Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Electroncis installer needed

Old 09-14-2003, 11:06 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 2,581
Received 105 Likes on 64 Posts
Default Electroncis installer needed

I made it through the season with gerry-rigged electronics purhcased this winter. The electronics installer recommended by Consumer's Marine really screwed things up. He cut wires he shouln't have. Was unable to run other wires through the piping, neglected to tie on "lead strings" to old wires he then pulled out. etc.... Although the electronics are in, they are not in correctly and the power to the spreader lights is no longer there.


I need an installer in the central NJ area (Point Pleasant, brick, Toms River area) to fix this guys f-ups and to re-wire the hard top.


Please give me names, thanks,
Scott K.
Scott1115 is offline  
Old 09-14-2003, 01:42 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location:
Posts: 152
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electroncis installer needed

I would try the guys over @ Comstock's they are in Brick. They have two full time electronic's installers, one has been there over 10 years, mighty fine work...

732-899-2500
regulator72 is offline  
Old 09-16-2003, 09:18 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 2,581
Received 105 Likes on 64 Posts
Default Electroncis installer needed

Reg-

Thanks, I actually bought my second boat from Ron Smith at Comstock...never thought to call them.

-Scott
Scott1115 is offline  
Old 09-17-2003, 12:30 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Farmingdale, NJ
Posts: 2,391
Likes: 0
Received 26 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Electroncis installer needed

Ask for Pete Harris. Art or Joe Colabella at Hoffman's knows how to get in touch with him.
Fubar512 is offline  
Old 09-18-2003, 11:24 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: On the wild side !!
Posts: 5,703
Likes: 0
Received 49 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Electroncis installer needed

I hate to say it but this is why I do the work myself.

Even when you contact these guys , put them thru the ringer and ask for references with similar systems.

Everyone has different opinions regarding attention to detail and this is why I do 95% of my boat maintenance and repair.

Got Beer
Got Bait
Let's GO!!!

23' Boston Whaler, "The REEL-Deal"
BW23 is offline  
Old 09-18-2003, 11:45 AM
  #6  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,757
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default Electroncis installer needed

quote:Originally posted by BW23:
I hate to say it but this is why I do the work myself.

Even when you contact these guys , put them thru the ringer and ask for references with similar systems.

Everyone has different opinions regarding attention to detail and this is why I do 95% of my boat maintenance and repair.


I agree 1000% percent. Do it yourself unless your physically unalbe. Not only do you get top quality (assuming you do a good job), the best thinbg is when your done, you know EXACTLY how it is done, what's hooked upo to what, and how and where. So WHEN you have a problem, you know exactly where to look, no suprises.

Birdman, Capt of

Scout Abaco 280 Click here!
Birdman is offline  
Old 09-18-2003, 11:59 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 2,581
Received 105 Likes on 64 Posts
Default Electroncis installer needed

I tried to do it myself first. There were too may wires pre-existing in the tubes. I hired the installer because he waid he knew how to remove and then install the stuff I bought.

Now there must be something blocking the pipes. I can't even get a plumbers snake through.

-Scott
Scott1115 is offline  
Old 09-18-2003, 01:17 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location:
Posts: 161
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electroncis installer needed

Find a wire that you can possibly live without and use to to pull a rope through. Use liberal amounts of vaseline.
SN
cabosn is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.