Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Please confirm.....

Old 08-31-2007, 04:57 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 463
Default Please confirm.....

...that it's OK to operate a Lowarance GPS/FF combo unit out of the water. I vaguely remember reading something about the transducer and not operating it out of water, but I've found nothing in the manual that says I can't.

Thanks,

Fred
mrfritz44 is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 05:50 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location:
Posts: 6,999
Default Re: Please confirm.....

I have turned mine on dry several times with no apparent ill effects.......
Bailey Boat is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 06:26 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gulf of Mexico,Louisiana
Posts: 6,289
Default Re: Please confirm.....

Never hear that one.I had power up all kinds of sounds dry in the pass with no problems other then not getting any feedback or true sounding,but they will give you a reading on the temp.
prockvoan is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 08:41 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Thornton's Ferry,NH,USA
Posts: 10,727
Default Re: Please confirm.....

I dont know if this applies to your unit but it may need to be in water to avoid over-heating. I remember someone mentionning this to me many many (maybe 10-15) years ago. This problem may not be an issue with newer gear and I'm sure if you only turn it on for a few minutes to run a diagnostic check you should be safe.

Good luck!
Kamper is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 11:14 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CA & San Carlos, Mx
Posts: 21,294
Default Re: Please confirm.....

The manuals say that you shouldn't do it.

Might want to google Arimar and look at their Freq asked Question section.
Bullshipper is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 11:18 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location:
Posts: 231
Default Re: Please confirm.....

I mounted my Lowrance transom mount transducer inside the hull (like a shoot thru) and have about 400 hrs on it with no problems.
afry is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 11:17 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pensacola, Fl
Posts: 11,407
Default Re: Please confirm.....

The depth sounder/fish finder transducer is just an ultrasound probe. These are used in the medical field and industerial fields all of the time in the air. Good point about the mounted in the hull, dry transducers--they are coupled as are the medical/industerial with water, mineral oil or epoxy, but I suspect that running for a short time would not be a problem. If you worry about it, disconnect the transducer cable.
thataway is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 07:59 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,018
Default Re: Please confirm.....

I have a new Furuno 585 waiting to go on a boat being built. I read the manual to kill some time (OK......so I am anal about these things) & the warning was clear. DO NOT operate the sounder with the transducer out of the water. Not a Lowrance as the OP asked about but interesting reading anyway.
peterbo3 is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 08:16 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 517
Default Re: Please confirm.....

I wouldn't run a thru hull transducer out of water. last month when I had my boat hauled out for quick repair, I forgot to turn off my garmin. Only knew that when I saw the barnacules on the bottom of my thru hull smoking and popping as they got fried. That puppy had to be hot!
BubbaBert is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 10:06 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CA & San Carlos, Mx
Posts: 21,294
Default Re: Please confirm.....

I belive that arimar produces transducers for all models.
Bullshipper is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 10:24 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Knoxville,TN
Posts: 289
Default RE: Please confirm.....

I had the same question a while back from reading similar threads here and didn't see any reference in my Lowrance manual either. I called the Lowrance techs and was told it was ok for a couple of minutes only!
davidridenour is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 12:41 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Charleston, SC, USA!
Posts: 2,226
Default RE: Please confirm.....

You had me thinking about my Airmar B60 bronze thru-hull so I found nothing in the book and e-mailed them..........here's what they said. The 1000 W units are probably more vulnerable.

Will it harm my Airmar B60 thru hull to run the depth finder out of
water?
Is there an overheat issue?

Thank you!


Thank you for contacting AIRMAR Technology Corporation. This transducer
has a maximum power rating of 600W RMS. If it were to run at maximum
power for several continuous hours, it may overheat. Many customers
like to enter navigation data while the boat is out of the water. If
there is a remote chance of overheating the transducer, just temporarily
disconnect it.
Reelescape1 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread