Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Garmin GPS Loran to Gps Conversion setup

Notices

Garmin GPS Loran to Gps Conversion setup

Old 01-28-2003, 09:28 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Boynton Inlet, FL
Posts: 990
Default Garmin GPS Loran to Gps Conversion setup

I have the Gramin Map 230 and want to add/convert my old Loran numbers. I can do this on this machine, however, I need to input the Loran chain number (GRI-8970????, etc), the secondary station 1 (V,W,X,Y,Z?) as well as the Secondary station 2 (V,W,X,Y,Z?). I am located just south of West Palm Beach Florida and north of Boca Raton. I have some numbers in the Bahamas near memory rock. Can anyone help suggest which Loran Chain number and secondary stations to use? Thanks for your input.

2500 Hydra-Sports Vector
Twin 225 Johnson Ocean Pro's
NauticalSteve25 is offline  
Old 01-29-2003, 09:40 AM
  #2  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Avalon, NJ
Posts: 19
Default Garmin GPS Loran to Gps Conversion setup

Nauticalsteve,

A few years ago I downloaded a program from the Coast Guard that converts TD's to Lat/Lon...I also downloaded the chain numbers...I can email both files to you..I do not know how to email through this website...you can email me at atm@fairviewgroup.com..and I can forward the programs to you...they are very helpful..your chain in FLA is 7980..the secondary chain is 0...

Anthony Marino

Avalon, NJ
atm_avalon is offline  
Old 01-29-2003, 12:29 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Boynton Inlet, FL
Posts: 990
Default Garmin GPS Loran to Gps Conversion setup

Thanks Anthony!, I just e-mailed you.
Steve

2500 Hydra-Sports Vector
Twin 225 Johnson Ocean Pro's
NauticalSteve25 is offline  
Old 01-29-2003, 03:29 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Garmin GPS Loran to Gps Conversion setup

I don't have my map with the GRI numbers for the chains anymore but I am pertty sure its still over on the Coast Guard site. You can look it up there. Most of them will be using the X and Y as the secondaries, but of course it could be anything. Anyway the Coast Guard keeps up its LORAN site because its what all the rest of the world still uses and one hell of a lot of foreign ships make port in our waters every year.

Thom

"For every complex question, there's a simple answer. And it's wrong."
(--H. L. Mencken)
Thom is offline  
Old 01-30-2003, 06:33 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Boynton Inlet, FL
Posts: 990
Default Garmin GPS Loran to Gps Conversion setup

Thanks Thom!

2500 Hydra-Sports Vector
Twin 225 Johnson Ocean Pro's
NauticalSteve25 is offline  
Old 01-30-2003, 11:13 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Garmin GPS Loran to Gps Conversion setup

Steve,

Take a look at this web page:

http://www.navcen.uscg.gov/AccessASP...eport.asp?7980

I'm just guessing but it seems that your best bets may be on the Y and Z, but I'm not at all sure.

Thom

"For every complex question, there's a simple answer. And it's wrong."
(--H. L. Mencken)
Thom is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread