Notices

Furuno 600l and 6100 compatabillity

Old 12-10-2003, 09:33 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: L.I.Sound
Posts: 129
Default Furuno 600l and 6100 compatabillity

Ihave a Furuno 600l and airmar in-hull ducer in my boat now. If I trade this boat in for a bigger one can I replace the 600l with a 6100 before I let it go? My question is, are the din plugs for power and ducer compatable with these two units? If so I'll make the swap, save the 600l and go with a thru-hull ducer like birdman sayz, on the new boat.
mudshark is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 09:34 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: L.I.Sound
Posts: 129
Default Furuno 600l and 6100 compatabillity

quote:Originally posted by mudshark:
I have a Furuno 600l and airmar in-hull ducer in my boat now. If I trade this boat in for a bigger one can I replace the 600l with a 6100 before I let it go? My question is, are the din plugs for power and ducer compatable with these two units? If so I'll make the swap, save the 600l and go with a thru-hull ducer like birdman sayz, on the new boat.
mudshark is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 09:37 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: L.I.Sound
Posts: 129
Default Furuno 600l and 6100 compatabillity

OOPS!!
Sorry, didn't mean to quote myself!
mudshark is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 11:21 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: LINDENHURST, NY
Posts: 1,747
Default Furuno 600l and 6100 compatabillity

Mudshark- From the Cross Reference chart from AIRMAR, it looks like the transducer is compatible. Check for yourself:


http://www.airmar.com/pdfs/xref/OEM_XRef.pdf

Wanna make someone mad... tell a lie! Wanna get the world upset... tell the TRUTH!
Big E is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 12:07 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Furuno 600l and 6100 compatabillity

They both use the "D" type plug, which is the 10-pin Furuno, and they are interchangable. The power plug should also be the standard 3 pin plug for each, also interchangable. The mount will probably be different though.

Thom
Thom is offline  
Old 12-11-2003, 09:14 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: L.I.Sound
Posts: 129
Default Furuno 600l and 6100 compatabillity

Thank you very much guy's, nice to know I'll be able to save a few "c" notes.
mudshark is offline  
Old 12-11-2003, 10:11 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Furuno 600l and 6100 compatabillity

Mudshark,

You should know that even if you had the older 8-pin plug on your transducer you could still just pick up an adaptor that Airmar sells through Gem Electronics and match it up. I've not had to buy one but I believe they only cost a couple of bucks.

Thom
Thom is offline  
Old 12-11-2003, 02:27 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marshfield MA
Posts: 134
Default Furuno 600l and 6100 compatabillity

Mudshark,
I just bought a boat that used to have a 600L hooked up to a thru-hull ducer, so before I bought a 6100 I checked with Furuno. They say the ducer is compatible with the 2 units. Don't know about the power plug though.
ScottM is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread