The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-18-2007, 07:18 PM   #1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 28
Default Garmin to replace raymarine?

Anyone know anything about the Garmin 498? Small unit but color and looks as though it may be an upgrade from my raymarine l750 fish finder and 520 chart plotter.

Thoughts?
thebobber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 09:27 PM   #2
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: sebastian FL
Posts: 1,888
Default RE: Garmin to replace raymarine?

Quote:
thebobber - 5/18/2007 7:18 PM

Anyone know anything about the Garmin 498? Small unit but color and looks as though it may be an upgrade from my raymarine l750 fish finder and 520 chart plotter.

Thoughts?
My thought is if you want a quality fish finder stick with Ray over Garmin.
My Turn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 10:23 PM   #3
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 28
Default RE: Garmin to replace raymarine?

That has alwayy been my thought but comparing apples to apples, dollars to dollars, seems like there is a something out of whack.

Since electronics are always goiing out of date quickly, I am not sure the extra $ is worth spending.
thebobber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 11:02 PM   #4
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,376
Default Re: Garmin to replace raymarine?

On my previous boats my fishfinders were either Raytheon (as they were known then) or Furuno. I have been using Garmin for the last three years now and I can't complain. It shows me what I'm looking for. Bobber, buy the Garmin, I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Team Ruby
Team Ruby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 05:48 PM   #5
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 28
Default Re: Garmin to replace raymarine?

I bought and installed the 498 yesterday. I am keeping my Ray 520 chartplotter (that had no fix) and using the signal from the Garmin to supply it. This way, I have a big GPS screen (black and white) and can leave the sounder on the fishfinder screen on the gps.
I can still use my cmap with the waypoints on it, and have the added bonus of the garmin map.

FYI- I wanted to hang the Garmin from the bottom of the electronics box like the raymarine was but it does not have a mount from above, only surface. I took the old raymarine mount, hacked off the two ends, ground them smooth and round, then hung it sideways. Mounted the Garmin to the lower side. Had to drill a hole in the mount for the two wires. Looks great! Will post a picture if anyone requests.
thebobber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 07:59 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Default Re: Garmin to replace raymarine?

Bobber - consider the request made. Lets see how it looks.
marinerjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:44 PM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.