Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Icom DSC radio and Garmin 162

Old 05-25-2003, 07:20 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 272
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Icom DSC radio and Garmin 162

Got them hooked up and entered my mmsi#. Radio has accepted (stored) the #. I set the garmin to NMEA I/O, but the radio doesn't seem to see the lat-long. I used the blue wire on the GPS marked NMEA out to the center terminal of the RCA connector on the Icom radio and used ground on the the outer ring of the RCA connector. Could I use an oscilliscope the see the GPS output to verify which unit might be at fault. Or have I just got something wrong?
Los Mentirosos is offline  
Old 05-25-2003, 06:27 PM
  #2  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,759
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default Icom DSC radio and Garmin 162

Sounds right. but, when you say "ground", did you connect the outer ring (ground) of the Icom's RCA connector to the NMEA - OUT on the GPS? You should have.

Is the GPS letters on the Icom showing? That's all you will see, three little letters on the LCD when it is working, "GPS".

Birdman, Capt of

Scout Abaco 280 Click here!
Birdman is offline  
Old 05-25-2003, 07:51 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 272
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Icom DSC radio and Garmin 162

The manual that came with my 162i shows (NMEA-) to be the black wire, which is the system ground. There is only one other NMEA marked wire and it says NMEA in.

Thanks for responding.
Los Mentirosos is offline  
Old 05-26-2003, 01:17 PM
  #4  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,759
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default Icom DSC radio and Garmin 162

Ok, that black wire from the 162 must connect to the outer ring on the RCA connector on the Icom.

Birdman, Capt of

Scout Abaco 280 Click here!
Birdman is offline  
Old 05-28-2003, 05:39 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 272
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Icom DSC radio and Garmin 162

WOW, new format again, I like it. Well to answer my own question, yes you can see the NMEA output on an ocsilliscope. Use the 12 volt scale at 2 milliseconds. It looks like 2 bursts every second or so. By the time I saw that I had a signal out of my Garmin 162. I started thinking cr@p, my brand new Icom has problems. Hooked it all up again to see if the radio was grounding out the signal. Turned on the radio and it had the GPS icon displayed. Pushing the display buttons showed the lat/long alternatly like the book says. Only goes to show they still can't make something completly idiot proof. It works, I'm happy case closed...........
Los Mentirosos is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.