Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Anyone hook there GPS output to the Yamaha gauges?

Notices

Anyone hook there GPS output to the Yamaha gauges?

Old 01-10-2003, 11:41 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Anyone hook there GPS output to the Yamaha gauges?

I just noticed the Yami fuel mngmt gauges have a dip switch indicating where the speed is coming from, the Yami speed sensor or a GPS device. That tells me there must be a NMEA connection on the gauge. Gonna look in my gauge wiring diagram for it.

Anyone try this?

Birdman, Capt of
Birdman is offline  
Old 01-10-2003, 11:55 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Darien, CT
Posts: 727
Default Anyone hook there GPS output to the Yamaha gauges?

Haven't a clue about your dip switch. But I do have some advice: Birdman, go ahead and pull the boat for the season; put a cover on it; give it a kiss and say good night. I swear it will be alright. Your wife is going to get jealous of your relationship/obsession with the Machri?

Salty
salty_dog is offline  
Old 01-10-2003, 01:51 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mass.
Posts: 924
Default Anyone hook there GPS output to the Yamaha gauges?

Mine is rigged this way. One of the unused leads in the harness bundle on the back of the gauge is the NMEA positive. Disconnect the lead from the Yamaha speedo, onnect this NMEA input and a ground to your output per the wiring diagram, reset the dip switches, and you should be in business.
Saltdog is offline  
Old 01-10-2003, 02:17 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Anyone hook there GPS output to the Yamaha gauges?

Salty_dog,
Thanks for the advice, but too late. My wife was well aware of my "serious problem" prior to us getting married. The trick is getting the wife to catch the same disease. Workin on that!!

Saltdog, ? diferent guy?
That's what I thought...very cool, case the speedo on the motor is good for a few weeks, then it's useless.

Birdman, Capt of
Birdman is offline  
Old 01-10-2003, 03:15 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mass.
Posts: 924
Default Anyone hook there GPS output to the Yamaha gauges?

Lots of "dog" usernames around here -- different guy.

The economy function is much more reliable fed off the GPS, though remember that you are getting "MPG over the ground" when using the GPS and not "MPG through the water" and thus you will seem to be running more efficiently when you have a favorable current (and vice versa).

You might need to play with the port set up on the GPS NMEA output and the speed update rate to get it working properly.
Saltdog is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread