Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Running Light Problems

Old 09-03-2003, 10:41 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: South Shore - Boston, MA
Posts: 152
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Running Light Problems

Connections are good, bulbs are good, some corrosion at the switch cleaned off & still no lights.

This is a 3 way switch on my dash which also powers my instrument lights - which are out.

Anything else to try efore replacing switch?

Thanks,

Roop

Pressure Drop
Roop is offline  
Old 09-03-2003, 11:34 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Thornton's Ferry,NH,USA
Posts: 10,728
Likes: 0
Received 67 Likes on 41 Posts
Default Running Light Problems

fuse, buss bar, connection at battery?

Have you tried bypassing the switch with a jumper wire, to make sure it's the switch and not a circuit problem?

Good luck!
Kamper is offline  
Old 09-03-2003, 12:00 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New York, NY/Barnegat Bay
Posts: 311
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Running Light Problems

My guess would be a bad switch. If you have a breaker tied to the switch, be sure it hasn't popped. If it hasn't, check that you have power to the switch. If so, check that with the switch on, you have power on the output side of the switch. If so, check the next connection in the circuit, and so on until you isolate the bad section. You can then trouble shoot the problem area.

If the power is ok to the switch, but not ok on the output side, you can either check the switch for continuity with an ammeter, or jump the switch to ensure the switch is bad.
sailfish272 is offline  
Old 09-03-2003, 12:53 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hudson, MA
Posts: 748
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Running Light Problems

I had the same problem early in the season. Turns out my breaker to that circuit was corroded. It tested good with the ohm meter but when I tried to drop any current across it (by turning the lights on) didn't work (didn't pop the breaker either!!??!!).
ChemGuy is offline  
Old 09-03-2003, 01:20 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Greensboro, NC USA
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Running Light Problems

If you have an volt meter check for juice at each connection. I've seen this kind of dead circuit turn out to be a screw down connector on a bus bar. Corrosion is an amazing insulator.

Product Engineer, SMITH Marine Products, 21 Seacat, 2500HD Duramax/Allison
cfwegman is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.