Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

Old 03-29-2003, 06:25 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Grayson, GA
Posts: 411
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

About to make a purchase of a plotter and a fish finder. I'd like to hear from users of the GSD20 (Garmins fish finder add on to the 2010, 2006 and I think the 188).
How do you like it?
How does it compare to the Furuno 600L (My current first chioce in FF).
Also is your unit monochrome or color and which unit do you have?
Are you concerned about the "shut down" that occured with Fish Icons and redraw?
Century 2201 is offline  
Old 03-29-2003, 07:36 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Stockbridge, ga
Posts: 373
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

????

old fishermen never die, they just smell that way
ovenman is offline  
Old 03-30-2003, 02:58 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Grayson, GA
Posts: 411
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

Several posts reported a software glitch that Garmin corrected. Apparently when the fish icons were turned on and you had a depth change the unit got confused and shutdown.

I am just interested in finding out how it compares to a 600L.

Right now I'm leaning towards the 182C as the GPS and the 600L as the FF. Networking the two so I can go back to find a hump or baitfish
Century 2201 is offline  
Old 03-31-2003, 05:48 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Raleigh & Wrightsville,NC
Posts: 727
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

I purchased one and am in the process of installing it (limited time right now). Everything I have heard says the problems were corrected with the last software update (ver. 5 me thinks in Jan '03). Check Garmin's web page and it will have a description of everything the update corrected.

FishinWuf is offline  
Old 03-31-2003, 12:00 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Key Largo, FL, USA
Posts: 593
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

Release 5.0 for the 2006c did, in fact, solve the shutdown problem of the 2006c. The gsd20 now seems to operate fine with both units (182C and 2006C). I happen to have them both connected to the gsd20 so they both receive sonar input.

I don't know how the gsd20 sonar data compares to any of the Furuno units. I can tell you that the gsd20 converts the raw sonar signal to a digital format, and that is what is sent to the 2006C/182C. For those that like to analyze raw sonar returns, you may find the 2006c/182c presentation grainy because of the analog to digital conversion. I don't have any problem with it, but some may find that some bottom features have been lost.
Gil Morgan is offline  
Old 03-31-2003, 10:35 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,733
Likes: 0
Received 39 Likes on 37 Posts
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

Any idea how to tell if the 182C will work with the GSD20? A friend gave me a 182C. I hadn't planned on using it (trying my best to give back to him), but if it will work as both a back-up chartplotter and a backup sounder, I may quit arguing with him and keep it. The unit is NIB, but no idea how old it actually is. I think the older unit's software would not work with the GSD20, but not sure of that. Or what software version will work vs. not.

Anyone have any ideas or know which software version to look for? And how to look for it? Will I have to take it out of the box and power it up to tell which software version I have? Hate to take it out of the box, in case I decide to convince my buddy to take it back, in which case I'm sure he will sell it, as he already bought another one for his boat as backup. Or would a serial number and call to Garmin tell me?

Also, what are general thoughts on the 182C?

Thanks,

JB

26' Edgewater
JB2C is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 04:29 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gulf of Maine
Posts: 2,942
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

GSD20 will work with 182c.

This link should give you the info on software you need.

http://www.garmin.com/support/downlo...ils.jsp?id=207
Codfisher is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 05:23 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Raleigh & Wrightsville,NC
Posts: 727
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

The link above tells what you need. It does not matter what version of the software the unit has - the updates are free and easily downloaded.

You've got a nice friend there - don't look a gift horse in the mouth!

FishinWuf is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 07:14 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Key Largo, FL, USA
Posts: 593
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

JB2C
I am sure you do not have the latest 182C software on your boxed unit, and the gsd20 will not work on the old version. However, just install the existing version and then download the updated version from the Garmin site. You should be able to do all of that before installing the unit on your boat. If you have the Internal GPS antenna, you should also be able to check that out.
I currently use the 182c as the backup GPS and full display sonar. Works fine in that capacity. When downloading the new 182c software, also download the latest instructions for the gsd20 that did only exist as an Adobe Acrobat 5.0 download, no hard copy manual. That describes the interface between the gsd20 and the 182c.
When you get ready for the final installation, there are a couple of things that you must do that had not been included in the 182c instructions. They may be included now. If not, let me know and I will give you a rundown. No major issues.
Gil Morgan is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 03:20 PM
  #10  
RMM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location:
Posts: 551
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

Really like to see any opinions on this too. Currently have 182C and has been great. Looking at exact same, Furuno 600L or add the GSD 20, which would be a lot cheaper, but split screen might no be great, too small.
RMM is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 04:19 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: swansea ma,
Posts: 163
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

I bought the 2006c and the gsd 20 I love them. I did have the shutdown issue though. Byt the time i got the update it was stored away, I will be updateing the software in a week. the shut down issue was a pain. Some times the only way to get it back on was to kill the battery power(verry rare)and turn it back on. Other than that small issue its outstanding.
jbmunroe is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 08:44 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,733
Likes: 0
Received 39 Likes on 37 Posts
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

Gil/Streamweaver/Codfisher, thanks for the info.
Sounds like all I need is to download the software to the 182C and install an on/off switch for the GSD20 and I'm good to go. But.... how does the download work? Do I download from the Garmin site to my computer, then to the 182C? If yes, does it require special cables, not included with the 182C unit, to do this?

Seems the 182C with sonar would make a perfect back-up unit. I'm planning on also having a Furuno RD-30 unit installed. Do you see any issues with interference of depth readings with a 600L, GSD20, and RD-30 transducers all going at the same time? I guess I may have to have the 600L and the GSD20 on different frequencies (50 vs 200) to work.

26' Edgewater
JB2C is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 09:06 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Raleigh & Wrightsville,NC
Posts: 727
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

You download the software update from the Garmin webpage to your computer, then to the unit. You have to have a cable from your computer to the unit. You can order the cable from the Garmin web site, many Boaters World/Outer Banks, West Marine, etc. stores carry them, or you can make your own if you track down all the parts.

As I understand it, if you run more than one 'ducer at a given frequency, they will interfere with one another & therfore bocome nearly useless. Nothing wrong with running one @ 50 & one @ 200. Or having a back up if you feel the need.

FishinWuf is offline  
Old 04-02-2003, 03:34 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Stockbridge, ga
Posts: 373
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

Just send the unit to Garmin and they will do the update free.

old fishermen never die, they just smell that way
ovenman is offline  
Old 04-02-2003, 06:30 AM
  #15  
dor
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location:
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

When I talked to Garmin last week about a software upgrade to my 2010c for the Black Box, they told me they would send me a chip to uograde the unit to the most recent software version. They told me this was preferable to downloading the software because the chip had additional software to update the GPS antenae and other things that the downloaded software did not have. Can anyone explain this???
dor is offline  
Old 04-02-2003, 07:42 AM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Key Largo, FL, USA
Posts: 593
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

JB2C;
If you are uneasy about handling the downloads, contact Garmin and they will send you the chip. I do not know if they charge for it. Don't forget to download the Acrobat 5.0 version of the GSD20/182C documentation.
dor:
It is possible that the chip version of the software may, in fact, have a few additional upgrades that were made subsequent to the Garmin site version. However, you are probably the "tester" of these new upgrades. That does not mean that there are going to be problems. But if there are problems, better to limit the exposure to some carefully controlled chips rather than the entire download file available to everybody.
jbmunroe:
When my 2006C went down, there was nothing that could be done to get it back operating except disconnecting the cable to the gsd20. As long as I stayed in deep water with the icons on, the gsd20 would shut down the 2006c as soon as it came up.
Gil Morgan is offline  
Old 04-02-2003, 09:47 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Garett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 24,578
Likes: 0
Received 1,113 Likes on 625 Posts
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

Gil,

Could you please expand on this; I think I've missed something here.

When my 2006C went down, there was nothing that could be done to get it back operating except disconnecting the cable to the gsd20. As long as I stayed in deep water with the icons on, the gsd20 would shut down the 2006c as soon as it came up.

Once bitten, twice shy
Garett is offline  
Old 04-03-2003, 07:14 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: On the wild side !!
Posts: 5,705
Received 49 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

I purchased a 2006C last fall. I installed it but never used it. Since then , they changed the operating software version. I contaced Garmin and they forwarded me a new version on a "data" card to update my unit. No PC or cables needed.

No plans to add a gsd20 at this time.


Now that is great service.
BW23 is offline  
Old 04-03-2003, 07:25 AM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Key Largo, FL, USA
Posts: 593
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

I don't know how familiar you are with this problem. It came up about 6 months ago and Garmin has fixed the problem with the recent software release, 5.0

With the GSD20 connected to the 2006C, everything worked fine as long as the water depth was less than say 100 feet. Over 100 feet, the 2006c would completely shut down. No GPS no nothing. A restart of the 2006C would last about 30 seconds and then shut down again. If you moved to a depth less than 100 feet and did a restart, voila, all was OK.
To make a long story shorter, my last equipment return to Garmin about 3 months ago was both the 2006c and gsd20. Both units came back with a message stating that fish-icons enabled in depths of over 100 feet caused the gsd20 to shutdown the 2006, and with the suggestion that the icons be disabled at these depths. They also promised a software upgrade release soon to fix the problem which they did, in fact, do with release 5.0 in late January.
Gil Morgan is offline  
Old 04-03-2003, 09:35 PM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Garett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 24,578
Likes: 0
Received 1,113 Likes on 625 Posts
Default Garmin GSD20 black box addon to plotters

Gil

After reading over the post and threads tonight, everything is clear. Your response to mine, brings it into perfect focus - thanks .

And no I was not aware the 2006 and GSD20 had a software glitch/major problem. See the things we learn on THT.

Once bitten, twice shy
Garett is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.