Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 4200 Series

Old 04-19-2008, 06:59 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Isle of Palms, SC
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Garmin 4200 Series

Thinking about buying a 4208 Bundle. Anyone have any feedback?

Thanks!
Old 04-20-2008, 03:41 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 458
Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4200 Series

I just installed mine networked to a second station. Purchased the g2 vision card, sonar, and hd radar as well. I was limited in space to the 8 inch screen. I was playing with the unit yesterday and the auto guide feature had everyone at the dock wanting to upgrade. Nice feature. I was concerned about interference with other electronics (2 VHF w 2 antennas, am/fm radio + antenna, kvh electronic compass, sonar) but the only minor issue is when I have both sonar's running. There are very slight vertical lines that can be ignored. I plan on having the radar hooked up next week. The screen is very clear even in direct sunlight of the second station. The GPS portion was running about 5 degrees off from my KVH 1000 and autopilot but that may have been due to my slow speed. I was only doing about 7kts. No complaints so far.
Old 04-21-2008, 07:32 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Gulf Coast, FL
Posts: 648
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4200 Series

I have a 4212 and love it. I give it 9.5/10. If you can fit the bigger screen 4210 or 4212, go for it!
Old 04-21-2008, 08:47 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Annapolis
Posts: 1,929
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4200 Series

I went with the 4208 bundle, interfaced with a Garmin 3010C over the network, Radar, KVH fluxgate, XM Weather and audio, AIS, VHF and Seatalk through the Raymarine ST/PC/nmea interface. I'm using a Brookhouse MUX, and the whole rat's nest gets organized in a PAS-thru box. I'm in the middle of squeezing these treasures into a small area nea my Nav station, but everything worked great on the dining room table! Without trying to bring in the Raymarine instruments or the PC, it could have been a virtual piece of cake, nearly plug and play.
Old 04-27-2008, 12:03 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location:
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4200 Series

Question for you all Garmin Bundle users. How does it perform in salt water?

When I purchased my boat it came with a lowance gps/FF unit that works ok. I have owned a portable Garmin GPSmap270 unit for a while and love the user friendly feature that the unit has to offer. I am looking into upgrading and purchasing an all in one unit (GPS, RADAR, FF) for my boat now. I haven't really found much information from Garmin users about how the unit's FF performs in saltwater. Everyone always raves about how the Lowrance and Furuno units perform.... If you have a Garmin FF unit, can you please give me some feedback on how the garmin does in the salt?
Old 04-27-2008, 12:51 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Posts: 2,153
Received 893 Likes on 391 Posts
Default RE: Garmin 4200 Series

I have a 4208 for sale (non-bundle) which is New In the Box for the unbelievably low price of $1575 includes shipping OBO if anyone is interested.
Old 04-27-2008, 04:26 PM
  #7  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: N.J. USA
Posts: 855
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4200 Series

Kendall , you just paid me $1250.00 for that unit less then 1 month ago--That was a great price! What happened, did the unit not fit?? Took a beating on that.
Old 04-27-2008, 04:30 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 4200 Series

kanco - 4/27/2008 3:03 PM

Question for you all Garmin Bundle users. How does it perform in salt water?
You're supposed to keep it out of the water, salt or not.

Seriously they all work fine in salt or fresh (or brackish) water.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.