
Old 04-23-2008, 06:17 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 507
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E120 Problem

marinerjoe - 4/23/2008 2:27 AM

Lil 2 Sleepy,
Looking around, it appears that the plastic transducer can be had for about $200, and the bronze one at around $240. I'd check Jim at BOE Marine (a THT sponsor) to see what he can do. That's for the ST800 speed/temp thru-hull transducer.
Joe
Thanks Joe.. That is what I was thinking that was the price point.. I wasn't able to take a look yesterday at the model, but I checked out the warranty for Raymarine, and it should be covered. My dealer can do onsite work to replace I believe.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.