Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

2kw vs 4kw dome

Old 02-12-2004, 11:41 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: STERLING HTS,MI,USA
Posts: 28
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2kw vs 4kw dome

i fish mostly within 15 miles of shore on the great lakes. it was foggy quite often last year and am in the process of adding radar. i keep getting different advice on the power of the dome. i will be using this radar for collision avoidance and to find my channel to my marina. any advice would be appreciated thanks
VELLA523 is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 12:14 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston,Tx,U.S.A
Posts: 11,747
Received 788 Likes on 441 Posts
Default 2kw vs 4kw dome

The 4kW dome will cut through fog and storm's better than the 2kW but really how far are you trying to look ahead? and I'm going out on a limb but if your in bad weather are you running faster than say 5-10 knot's? if not you could get by with the 2kW and never know much difference .execpt the 800.00 plus saving's ....John
jtburf is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 02:10 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Mobile, AL USA
Posts: 1,862
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default 2kw vs 4kw dome

The other thing to consider is beamwidth. The 2kw dome will have greater horizontal beamwidth than the 4 kw dome. The narrower the beamwidth, the greater your target discrimination, that is, it will be able to show two targets that are close to each other as separate returns from a greater distance.
285exp is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 02:24 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Skaneateles, New York
Posts: 5,483
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 2kw vs 4kw dome

I have a 2kw Raytheon with a 18" dome on my boat...more that necessary for inshore navigation and for collision avoidance. Up on Lake Ontario, in fog, I like to keep it at less than 10 MPH.
Mumblerone is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 02:55 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 2,538
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 3 Posts
Default 2kw vs 4kw dome

Here is a good way to see beamwidth. The 4KW dome has a beamwidth of 3.9deg and the 2.2Kw is 5.2deg. Plot a 360deg circle on a piece of paper in increments of 3.9deg and 5.2deg on another piece of paper. Now put a boat shape on top of 1 paper, then put the same spot on the other paper. the radar can only tell if something is there or not in those beamwidths. So if part of a beamwidth is covered by a spot the whole beamwidth is assumed to be full, the radar can't differentiate any smaller. now this will be magnified much more the farther you get from the radar and the "End" of the beam is wider. To give you an idea, the big 72nMi 12KW radar have roughly a 1deg beamwidth.

If this makes sense, great, if not let me know and I'll try to scan a Maneuvering board and illustrate.
Somethin-Fishey is offline  
Old 02-13-2004, 02:12 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange Ct
Posts: 480
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2kw vs 4kw dome

VELLA523,
I don't know how big your boat is but take
into consideration the size difference between
a 2 and 4kw dome. For what you say your intentions are 2kw is plenty..find the channel
w/ your chartplotter and confirm w/ your radar.

Kev
flynny7 is offline  
Old 02-13-2004, 05:13 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sebastian FL
Posts: 117
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2kw vs 4kw dome

Vella,
I have an old ,maybe 15 year old Apelco radar I use just as you describe on Lake Michigan. I don't turn it on unless the fog rolls in. You don't need the extra power. Unless the radome is very high off the water you won't get any additional range anyway. Range on both VHF and radar is really more a function of height of the antenna than transmit power. All you really want is to not run in to another boat and know if one is coming right at you so you can change your course to avoid collision. The 2 KW units will give you plenty of range for that. Otherwise as suggested use your GPS or compass to get close to the harbor and your radar as double protection getting in. No need for 4 KW.
reellife is offline  
Old 02-14-2004, 05:39 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 19,369
Received 624 Likes on 357 Posts
Default 2kw vs 4kw dome

Agree with all of the above. 2kw is plenty for what you want to do with it.
First Light is offline  
Old 02-14-2004, 08:21 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: STERLING HTS,MI,USA
Posts: 28
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2kw vs 4kw dome

thanks for the replys wiil save some money and go with the 2kw. now i have to decide between furuno navnet and new raymarine c series. sounds like the same decision everyone else is trying to make. they had a new c series on display at the detroit baot show today. pretty impresssive unit.
VELLA523 is offline  
Old 02-15-2004, 05:45 AM
  #10  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toms River, NJ USA
Posts: 87
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2kw vs 4kw dome

Vella, Thanks for this question. I am also looking to add radar to my boat. These posts have been helpful to me. Good luck with your purchase.
soltydog is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.