Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

radar match for Lowrance LCX-19C

Old 03-21-2003, 02:45 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Portsmouth, RI
Posts: 441
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default radar match for Lowrance LCX-19C

Is there an economical radar unit that will be compatable with an LCX 19c. Ive read about some trouble when linking the two together. Super- discount closeout model would be good. Range -15mi or so.
svenski is offline  
Old 03-21-2003, 07:59 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Myers Beach, FL, USA
Posts: 3,341
Received 449 Likes on 291 Posts
Default radar match for Lowrance LCX-19C

I have a Lowrance LCX-15MT and had some initial difficulty in linking the Lowrance to my Si-Tex T-721 color radar. But the problem was NOT related to the difference in brands - it was the default BAUD rate of the Lowracne (9600) that was not compatible with the Si-Tex, or with my Simrad autopilot. All worked well once BUAD rate changed to the correct setting of 4800.

I think there are many fine radars that will meet your needs. Search on this forum and you will find comments regarding JRC, Furuno, and Raytheon units. I was going to buy the Furuno 1712 until I got a great buy on the Si-Tex on eBay.



2002 GW Islander 270 - 2001 Yam 250 OX66. Fishin' & cruisin'
ocnslr is offline  
Old 03-22-2003, 05:23 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Portsmouth, RI
Posts: 441
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default radar match for Lowrance LCX-19C

Thanks for the reply, hadnt thought about e-bay for this stuff. Is the baud rate an adjustment that you can make?
svenski is offline  
Old 03-22-2003, 07:47 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Myers Beach, FL, USA
Posts: 3,341
Received 449 Likes on 291 Posts
Default radar match for Lowrance LCX-19C

The BAUD rate (at least on my Lowrance LCX-15MT) defaults to 9600. It can be set when you are in the system set-up mode, in Communications, and have the screen to set output type and the BAUD rate for COM1 and COM2 outputs. Just pick either COM1 or COM2 for NMEA output, set the BUAD rate to 4800, and it should work. Of course, you do have to correctly connect the appropriate Lowrance output wires to the radar's NMEA input connections.

quote:Originally posted by svenski:
Is the baud rate an adjustment that you can make?


2002 GW Islander 270 - 2001 Yam 250 OX66. Fishin' & cruisin'
ocnslr is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.