Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Cable/wire clamp ???

Old 03-24-2003, 01:43 PM
  #1  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,770
Likes: 0
Received 27 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

I'm looking for some type of cable/wire clamp that will hold in place about 5 cables/wires of varying thickness. Can't seem to find anything, any ideas??

This is for my helm, have my tranducer cables, my radom cable, my VHF antenna cable, my VHF commander mic cable, all coming through an "access port hole" going into my helm. So, I want to fasten the cables down in the helm so they can't go back into port hole AND as strain relief from whatever they are connected to (terminal block, vhf,...).

I picture something like a buss bar that has 5 screws on it (one for each wire) that screws down on a small thingy that tightens down on the wire to hold it securly, without penetrating it.

Ideas?

Birdman, Capt of
Birdman is offline  
Old 03-24-2003, 01:52 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pinellas FL
Posts: 670
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

You could use the plastic type that has a screw hole on one side and then screw all 5 into a peice of teak or starboard, that would look kind of like what you are talking about, they also make snap loops that wrap around each other with a sticky back, go to the Home Depot and look in the cabling section, something may jump out.

chorn24 is offline  
Old 03-24-2003, 02:10 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

Birdman,

I think I sort of have a picture in my mind of what you want, but I don't know where to find one readymade. It would be easy enough to make one though, and I'd use starboard. I'd cut a length of it from stock that was about 3/4 thick and mabye 6" long and and inch high. Then I'd drill holes through it to match my cable size, not matter how small or large. Then I'd cut it in half, so each drilled hole was now a half circle. Two more holes vertically to hold screws that would mount it and pull the two halfs back together once the cables were in place and it would be done.

That's what I'd do if I was an industrious sort. Being the lazy slob that I am its a lot more likely that I'd simply use tie wraps with the screw hole in the end and screw them down somewhere - which is what I normally use myself.

Thom

Thom is offline  
Old 03-24-2003, 02:32 PM
  #4  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,770
Likes: 0
Received 27 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

Chorn24,
Been to H depot, lowes, west marine, boatus.... you get the picture...


Thom,
You've got the right idea, and that's a great idea on how to build one, BUT, I'm even lazier than you (trust me! ) and I really would love to just buy one! Somebody's got to make them, I have to try some electrical supply places tomorrow... but worst case, I'll try makin one with starboard.

Why am I FOREVER looking for wierd things that just don't exist for my boat????

Birdman, Capt of
Birdman is offline  
Old 03-24-2003, 02:51 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: LINDENHURST, NY
Posts: 1,798
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

I don't know if it will work for the radome cable, but you might be able to do something with these:

VERTICAL SPARK PLUG WIRE LOOM:

http://yearwood.safeshopper.com/193/cat193.htm?874

HORIZONTAL SPARK PLUG WIRE LOOM:

http://yearwood.safeshopper.com/193/cat193.htm?874


Nice purdy colors too!

"A HALF truth is a WHOLE lie!"
Big E is offline  
Old 03-24-2003, 03:13 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Key Largo, FL, USA
Posts: 593
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

How about the cable clamps that are, in fact, ty-raps. They have a screw mounting hole and an open ty-rap. Fasten with a screw and snug up the ty-rap around the cable.
Gil Morgan is offline  
Old 03-24-2003, 04:53 PM
  #7  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,770
Likes: 0
Received 27 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

BigE is getting closer!!! But I need the screws to come down onto the cables. Because the cables are varying thicknesses. So if I used one of those colorful spakplug thingamajiggy's, the thin cables would fall out.

Gil,
Cause I shouldn't have too!! Then I'll have a screw into the boat for every wire, and they are perminent (meaning I have to cut them off, and unscrew to get back off the boat. Then I'm left with a screw hole if I don't put something back in the same spot .....

Being the lazy ass I am, I'd like to just unscrew/loosen a "terminal", pull out the wire, put a new one in, tighten back down. I can't believe nobody makes/sells one of these?? Hmmmm maybe my Quick Connect Rod holder company will have to be un-mothballed to add some more product to the catalog!!!

Birdman, Capt of
Birdman is offline  
Old 03-24-2003, 06:06 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Manassas Va USA
Posts: 4,419
Likes: 0
Received 41 Likes on 26 Posts
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

Thom is on the right track. Just make it out of the plate your going to trim the hole with. Starboard would be great. Drill the holes and then cut it into. Screw that to the helm hole.



Hawkeye
Hawkeye is offline  
Old 03-24-2003, 07:45 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

quote: Why am I FOREVER looking for wierd things that just don't exist for my boat????

Dont worry, there's people that glue all kinds of wierd things to their cars too.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 03-25-2003, 06:15 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pinellas FL
Posts: 670
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

I am in the Networking (IT not paper towels) business, we use velcro wire management all the time for removable/movable installs, if you want it removable thats the ticket, being that you are a lazy A** I asumed you had not gotten off it to go to home depot, If you can get your hands on a Telecom/Data catalog they will have what you want.
If you have a Graybar electric in you area they can help you find some premade wire management. You could also do a search on Google for "wire management"web page, this is just an example of whats out there.

[This message was edited by chorn24 on 03-25-03 at 08:25 AM.]
chorn24 is offline  
Old 03-25-2003, 08:13 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Waco, TX USA
Posts: 220
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

Have you tried Radio Shack? Or maybe a PVC type padded conduit strap? Good Luck,

sd
Slow Drifter is offline  
Old 03-25-2003, 11:34 AM
  #12  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,770
Likes: 0
Received 27 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

Chorn,
I'm a director of IT. But, the IT type wire mngmt stuff would not be rubust enough for marine use....

Tried Sh_t shack, tried Home dept, lowes, hardware store... nothing.... going to try electrical supply places next. Somebody got to make one!!

Here is what I envison, which is exactly what Thom was designing out of Starboard. The only thing the starbaord design was missing was the clamp down screws for each wire/cable.



Birdman, Capt of
Birdman is offline  
Old 03-25-2003, 12:12 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: LINDENHURST, NY
Posts: 1,798
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

Birdman-

Using the spark plug thing-a-majingy, the smaller wires could be wrapped with a piece of foam window weatherstripping. When you tighten down the 2 screws, they would clamp the smaller wires with a decent amount of pressure to keep them snug.

That individual "set" screw you are looking for makes me think that you might damage a wire with too much accidental torque.

The spark plug loom could also be glued to the inside of the helm or hull with 5200. No screw holes at all! Just a thought!

"A HALF truth is a WHOLE lie!"
Big E is offline  
Old 03-25-2003, 12:50 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: St. Leonard, MD
Posts: 3,973
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

OK Birdman, here's how you do it (if you can't find the necessary parts)....

Size things however you want based on how many wires you need to fasten.

Cut a rectangular piece of Starboard as well as two slightly smaller rectangular pieces of rubber and stack them with the two rubber pieces on top. Drill a hole at both ends through all three pieces for the mouting screws. Then drill how ever many more holes through the rubber and into the starboard you want. This will squeeze the rubber pieces together. Lay your wires in between the rubber pieces and tighten things down. No danger of pinching the wire covering, it won't conduct electricity and if you used rubber that isn't too thick, it should conform to pretty much any size wire.



http://userpages.umbc.edu/~bmille4/sirreel/index.html

[This message was edited by gw204 on 03-25-03 at 09:35 PM.]
gw204 is offline  
Old 03-25-2003, 01:40 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Grady 247 Advance
Posts: 548
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

Birdman,

How about something like this?

Fuzzy

fuzzy2u is offline  
Old 03-25-2003, 01:45 PM
  #16  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,770
Likes: 0
Received 27 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

GW,
You may have something there!! Wanna sell me one?

Fuzzy,
Ah, no, but close!!! LOL!

Birdman, Capt of
Birdman is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 06:34 AM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pinellas FL
Posts: 670
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

Birdy, now I know why you need someone to make it for you , I still think velcro with adhesive backing would work fine, is it exposed to the eye? I use it for holding stinger rigs to the side of the console, it is strong and easy to undo/redo, you would just need to stick it where you need it and strap all the wires in place as close to each other or as far away as you want, if it can hold my bakup GPS in place in rough conditions, it will hold wires where they need to be. You could probably sell some of the designs above to Taco.
chorn24 is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 08:27 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: St. Leonard, MD
Posts: 3,973
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

Birdy, go ahead and build one yourself. It was an idea I just came up with. I don't have any "in stock", yet.....

If you decided to go entirely w/ starboard, I would recommend cutting the piece in half, clamping the two halves together and then drilling the holes at the joint. If you drill first and then cut you will wind up w/ oblong holes. Trust me on this one....

chorn, you think that idea would be worth refining and pursuing? What process might I need to go through. I'm full of ideas like that....just never thought of taking them anywhere!

I wonder what a set of these would go for? Anodized aluminum w/ rubber liner could be used instead of PVC as a heavy duty option. Could be ordered w/ custom rod spacing, rod quantity, starboard color, etc....



http://userpages.umbc.edu/~bmille4/sirreel/index.html
gw204 is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 10:17 AM
  #19  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,770
Likes: 0
Received 27 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

Gw,
the rod holders are readily available, just like the one in your picure.

BUT, you could sell millions of the cable clamps. Here's how, first, make one or two of them tonight, FedEx them to me for aproval/testing. Monday, I'll shoot you an Email showing my results, then, sell millions of them and make all kinds of money on it. Realy!! Trust me!!

Birdman, Capt of
Birdman is offline  
Old 03-27-2003, 06:24 AM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Moriches Bay, Long Island
Posts: 788
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cable/wire clamp ???

Birdman- Try the cable clamp people-www.heyco.com
Richie is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.