Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

NMEA 2k interface

Old 02-27-2008, 07:30 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 578
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default NMEA 2k interface

I own a DF250 Suki and a C80 RM, my question is what I need to interface the engine to the C80?? Note: I don't want add to the system anything else, only the engine data, Thanks in advance to all the THT's for your help and answers.



Old 02-27-2008, 07:50 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 2,624
Likes: 0
Received 19 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Re: NMEA 2k interface

This is correct, but keep in mind, you still have to 'make' a NMEA2K network. Its consists of appropriate cables, T's, terminators and power. At the very minimum, you need a T for each end, a 120ohm terminator for each end, the ep-20 pointed to above, and a cable to go from the T up front to your C80. You also need to supply switched power to the NMEA2K bus. You can do this either with a terminator that includes power wiring or with another T and a separate power wire.

I highly suggest you check out this pamphlet on NMEA2000

http://www.lowrance.com/upload/Lowra...173_112006.pdf

Ken
Old 02-27-2008, 10:17 AM
  #3  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,582
Likes: 0
Received 191 Likes on 127 Posts
Default Re: NMEA 2k interface

You need the Ray N2K cable, Maretron Male Plug and a red T. You will also need a Lowrance EP-20-Suzuki. You will need a device to configure the network, the cheapest way is to borrow a Lowrance LMF Gauge or just buy one and mount it on the boat. I would be happy to answer any more Q's you may have. We have set up Lots of THT'ers boats with this same setup.
Old 02-27-2008, 10:59 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 2,624
Likes: 0
Received 19 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Re: NMEA 2k interface

yachtjim - 2/27/2008 1:17 PM

... We have set up Lots of THT'ers boats with this same setup.
Yeah, including me! (somewhat different setup though) Good job!

Ken
Old 02-27-2008, 02:44 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 578
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: NMEA 2k interface

Thanks to everybody for your support. Now I have a better picture about it!
Old 02-27-2008, 03:19 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 578
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: NMEA 2k interface

yachtjim - 2/27/2008 10:17 AM
You need the Ray N2K cable, Maretron Male Plug and a red T. You will also need a Lowrance EP-20-Suzuki. You will need a device to configure the network, the cheapest way is to borrow a Lowrance LMF Gauge or just buy one and mount it on the boat. I would be happy to answer any more Q's you may have. We have set up Lots of THT'ers boats with this same setup.
Jim, when you said "you will need a device to configure the network" what kind a device is this????, Thanks
Old 02-28-2008, 04:29 PM
  #7  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,582
Likes: 0
Received 191 Likes on 127 Posts
Default Re: NMEA 2k interface

A Lowrance LMF-200 will do the trick. Or Maretron N2K network software and interface for a laptop. Cheapest is the LMF unit. Lowrance Displays will do it too. Basically some devices are smart enough to configure a network and some are not. The Raymarine C/E series and Garmin 4/5k series are not smart enough.
Old 02-29-2008, 02:11 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: puget sound
Posts: 677
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Re: NMEA 2k interface

Alright....here's what I did and it worked.

1)by an inexpensive LMF-200 this sets up the backbone for the system.
2)EP-20 interface to the Suzuki.
3)T-connection so that you can hook the ep-20 to the lowrance lmf-200 at the back of the boat.
4)raymarine seatalk 2 cable (NMEA 2000 in disguise)
5)2 foot lowrance expansion cable w/t connector.

So here's the way that this thing sets up.

First, install the LMF 200. when you run the main backbone cable it will end up at the back of the boat. This is where the ep-20 hooks into the system. Install the ep-20 plug it in and connect one of the teminal ends.

Now, back up front off the lmf-200 you need to hook it to power, but this is also where the seatalk 2 cable comes in. You have to splice the seatalk 2 cable with the lowrance 2 foot expansion cable. Just match it up color to color.

Hook that modified expansion cable up to the backbone of the lmf that is up by the gauge, hook the other end (the seatalk 2 plug end) into the raymarine and you've done it.

This way you still have the lmf-200 for display of some things and then can use your c-80 on the engine management screen only when you really need or want to.
Old 02-29-2008, 04:11 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location:
Posts: 123
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: NMEA 2k interface

Yachtjim, I've never heard of having to configure the system. I worked with lowrance on one setup and they never mentioned this. They also never mention this in thier NEMA 2000 lit. Not trying to start anything just never heard of this one and can find nothing about it except in this thread.
Old 02-29-2008, 04:43 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 578
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: NMEA 2k interface

Here the RM response:

Response (George Martin) 02/29/2008 09:43 AM
Raymarine's Multifunction Displays (MFDs) are compatible with J1939 engines and NMEA 2000 engines & devices. When considering an NMEA 2000 engine or device to be interfaced with a MFD, it is recommended that the engine or device manufacturer be consulted regarding whether the specific engine or device to be integrated features a NMEA 2000 or J1939 interface and/or whether a proprietary display is required to calibrate the device. If the engine or device features NMEA 2000 interfaces, then a powered and properly terminated NMEA 2000 network backbone (http://www.maretron.com/products/cabling.php) must be installed having DeviceNet Ts for each NMEA 2000 device (i.e. engines, sensors, MFD, etc.) that will be connected to it. Raymarine offers the E25041 SeaTalk2 Pigtail (C-Series) and E55053 E-Series/SeaTalk2/NMEA 2000 pigtail cables which may be spliced to the E05027 DeviceNET Pigtail cable (by matching the colors of the internal leads) and this assembly can be used to join the MFD to the NMEA 2000 network backbone. E-Series customers may also use Maretron's E-Series Product to NMEA 2000® Network Adapter Cable (http://www.maretron.com/products/MARE-005.php) to mate the E-Series display to the NMEA 2000 network backbone. Raymarine's C-Series and E-Series MFDs should be operating with v4.25 and v3.22 or later software respectively to maximize their capabilities with these devices. Raymarine cables can be purchased or ordered from an authorized Raymarine dealer.
If the engines feature a J1939 interface, they may be adapted to NMEA 2000 using Maretron's J2100K adapter .


Old 02-29-2008, 04:50 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 578
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: NMEA 2k interface

tictactug, thanks for your clear and detailed explanation.

Jim, next week I'll call you.

General question: Why I need a lmf400 or a lmf200 to configure the C80??? I can't configure directly with the C80???, Thanks
Old 02-29-2008, 09:46 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: puget sound
Posts: 677
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Re: NMEA 2k interface

I think you have to have something to convert the data to make it into a network. The LMF 200 is cheap, or should I say relatively less expensive in the sceme of things.

I also like having it for the simple reason that I can load a certian page. Like lets say gph on a split screen with gallons remaining.

I can leave that up and visable on the lmf, and not have to switch screens on the c-80 to the engine management function.

Do give Jim a call. I already had the seatalk2 cable and the lmf, but he knew exactly what I needed to make the system work. In fact, I probably sounded a little abn ass because I acted like I was talking to my kid. Trying to explain every little detail, slowly and concisely, and repeatedly. I didn't need to because he was the first person who actually understood what I was trying to accomplish.
Old 03-01-2008, 03:15 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: NMEA 2k interface

cojimero - 2/29/2008 7:50 PM
General question: Why I need a lmf400 or a lmf200 to configure the C80??? I can't configure directly with the C80???
The C (and E) will display NMEA 2000 data, but you can't configure the NMEA devices. For example, if you have a Lowrance fuel flow sender, you won't be able to reset the consumption without some other device. In addition to the Lowrance displays listed, Maretron also makes a much more powerful (and expensive) one that'll also do the job.

There are other configuration options you might need to set, but the C or E will not be able to do that. Iwill be requesting that Raymarine incorporate more NMEA 2k functionality in their E series software. Looking at what's coming out soon for the E, I doubt anything about NMEA 2k will be able to make it into this release, but maybe the next one.
Old 03-01-2008, 05:44 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 3,687
Received 166 Likes on 140 Posts
Default Re: NMEA 2k interface

When you set up your NEMA 2K network depending on the engines and vendors equipment some NMEA 2K devices are pre-configured and some are not. So if you are setting up a network you need a display to identify and program the devices on the NMEA 2K buss, and then configure them if needed. For example if you add a fluid level sensor, you need to configure to be a an oil level gauge sensor or a gas level gauge sensor so it will be identified as such when you set up the display. You also have to enter the tank capacity, so the gauge or display can show remaining fuel / oil if required. Just one example. Than of course you need to identify that oil or tank sensor as a single tank or for the say port engine only. The number of tanks and engines just can't be pre-configured, you have to set up your own network to identify your vessel's configuration.

I hope this helps. Typically the major brand GPS/Chartplotters do not provide this programming function.

Jim
Old 03-01-2008, 06:06 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 578
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: NMEA 2k interface

IMPO everything about configure the NMEA2k interface between a C80 RM and a Zuki DF 250 Its explained here very clear, without dude. Now on the rest is very easy with some sort of work involved.
To every forum member who bring to this thread his opinions only one word....THANKS! and the promise to remember his recommendation in every step of my project!!!
When I start this thread I was like this ;? ..........Now .... and you know why?.....because THT !!!
Old 03-01-2008, 06:51 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location:
Posts: 123
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: NMEA 2k interface

I understand what you are talking about now. I just thought he was saying that in order for the C-80 to work with just a suzuki eng he would need another unit to configure it.
Old 05-17-2008, 10:49 AM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jupiter, FL / Manteo, NC
Posts: 1,218
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: NMEA 2k interface

How did this work out? I'm doing the same with my C80 and a Suzuki 300 - it has the NMEA 2000 connections behind the panel already. Can I plug and play?
Thanks
Greg

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.