Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

wiring fishfinder into the panel on carolina skiff

Notices

wiring fishfinder into the panel on carolina skiff

Old 04-12-2003, 07:28 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD, Carolinaha
Posts: 14
Default wiring fishfinder into the panel on carolina skiff

I thought this would be easy. Crimp and solder the leads, push them over the hot and ground and done. Carolina skiff has a breaker setup that works differently than fuse panels I am familiar with. After looking at it for 20 minutes I could not make head or tails of it. There is an orange wire that runs from the breaker to the toggle connection on each of the other switches. It looks like the hot and ground are connected and added onto the same prong. Anyone have any experience with this. It seems like one of those things that is simple if you have any idea what you are doing. I am about to take it to the dealer. Anyone able to explain this to me????

T
aahhh!!!! is offline  
Old 04-12-2003, 08:17 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Newport, RI, USA
Posts: 350
Default wiring fishfinder into the panel on carolina skiff

You say "breakers" and I believe you, but are the breakers intergrated with the switches? If they are not I am guessing that the additional wires that you see are for pilot lights that show the breaker as on and powered.
There should be a common buss for the negative and and a common positive to the feed side of the breakers. If there are pilot lights, there will be a low current negative wire. If you have a multimeter or a 12V test light you can check to insure that you are on the "load" side of the breaker...breaker on, light on....breaker off, light off.
Just remember, it's only 12 volts but there is a TON of current at that breaker panel.
JGKIII is offline  
Old 04-13-2003, 05:15 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default wiring fishfinder into the panel on carolina skiff

Any chance of a pic to show what you are talking about?
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 04-13-2003, 05:43 AM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD, Carolinaha
Posts: 14
Default wiring fishfinder into the panel on carolina skiff

I guess breaker may be a misnomer. It is more like gfc button. Press to reset. I will work on the pic.
aahhh!!!! is offline  
Old 04-13-2003, 06:09 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default wiring fishfinder into the panel on carolina skiff

Breaker is the right word most likely. New boats have the push to reset breakers these days.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 04-15-2003, 07:00 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Augusta,GA
Posts: 170
Default wiring fishfinder into the panel on carolina skiff

T: Do you have a wiring diagram? This may help. On my skiff there is a pos(red) and neg(black) runnung into the console. My dealer connected my depth finder to these (before it gets to the switches). Trip
trippenn is offline  
Old 04-16-2003, 06:49 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Ocean Pines, Md.
Posts: 1,220
Default wiring fishfinder into the panel on carolina skiff

It sounds like you are in the same situation I am in with a Scout Dorado. Mine is like this. Toggle switch on instrument panel works appliance. Above it is a empty rubber boot. If you look at the rear of panel the rubber boot is connected to small white rectangular box. I believe this is the breaker. The switch below has a jumper wire that connects to this box. If the breaker trips then the empty rubber boot will not be empty anymore and would be pushed in to reset. The switch has a second terminal which is for the + side of the appliance. Supposedly back there is a small buss block where the - side of the appliance can be attached. I will be looking for that today. My boat is a 96 so I give credit to Scout if as mentioned above this is just being seen on "newer boats". I also don't think some folks here realize the small amount of space those of us with smaller boats have to work in when installing electronics. With wires attached my instrument panel only will pull out about 6 inches and then there is the steering wheel to work around!
JackB is offline  
Old 04-16-2003, 07:06 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New York, NY/Barnegat Bay
Posts: 298
Default wiring fishfinder into the panel on carolina skiff

I think what you have is hot to individual breakers (push to reset buttons) then hot out of the breaker to the toggle switch and hot out of the switch to the device.

The ground side probably goes to a separate box/strip that is common to all circuits. You will recognize it because it will have only black or yellow wires connected to it, and will not have any fuses or breakers.

To wire you device you will need to find an empty switch with a sufficient amp size breaker and take the hot lead to the device. You must then take the ground to the common box/strip. The device will then only function when the toggle switch is on.
sailfish272 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread