Notices

Loran C Available...

Closed Thread

Old 06-27-2003, 12:24 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 15
Default Loran C Available...

I rather sell my Raynav 570 Loran-C Navigator to someone on this board who can use it rahter than send it in to Garmin. If interested respond to this post.

Slider1
Slider1 is offline  
Old 06-27-2003, 04:19 PM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: chesapeake,va
Posts: 41
Default Loran C Available...

I am looking for aloran ? What are you asking for it thanks taz Lancaster
firetazfire is offline  
Old 06-27-2003, 05:02 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Eastern North Carolina
Posts: 677
Default Loran C Available...

I may be interrested as well...

email in my profile.
Everready is offline  
Old 06-29-2003, 02:56 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 15
Default Loran C Available...

I have a Raytheon Raynav 570 Loran-C Navigator. This includes the loran, the mounting bracket, antenna, coupler, manual, and original shipping box. I've never turned it on, the original owner raved about it. It came on a used Dusky I bought. I'll sell it for $100, that is what Garmin will give me for it. If interested email me at [email protected] email.msn.com
Slider1 is offline  
Old 06-29-2003, 03:48 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,161
Default Loran C Available...

Hey Slider,

Give me a shout. I'm on Dauphin Island.
(251) 861-4414

Shawnodese 19' Cape Horn 200 Suzy
capt_dalton is offline  
Old 06-29-2003, 05:43 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Eastern North Carolina
Posts: 677
Default Loran C Available...

slider... You got mail.

Everready is offline  
Old 07-03-2003, 03:21 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,161
Default Loran C Available...

Sorry Fellas,

I unistalled it today and brought it home. Nice unit. Chuck has a really nice boat to boot. A 20' 1986 Dusky Cuddy. Yellow. Not a real common boat around here. By the way. If he ever decides to sell that, I've got first dibbs..

Thanks Chuck!

Y'all have a great 4th.

Shawnodese 19' Cape Horn 200 Suzy
capt_dalton is offline  
Old 07-03-2003, 04:21 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Eastern North Carolina
Posts: 677
Default Loran C Available...

Enjoy it Capain D!
Sounds like a great unit.

I figured it had gone to someone else when slider wouldn't respond to my email.

Oh well, I'll find one someday...

Everready is offline  
Old 07-03-2003, 05:09 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Englewood, FL
Posts: 637
Default Loran C Available...

Capt D

I had one of those units for 10+ years and it worked great for that time.
That unit was very very acurate too and so easy to use but like all electronics they get "easy to use" after you have had it awhile.

If I remember right there was some information missing in the manual that will drive you buggy until you change a switch.
By "switch" I mean switching a mode off by keystrokes.
It seems that Raytheon forgot to include some info that you have to do if you are going to use the unit in TD's.
The unit comes from the factory to use in LL and I had to call Raytheon to get it to work correctly in TD's.....drove me nuts for awhile.
Maybe the previous owner already had done it for you??????
Good luck and enjoy.


.............Booby
Booby Trap is offline  
Old 07-04-2003, 07:33 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,161
Default Loran C Available...

The owner before Chuck must have done it. We fired it up on Chuck's boat in his back yard. It was the first time it was turned on since he bought the boat in Jacksonville, Fl and brought it back to Alabama. I had to put the approximate Lat & Lon in and it automatically picked up the correct GRI chain, primary and secondary station lickeity split. The unit looks new. The screen is crystal clear. The key pad isn't indented anywhere, the colors aren't faded. Whoever Chuck bought that boat from took exceptional care of it. (The boat, all electronics, all wiring very nicely routed, all holes filled with silicone, all wiring connectors soldered.)

I can't believe I'm all giddy over a piece of 1986 electronics.

Shawnodese 19' Cape Horn 200 Suzy
capt_dalton is offline  
Old 07-04-2003, 07:40 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hammond, LA
Posts: 17,402
Default Loran C Available...

capt_dalton, etc

just curious- what's better about the loran than a new gps?

Pacific 19CC, Yamaha F100
cgrand is offline  
Old 07-04-2003, 08:22 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,161
Default Loran C Available...

Well, I have acquired about 50 numbers that are in TD's (loran time differentials) not lat and lon (GPS). So, I'll use the loran to go to the spots and mark them with my GPS. Also, it will be nice to have two forms of electronic navigation. There are programs out there that are supposed to translate between TDs and Lat lon, but I have yet to find one that works worth a flip. Even my Garmin 182 will allow you to input waypoints using TDs. But, I haven't found squat doing it.

Shawnodese 19' Cape Horn 200 Suzy
capt_dalton is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: