Notices

Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

Old 03-30-2008, 01:20 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location:
Posts: 39
Default Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

Do you think its over kill to put a nav net 3d suite(12.1" Display, 6kw radar, GPS, Digital Sounder and Transducer) on a 22' CC?
thanks
mrhoward is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 01:57 PM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 42
Default RE: Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

Might be a little much, but I have a Garmin network system with a 12-inch display, 8-inch display, 4kw radar, black box sounder, Sirius weather/radio, Uniden UM525, and a Raymarine S1000 on a 25-foot boat.

You can check out the reviews I have posted on some of this gear at:

http://www.marine-electronics-reviews.com

Have fun picking all the toys.
ElectronicsGuy is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 06:16 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent Narrows, MD
Posts: 7,092
Default Re: Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

If you have the space and the budget it would be a mistake not to install them

Elusive is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 06:33 PM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location:
Posts: 37
Default Re: Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

how far can 22' cc go? with 6kw radar is too much?
seafox256c is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 08:38 PM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location:
Posts: 39
Default Re: Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

seafox256c - 3/30/2008 7:33 PM

how far can 22' cc go? with 6kw radar is too much?
actually its a cat some here say they go up to 30 miles out ...me personally only up to 3 miles out "at the moment". As far as radar after talking to several people I was informed the best "bird" radar is 6kw 4' or 6' open array with <1.9 degrees of Horizontal beamwidth (dHB). I looked at the 4kw 3.5' open array with a 2.3 dHB and it is only a $300 cheaper than the 6kw unit with 1.9 dHB so by spending $300 more I get a much more powerful radar unit(6kw vs 4kw) with much better target separation 1.9 vs 2.3 dHB). I think only a fool would not to spend the extra $300 when you are already investing thousands in the system
mrhoward is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 09:00 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Darwin NT, Australia
Posts: 1,003
Default Re: Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

Go for it if you can. As much as I like Furuno I ended up going with Garmin in my new Trophy 2103 mostly because of price. This includes:

12" 5012 MFD
Network sounder with thru hull transducer
4kw dome radar
TR-1 autopilot

Also thinking about a 8" 5008 MFD to be networked to the 5012.

Topend is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 09:37 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 14,089
Default Re: Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

Just make sure your alternators put out enough juice at idle & low speeds to overcome the power drain of the 6KW radar and all other loads and/or have good battery banks .
TTaxi is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 05:38 AM
  #8  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location:
Posts: 39
Default Re: Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

TTaxi - 3/30/2008 10:37 PM

Just make sure your alternators put out enough juice at idle & low speeds to overcome the power drain of the 6KW radar and all other loads and/or have good battery banks .
Though I don't anticipate using it much at low speeds/idle thats a good point the alternators are 40 amp each so if necessary maybe have another battery dedicated to powering this with a solar panel for continuous charging. You have any other ideas?
mrhoward is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 09:21 AM
  #9  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location:
Posts: 39
Default RE: Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

I just talked to the guys at Furuno and was told the max draw for the entire suite is 25 amps with average about 12 amps and suzuki says that I should have 40 amps available at idle......
mrhoward is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 01:08 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 14,089
Default Re: Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

You are probably OK. That sounds like you will likely need to run with both engines alternators charging the electronics battery(-ies) to combine the 20amp/engine low speed output . Most people like to keep separate charge circuits to ensure engine starting and isolate the electronics avoiding electronics-damaging voltage drops. Don't forget, especially at night, the NN3 would not be your only load ( lights , vhf, bilge pump, live-well pump?, stereo?, etc.) . No electrical expert here, just giving you some things to consider.

How big is the open array for that 6KW radar- 48" and maybe as much as 60lbs or more for pedestal and array? That may be a lot of weight and leverage on your T-top while banging through seas in a 22. Don't expect to see anything at 64NM as your horizon will be what , 8nm or so with the array so low? Still, 6KW should definitely see birds for fishing a lot better than 4KW and that can be pretty slick. . It does seem like a bit of overkill , but if you determine its feasible and affordable including installation & setup and you have room for the display, why the heck not?
TTaxi is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 02:16 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Darwin NT, Australia
Posts: 1,003
Default Re: Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

I mostly use my radar for close range but the extra power and range will also be handy for tracking storms too.
Topend is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 02:24 PM
  #12  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location:
Posts: 37
Default Re: Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

like what ttaxi said. 22' boat can handle 3,5 f seas ? If you're looking for tuna , you must go out over 15 miles.
seafox256c is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 07:53 PM
  #13  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location:
Posts: 39
Default Re: Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

TTaxi - 3/31/2008 2:08 PM

You are probably OK. That sounds like you will likely need to run with both engines alternators charging the electronics battery(-ies) to combine the 20amp/engine low speed output . Most people like to keep separate charge circuits to ensure engine starting and isolate the electronics avoiding electronics-damaging voltage drops. Don't forget, especially at night, the NN3 would not be your only load ( lights , vhf, bilge pump, live-well pump?, stereo?, etc.) . No electrical expert here, just giving you some things to consider.

How big is the open array for that 6KW radar- 48" and maybe as much as 60lbs or more for pedestal and array? That may be a lot of weight and leverage on your T-top while banging through seas in a 22. Don't expect to see anything at 64NM as your horizon will be what , 8nm or so with the array so low? Still, 6KW should definitely see birds for fishing a lot better than 4KW and that can be pretty slick. . It does seem like a bit of overkill , but if you determine its feasible and affordable including installation & setup and you have room for the display, why the heck not?
thanks I really appreciate your insight I do dabble but would not dare with this system. I will ask a few more questions of the installer. I didn't even think of the weight thing but I did look into it the unit is @70lbs. . In one of my prior conversations with the installer I was told that if its not enough metal support under the canvas ttop they weld in a metal plate.... now I know why.... I think the height will give me at least 12nm in all directions when the birds are 40' over the surface which is enough for me...
mrhoward is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 09:33 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 14,089
Default Re: Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

The concern is not just for the mounting plate under the canvas but for the lower mounting for the whole t-top as well. If it looks like it might need it, you might consider add'l backing at the lower mounts. I've seen the console on a 22'CC get ripped off in "unexpected" heavy seas, with just a small t-top but no radar array to help the process. I wasn't onboard but I did rebuild much stronger & reinstall so I can at least attest to how wimpily the CC on Sisu 22's were secured.

As you say the surprisingly miniscule cost diff between 4KW & 6KW makes it really tough to consider less than the "bird radar" IF the other factors look doable.

Going offshore in a small boat is not a bad thing as long as you have a capable, well-maintained boat & motor, all the proper offshore equipment & spares , really do your homework and pick your day MUCH more carefully than someone in bigger boat would need to. I went out for tuna up to 60nm offshore 8-10 times a season for 10yrs in my old 23' Sea Craft, often solo, with no probs that were not self-fixable. Been out tuna fishing nearly 40nm off with my nephew in his 21' Contender with nary a qualm and even had dolphins repeatedly return to the bow to actually be petted that day, a great memory. Just don't turn your back on that nice Mother Nature though or she will try to whack you upside the haid.
TTaxi is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 03:12 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: marblehead
Posts: 2,350
Default Re: Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

You know your going to get a bigger boat soon and then transfer everything to the next boat. I did.
Ethan is offline  
Old 04-02-2008, 06:23 AM
  #16  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 35
Default Re: Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

I agree with the other posters that a 60 pound array may be too much for the t-top on a 22'. What about a 4 Kw dome? You would be looking at a 16 pound unit vs. the 60 pounds for the array. The downside is that you lose the ability to see birds on the radar. With a 22' boat, you sometimes have to make compromises.

Have you asked the boat manufacturer what they think of installing an array on their t-top?
scottg is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 07:15 AM
  #17  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location:
Posts: 39
Default RE: Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

I just got a "official navnet 3d" brochure and it says that the 3.5' and 4' open array each weigh 22kg(48.5lbs) and the 6' open array is 25kg(55lbs). FYI the 24" Radome weighs 7kg (15.4lbs)
mrhoward is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 07:45 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 5,599
Default Re: Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

The otherr issue w/ a 5'-6' open array on a smaller t-top is just the physical space available for your other antennas (vhf, GPS, etc). You can get radar mounts w/ built in antenna mounts included, but just make sure you have the real-estate up there for it.

70 lbs is a decent amount of weight up there on a smaller boat - can also effect roll tendancy. Maybe put some weight up there to simulate the load and see if it causes any issues.
kitebuz is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 06:23 PM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 14,089
Default RE: Nav Net 3d suite on a 22' Boat?

Does the 48.5lbs include the pedestal for the open array? For some reason the mfgrs sometimes list those weights separately. Nearly 50lbs is still a bit hefty for that top. But only you know how your boat rides/impacts in worst-case seas. Any VHF -type antennas up there it may have to clear as they whip around?
TTaxi is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread